Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars13
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2008
One of the best comedy dramas shown in the eighties. Shine on Harvey Moon is so well acted and directed that every episode is a delight. Can't remember if it won many awards but it should have done. Wish they could make such entertaining programmes now.
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
Such a great series, but it's such a pity that Acorn Media short-changed the viewers and never released series 4 and 5.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
'Shine On Harvey Moon' is one of the great unsung television series of the Eighties. I watched it then, back in the dim and distant days when video was in its infancy; loved it, and waited for years until Hallmark tv showed it on Sky many years later. So far as I'm aware the series has never been broadcast again, and I have to ask myself 'why?', given the mindless sludge that gets repeated ad nauseam. Luckily I taped it when it was shown on Hallmark and over the years I have played those VHS tapes until they were bald!
How delighted I was then to learn of the DVD release, and about time too!
'Shine On Harvey Moon' is a marvelous show, with sparklingly funny dialogue by Laurence Marks and Maurice Gran and truly great performances from Kenneth Cranham as Harvey, the fabulous Maggie Steed as his estranged wife Rita and a magnificent award-worthy performance by the late and sadly missed Elizabeth Spriggs as Harvey's dear old Mum, Violet Moon. Noteworthy also are the performances of Suzanne Bertish as Freda Gottleib, Lee Whitlock as Harvey's son Stanley, and a young Linda Robson as daughter Maggie. Linda's lifelong chum Pauline Quirke is brilliant as Maggie's best friend Veronica.
The story begins as WW2 ends.Harvey Moon is on a troopship, sailing home from India where he was posted with the RAF. The continuing story of Harvey's demob and his coming to terms with life in dreary post-war Britain makes for splendid entertainment. Miss this show at your peril....
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
Delivery was great - the item came very quickly
The product was what I ordered but was spoiled by disc1 the recording kept freezing and I had to remove the disc and clean it. Also the sound quality was a little sporadic and kept fading but I suspect this maybe due to the original recording.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
Shine On Harvey Moon - Series 3 [1984] [DVD] I started to enjoy this series again when it was re-run on the Yesterday channel and wanted to own the complete series on dvd, sadly, the boxsets I have of series 1-3 do not complete the WHOLE of the series and am at a loss as to why you can buy an incomplete set that states otherwise! I know there are more episodes after the final one in series 3 but it's beyond me as to why it's marketed as complete?? I've gone from wanting to write a glowing review to feeling cheated!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2009
I really enjoyed this dvd. I have the originals from the 1980s and am so pleased with this. If you enjoted the series first time you will treasure this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
anyone over 40 will remember this when it was on television it is very entertaining and funny it all about harvey moon who is demobbed from the army and the changes he finds back home and how he has to adapt to civvy life
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
love this series. entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
really pleased will use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Love it. Prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)