Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rock Guitar Standard Setter
Robin Trower took a lot of stick in the 70s as a so called Hendix clone - I even remember getting a dozy letter published in the hallowed(?) Melody Maker in 1975, fighting his corner, bless - but he was always much better than that. After a 40 year plus career - he first made his mark with Procol Harum - this album remains his high water mark. Blasting off with Day of the...
Published on 8 Jan. 2011 by Dash Riprock

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD to replace Vinyl
Some good tracks.
Had it on vinyl and liked it enough to repalce it with a CD eventually (after about ten years).
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by n mills


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rock Guitar Standard Setter, 8 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
Robin Trower took a lot of stick in the 70s as a so called Hendix clone - I even remember getting a dozy letter published in the hallowed(?) Melody Maker in 1975, fighting his corner, bless - but he was always much better than that. After a 40 year plus career - he first made his mark with Procol Harum - this album remains his high water mark. Blasting off with Day of the Eagle (still a staple he plays in his live sets to this day), it moves through the moody title track to the wistful In This Place, where RT duels with bassist Jim Dewar's outstanding bluesy vocals (what an underrated and classy singer he was). Too Rolling Stoned (another perennial live classic) is the worthy centrepiece of the album, leading into a sensational finish with Lady Love (melodic, almost singles material, perish the thought!) and Little Bit of Sympathy, a suitably raucous album closer. Trower's fretwork is about feel, not flash, and his solos are from the heart. There's no risk in buying this one - and make sure you catch him live whilst you can. Essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential rock/blues guitar pyrotechnics., 24 May 2009
By 
Alan Garwood (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
This album is a classic. Trower's keening and exhuberant guitar work defines the proceedings. There are powerful vocals and relentless driving bass and drums. Stand out track is Too Rolling Stoned". The opening section is full tilt raunch with big skirling chords. This segues into a long blues-drenched closing sequence dominated by field holler guitar phrases. All of the remaining tracks motor along to good effect with some great rock playing. This release is augmented by an interesting selection of recordings made for the John Peel radio show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Trower expanded, 5 Oct. 2007
By 
A. Rickett (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
Bridge of Sighs is probably Robin Trower's most consistent album originally released in '74. Blues, funk and a heavy Hendrix influence featuring James Dewars rich vocals. The bonus tracks are from BBC sessions from John Peel and have livened the studio versions from this album and the later release For Earth Below. Well worth updating previous CD releases and a good place to start for the uninitiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great throughout, 11 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
Not only a great album thats consistantly good but even the bonus tracks (which are often fairly duff) are excellent.
Really tastefull chilled bluesy stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterclass in guitar playing, 12 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
I heard this album when it first came out and never bought it! I have now downloaded the MP3 version and will never tire of Robin Trower`s superb guitar playing. I loved Hendrix and this man just seemed to take a version of Hendrix a stage further. His songs are melodic, not too brash and easy to listen to. I shall be adding to my collection most of his other albums as this is one sound I can`t get enough of! This album in particular does not have one bad track on it in my opinion and I can`t resist playing it over and over again. This was and is true musicianship taking control. Excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lesser known rock/blues classic!, 23 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
for those of you who love the rock/blues genre but have not yet discovered the criminally under-rated robin trower,buy this classic record asap!! day of the eagle kicks off at a frantic pace dragging the listener straight in to the album,the songs cleverly arranged,slower tempo ending leads superbly into the atmospheric title track and in this place.the fool and me is a real romp and is followed by the 'jam like'maybe slightly bloated too rolling stoned.the classy/ethereal about to begin brings the best out of james dewars vocals.lady love is a real toe tapper with a simple but addictive riff,and the album is brought to a superb close with the quite brilliant little bit of sympathy.throughout the album,trowers guitar work matches anything done by messrs clapton,page,hendrix and is worthy of much wider acclaim.overall a MUST buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb recording, superb pressing, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album shows exactly what can be done with old master tapes and commitment. Clarity, depth, low noise, a quality pressing, and to top it off the music itself is superbly played by a guitarist and band at the top of their respective games. Vinyl is indeed reborn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DEFINITIVE ROBIN TROWER?, 11 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD along with the Best of Robin Trower (The Day of the Eagle) and whilst there is some overlap - tracks wise - I am delighted with both CD's.

I first came across RT's work on an old BBC clip, with his 'power trio' playing 'Bridge of Sighs' and I knew then that I had to hear more. With the risk of repeating myself, some have argued that Trower is derivative, being 'Hendrixesque', yet I would argue that Trower has taken inspiration from others and then crafted his own destiny. It can also be argued that, during his tenure, in the Prog.Rock, Procol Harum, he was a contempory of Hendrix's, no wonder then that RT has been claimed as an influence by and for the likes of SRV, Fripp et al.

As with the 'Best of RT' IMHO, there are no duds on this album, all tracks are superb, no solos just for the sake of them and each track, as a song, is complete with each band member fulfilling his role superbly. It is also nice to hear the orginal tracks - as far as a CD will allow - compared to the 'Bonus Tracks' BBC Sessions (John Peel 1974 and 1975). The 1975 tracks include; 'Fine Day', Confessin' Midnight', 'It's only Midnight' and 'Gonna be more Suspicious'.

Trower's guitar tone is divine and his playing considered and thoughtful, even if it is instinctive and comes from the heart, a contradiction in terms? Maybe, but have a listen and hear what I mean, there is 'space' within his work, superb riffs, with considered, integral solos, yet space too - inspirational!

With a three piece band there are no margins for error - Trower, Dewer and Isidore/Lordon are well rehearsed and a tight unit.

The title track, 'Bridge of Sighs', has a vast, spacious, sweeping riff throughout, with some wonderful licks and fills, superb vocals and simple but thought provoking lyrics. Blues rock at the heart of its DNA, yet echos of Prog. Rock too, fully incorporated, adding even more space and an other-worldlyness to the track.

Anyone into 'Tull, Zeppelin, Cream et al., in short, 'blues rock', will love Mr. Trower's work.

A nice little foreword is included by Robin Trower (as are fairly comprehensive notes on the make up on the tracks and who played what, where and when etc.) - on how the album came together - yet, I, for one, really miss the old gate-fold sleeves of the late lamented vinyl LP's, those were the days when each LP purchase was an event - in itself - to be savoured!

All in all highly recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The grasshopper becomes, The master., 27 Mar. 2007
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What an album this turned out to be. young Robin leaves Procul Harum and with a suitcase full of dreams and his trusty `strat` forms a band named after himself. This the second album is so far removed from his time with the Proculs you`d never believe its the same guy. Let loose with his own ideas ,the band record a amazing Blues rock masterpiece! brooding ,rockin, chuggin,driftin,loud and quiet. Its all here a master guitarist in total control.. check out the live section as the bonus. wonderous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the best recording Robin Trower made IMO and to get this ..., 14 Sept. 2014
By 
A. J. Harknett (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge Of Sighs [VINYL] (Audio CD)
when I got this it was priced at £3.99 I would have paid much more than that ,this is the best recording Robin Trower made IMO and to get this again on vinyl for less than I paid when it was released is amazing. Its £13.99 now but still worth every penny, highly recommended if you like electric guitar bluesy type music. Good recording no warp and in excellent condition thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridge of Sighs
Bridge of Sighs by Robin Trower (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews