Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic but good value
I bought this as a starter set to teach my daughter chess.

Generally the set is fine and good value for the money. It's not finished brilliantly but I expect that with use it will mellow. The box is robust enough and all the peices fit in without too much struggle.

A good set for general use. Nothing that you'd want to leave out as a display.
Published on 26 Sept. 2010 by Matthew Coe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, don't buy it
This quality of this chess set is just awful. I didn't expect much for this price, but the quality of the item was below any acceptable level. The board/box is made of ill fitting rough cheap wood. The pieces are dreadful too. I see that there are several 5 star reviews on this product. I cannot believe they got the same set.
Published 8 months ago by Max


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic but good value, 26 Sept. 2010
By 
Matthew Coe (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
I bought this as a starter set to teach my daughter chess.

Generally the set is fine and good value for the money. It's not finished brilliantly but I expect that with use it will mellow. The box is robust enough and all the peices fit in without too much struggle.

A good set for general use. Nothing that you'd want to leave out as a display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folding wooden chess set, 20 May 2010
By 
R. B. Jeffs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
This chess set is in excellent condition and great value for money. Prompt delivery. I would recommend your company to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eric Smith East Yorks, 19 July 2009
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
I purchased this as an aid to teaching my young grandson chess. It is a very good first time chess set at a very good price.Folding Wooden Chess Set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, don't buy it, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
This quality of this chess set is just awful. I didn't expect much for this price, but the quality of the item was below any acceptable level. The board/box is made of ill fitting rough cheap wood. The pieces are dreadful too. I see that there are several 5 star reviews on this product. I cannot believe they got the same set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice little portable chess set, 18 Nov. 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
Nice cheap potable little chess set ideal for a child. I bought it for my nephew he is 7 and is learning to play with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Show, 30 Jun. 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
I bought this item on the back of reviews that were generally good. However, I have never received such a crappy item. If my 13 year old son had made this in woodwork I have been proud but as a purchase....come on. The box is literally bolser wood and does not sit flat. The pieces....as for being ideal as a started set are not clearly distinguishable from each other except by size. The box had such an awful chemically smell I had to leave it is the shed. I bought this to take on holiday but (a) I'd be too embarrassed to be seen with it and (b) the smell will no doubt taint all my clothes. I suppose it is cheap but that says it all!!! I can't even be bothered to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chess set, 25 Sept. 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
This chess set is ideal for a beginner - inexpensive but not flimsy, and the pieces ar quite clearly distinct, unlike other small set where the bishop and queen may be hard to tell apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars My daughter would not recommend this product to anybody because this present was unusable ..., 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
This item was ordered as a present for my 8 yr old grandson - when it arrived at his home address the box was damaged and when it was opened by my daughter the actual playing board was flimsy and not well made and was also damaged as well. My daughter would not recommend this product to anybody because this present was unusable on arrival. The manufacture was also not good and even though this product was not the cheapest, the quality of the product was so poor that it could have been perceived to be the cheapest. Would not recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chess-tastic, 31 May 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
A good, reliable chess set, which is ideal for beginners or taking on your travels. Very good delivery, too, so all in all a very satisfactory purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 8 Jun. 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folding Chess Wooden Games Set (Toy)
This chess board is the worst I have ever recieved.
The pieces are not too bad but the chess board itself is not in allignment.
What I mean is that when you unfold the board the black and white squares are not properly alligned.
They are a bit out which makes for a slightly confusing board.
I went cheap and got stung for it, my own fault.
I'm sure there are other quite reasonable cheap sets out there just don't get this 1 if you want your board to be symetrical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Folding Chess Wooden Games Set
£6.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews