Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monk and then some
Can't add much to the excellent reviews already posted but hope the following comments will be of interest. This box set is the new slim type that will easily get through your letterbox. Each CD is in a mini version of the 12' LP cover so it should be pointed out that this package contains 22 tracks not on the original LPs. No recording dates are given but I think the...
Published on 2 Jan. 2009 by J. M. Pease

versus
7 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just what it says on the pack - but beware the pack!
First of all, I have no quibbles with the music. I bought this collection well aware that there was one album of solo piano playing which I wouldn't play much, because I much prefer TM with an ensemble, but the genius of the man rings through in every second. Buyers wanting TM's solo playing will be looking elsewhere.

Pricewise: no complaints. Also, it's nice...
Published on 28 Sept. 2011 by Schaflein


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics : Straight, No Chaser / Underground / Criss-Cross / Monk's Dream / Solo Monk (Audio CD)
fantastic value and quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good buy., 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics : Straight, No Chaser / Underground / Criss-Cross / Monk's Dream / Solo Monk (Audio CD)
enjoyed this set of Albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics : Straight, No Chaser / Underground / Criss-Cross / Monk's Dream / Solo Monk (Audio CD)
Masterly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics : Straight, No Chaser / Underground / Criss-Cross / Monk's Dream / Solo Monk (Audio CD)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible to think that this album collection is as jazzy ..., 4 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Original Album Classics : Straight, No Chaser / Underground / Criss-Cross / Monk's Dream / Solo Monk (Audio CD)
Incredible to think that this album collection is as jazzy fresh as Mike Davis in his underpants watching The Meters funking out to his poorly constructed piano chimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just what it says on the pack - but beware the pack!, 28 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Original Album Classics : Straight, No Chaser / Underground / Criss-Cross / Monk's Dream / Solo Monk (Audio CD)
First of all, I have no quibbles with the music. I bought this collection well aware that there was one album of solo piano playing which I wouldn't play much, because I much prefer TM with an ensemble, but the genius of the man rings through in every second. Buyers wanting TM's solo playing will be looking elsewhere.

Pricewise: no complaints. Also, it's nice to have added tracks on each album - different "takes" or practiced items which didn't fit the LP's time limit. Actually, it's more than nice, it's brilliant, because, expanded to CD length, you really get to spend time in the particular sound world of that LP or ensemble.

I would have loved to have modern program notes - the original ones aren't too much help - mostly disguised sales pitches extolling TM and trying to persuade the original buyers to part with their cash. Still, at budget price it's the music that counts.

Finally, I do need to warn about the packaging: firstly, the box isn't the strongest ever - it's an open-ended case, without any folding lid. Mine got a bit damaged in the post. This also creates a small problem with the individual CD (card)cases. The safest way to have them in the "box" is with the openings of the cases at the top - otherwise the CDs tend to slip out. However, with the cases upright, the pictures on the CD cases aren't the right way up. That makes it difficult to read which case you're pulling out. Picky, I know, but I did manage to drop one of the CDs onto the floor because I took the case out the wrong way up.

Maybe 3 stars is a bit mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews