Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great wee Item
Hi I just Bought the Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD.

Well after reading the reviews on here once i had bought the Caddy I became thourghly depressed.

This was due to people had posted two completely false reviews of the product.

Two things that I wish to clarify are
1 The caddy accepts and works with larger...
Published on 13 May 2011 by The Saint

versus
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limited storage
I have not been able to use it because it can only take HDDs of up to 120G and you do not find this out until you read the specifications on the manual which comes with it. I wanted it for a 160G HDD and it does not work with this case.

Very disappointed!
Published on 5 Sep 2010 by Maria_ith


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars fit perfect, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
fit perfectly, turned my old macbook pro internal hard drive into an external one perfectly. Easy to fit too. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SATA, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
High quality purchase, and useful for converting my internal hard drive into a normal backup hard drive. Great product. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
I have a few of these which house various laptop drives I have aquired. For the money they are great but not very forgiving, you need to use both USB connectors to power it but it won't work on every computer. It works fine on the laptops in our house but not on the main pc, I can only assume the pc isn't quite putting out the necessary voltage through the ports and that the Dynamode doesn't have much tolerance built in. I have still given it 5 stars because it does what I ask of it and I can't expect the same level of quality in manufacture of the circuit board as a more expensive unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality bit of kit, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
The case is aluminium with plastic ends.
The installation of the hard drive is easy.
The necessary accessories are supplied with it.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and does the job, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
I have put my old hard drive from my 2009 macbook in here and it works perfectly. The fit is pretty good though I might put some cardboard in as there is a tiny bit of movement. I only needed to plug in one of the USB leads (I chose the fatter longer one). Most importantly, the mac recognises it and I can boot from it. I don't like the shiny aluminium finish but it's not important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
I bought this for a little home network setup with a Raspberry Pi. It works well enough but after a few days the Pi stops reading the hard disk and the enclosure needs to be switched off and on again. Great for occasional access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got 3 of these, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
I tested these USB/SATA bridge converter housings with several devices:

Compact Flash and SD-Card SATA converter = good, works well

SATA 2.5" hard disks, various types and makes = good, works well

I found out that the older hard disks may require more power than the one USB socket. in this case you have the two sockets in the supplied cable and you have to use both USB connections to provide stable power.

In addition, the previous tip (suggested here) is good: 'cut out the a cardboard packing shape to pack out space in the housing' is good advice. No rattle when transporting hard disks and additional protection of electronic circuit considering that the housing is metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old harddrive, make it portable!, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
Had an old SATA drive laying around that I thought I could use as an external drive, so I looked for an enclosure and stumbled upon this, great price and it performs well for it. Would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
The Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD is perfect for laptop internal hard drives. This one works perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can be used with secondary powering, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode USB 2.0 SATA External Housing for 2.5 inch HDD (Electronics)
Good for any SATA-connected 2.5 magnetic or solid state. Y-style USB-lead means data-trxfer and power can come from different sources (to clarify: 5v only, but probably a few hundred mA.)

Stylish and tough - great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews