Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music for Soul fans
I heard Ms Jones first on the Funk show on BBC6 music. I made a mental note that I should get something by her. I was shocked to find out this is contemporary take on the classic soul of the mid to late 60's. I thought she was some "lost artist". Sounds like something from King records or stax. I dont think i could give it a better compliment than that. It sounds very...
Published on 1 Nov 2007 by Mr. L. A. Stevenson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars SHARON JONES 100 DAYS
Excellent modern funky soul for the post-millenium, some great northern type soul movers, some slower funky soul soothers from Sharon and the Dap-kings.
Published on 10 Mar 2012 by HILL868


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music for Soul fans, 1 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Days, 100 Nights (Audio CD)
I heard Ms Jones first on the Funk show on BBC6 music. I made a mental note that I should get something by her. I was shocked to find out this is contemporary take on the classic soul of the mid to late 60's. I thought she was some "lost artist". Sounds like something from King records or stax. I dont think i could give it a better compliment than that. It sounds very authentic and the musicians are top notch, particulary the rhythm section. Given their association with Amy Winewhouse and Mark Ronson, I see good things ahead for this great bunch of musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest SOUL album of 2007, 27 Jan 2008
By 
Ignacio Garcia Uriarte "Igu" (Vitoria, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Days, 100 Nights (Audio CD)
Classic Soul at its best, sounding as it should but doing it naturally, this is not a product designed to sound retro, this is the real stuff. These people at Daptone records really knows how to make a record.
Sharon Jones sings better everyday, the production of Bosco Mann is superb and the songs are all originals and great compositions too.
From the great song that gives name to the album through the Funky R&B of "Nobody's Baby" to the Northern Soul Flavored sounds of "Tell me" and "Keep on looking", the Stax influenced southern ballad "Humble me" or the delicious melody and horns of "Something's Changed" this is a truly GREAT record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fabulous Miss Jones!, 23 Oct 2007
This review is from: 100 Days, 100 Nights (Audio CD)
We love it! We hope that this excellent CD brings more of their authentic take on soul to popular attention. Some of the tracks are reminiscent of vintage soul classics at their best. With the CD comes a bonus sampler of tracks from the same Daptone label; a happy unexpected extra! If you haven't listened to 'Naturally',the previous album, then it's well worth catching too. We saw Miss Jones and the Dap Kings at Womad and have been firm fans ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning..., 14 May 2008
By 
S. Haselden "Haselsh1" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Days, 100 Nights (Audio CD)
This is truly a stunning piece of retro art.

The music is almost perfect, played by almost perfect musicians and sung by an almost perfect voice. There are distinct strains of Gloria Gaynor recorded in a manner that pays tribute to that great time in music. This could be the most perfect tribute album but, in it's own right, it is a fabulous piece of Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings. I'm so pleased I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 12 April 2008
This review is from: 100 Days, 100 Nights (Audio CD)
This album is simply perfect, a must buy and yeah while its not that long it doesnt really matter considering its quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Putting the Soul back, 6 Mar 2008
This review is from: 100 Days, 100 Nights (Audio CD)
Simply a great record, beautiful soulful voice, great band. Putting the soul back into music. You can tell they simply do what they do because they love it. Going to buy the earlier albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have got 4 vinyl works out of 5 LPs this lady and her band have done and everyone of them are a winner in my book go check them out for your selves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing soul done to perfection, 6 April 2014
This review is from: 100 Days, 100 Nights (Audio CD)
I first heard about Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings on NPR and CNN. I was surprised to hear that they were Amy Winehouse's touring band; in retrospect, I should have ditched the Winehouse CD and bought 100 Days, 100 Nights since Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings are the enduring soul stars on the scene. Sharon's story is a rags-to-riches tale of a former corrections officer who gave up her goal of a solo career because she was told she was "too black" or "too fat" to succeed.

This is soul the way it used to sound: gutteral, saucy, and sassy, at times a hair's breadth away from gospel, spiced with Muscle Shoals-style horns and tambourine beats that bring to mind the Funk Brothers. This sounds like it could be right out of the '70s heyday, and the band uses analog recording equipment for a more authentic sound.

The ten songs start out with a bang on 100 Days 100 Nights, starting with Sharon musing on love with a hoarse, urgent delivery that slows down to a slow burn as a Hammond organ underscores the drama and a gospelish choir sings the title lyrics behind Sharon. Nobody's Baby is a self-empowerment ode to women that flirts with funk and brims with "don't mess with me" attitude. Tell Me sounds straight out of the Funk Brothers catalog, with staccato tamborine, bongos, and crisp snare smoothed with vibe, and Sharon's sassy search for love. When the Other Foot Drops, Uncle is a soundalike for a long-lost Al Green gem. The rest of the tracks are each distinct and at once familiarly comforting, closing with the gospel blockbuster Answer Me.

Run, don't walk, to buy this if you're a fan of '70s soul. Amazing performances and authentically retro sound make this a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is an absolute classically brilliant, brilliant album. she is amazing. this is timeless and fantastic and will make you dance. many great tracks. an absolute gem and a star of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SHARON JONES 100 DAYS, 10 Mar 2012
This review is from: 100 Days, 100 Nights (Audio CD)
Excellent modern funky soul for the post-millenium, some great northern type soul movers, some slower funky soul soothers from Sharon and the Dap-kings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Days, 100 Nights
100 Days, 100 Nights by Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews