Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent update to Monopoly.
Mega Monopoly is, I think, the best update that Monopoly has had. It is different to other updates in that the rules of the game are changed to a fair extent, while the basics remain the same.

The first obvious difference is that the board is much bigger than the original. Each colour group has an additional property, and there is also a third utility: the Gas...
Published on 8 Feb 2009 by perishingtardis

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great new twist on an old classic
Monopoly is one of those games you either love or hate and I have to confess, I love it. In this "Mega" version, the board has been expanded with the addition of new streets to procure and play is now made faster by the addition of the new speed-dice. You can also now buy skyscrapers which are even bigger and more powerful than hotels, which is great fun.

The...
Published on 14 Oct 2008 by Dr. Rich Boden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great new twist on an old classic, 14 Oct 2008
By 
Dr. Rich Boden "rich boden" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
Monopoly is one of those games you either love or hate and I have to confess, I love it. In this "Mega" version, the board has been expanded with the addition of new streets to procure and play is now made faster by the addition of the new speed-dice. You can also now buy skyscrapers which are even bigger and more powerful than hotels, which is great fun.

The downside? The rules are poorly written and the Chance and Community Chest cards haven't been updated - the overall effect? The game contradicts itself and, if you play by the rules, you enter vicious circles all the time. We eventually made up our own version of the rules and it's working fine but one shouldn't have to do that. I would expect much more quality control from such an established brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent update to Monopoly., 8 Feb 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
Mega Monopoly is, I think, the best update that Monopoly has had. It is different to other updates in that the rules of the game are changed to a fair extent, while the basics remain the same.

The first obvious difference is that the board is much bigger than the original. Each colour group has an additional property, and there is also a third utility: the Gas Company.

A colour group can be built upon if you own the majority of its properties, i.e. 2/3 or 3/4 properties. If all properties of a colour group are owned by one player, he can upgrade his hotels to skyscrapers, which make the rent sky high and fairly nasty to land on, even the cheapest properties!

Players can now also build on the stations. Building a depot on a station for just 100 doubles the rent there.

Another big difference is the inclusion of the speed die. This is rolled along with the regular two dice. If the player rools a 1, 2, or 3 on this die, this is simply added to the total to be moved. If the player rolls Rich Uncle Pennybags, he moves as indicated by the two regular dice and completes transactions on that space, and then moves ahead to the next unowned property, which he can then buy if he wishes. If all property is owned, however, he moves to the next place where he has to pay rent. Harsh.

Rolling the bus on the speed die, or landing on the Bus Ticket or Birthday space gives the player one of 16 Bus Tickets. These tickets can be used at any time in place of a dice roll to advance to any space on the side of the board that the player is currently on.

If a player lands on the Auction space, they choose an unowned property for the banker to auction immediately. If all property is already owned, the player must move to the space where they will have to pay the highest rent!

If a player rolls the same number on all three dice (triples) they can move to any space on the board which they like.

A 1,000 note has also been added.

So that's all the differences summed up in a 'nutshell'. Now the bit you've been reading to find out: is it any good. The simple answer is yes. It is a brilliant game. The Bus Tickets and speed die add a lot of fun to the game, as does the ability to build without a complete colour group. The ability to build on the stations is something that people have done for years anyway, so it's nice to be able to do it within the game rules now. The speed die is quite effective at speeding the game up. We were able to finish a 3-player game in about 90 minutes.

The game is definitely worth buying. It is just as enjoyable as original Monopoly (though I wouldn't say more enjoyable), but if you're new to Monopoly or don't have an ordinary set I'd probably go with the original first.

The only downside to the game: the notes aren't printed in the usual colours, and "Pentonville Road" has mysteriously become just "Pentonville".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but can be fun..., 11 Jan 2008
By 
J. Laur "justy79" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
This game is a nice idea but has been poorly (or lazily) executed. As stated before, a lot of the cards have not been updated to reflect the gameplay of the new game and the rules contradict themselves!! If you can agree on your own rules (will probably take a few games), then this game can be fun. I got this game uber cheap so not too bothered, although, if the cost was level with the original, then I would stick with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An updated version of the classic with many faults, do not buy for you will be dissappointed, 24 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. Pj Halford "Pete" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
Having bought this game and played it once, as a family we were very disappointed. it is a very hashed game, the game has new rules but the cards are the same and thus don't match up with the rules, there are also many contradictions within the games. To sum up i would stick with the classic version of the game or one of its similar versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Variant, 29 Jan 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
The addition of Sky scrapers changes the dynamics and strategy of the whole game as now you can bankrupt your competitors with the browns or blues very early on. The nice twist is the use of bus passes to leap over the expensive properties to safety. Only one major drawback they should have kept the colour of the notes the same as before.. save on easy mistakes having played for years with the standard colours and denominations.
Other minor gripe...had expected the skyscrapers to be metal not plastic as per the pictures on the box. Overall though a variant worth having!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh Way to Play!, 4 Jan 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
Mega Monopoly is an exciting new take on the classic game. It brings a new dynamic to the game that has was never achieved by simply changing the property names or adding glorified calculators.

With the increased numebrs of properties, the addition of bus tickets and "Mr Monopoly" via the speed die, skyscrapers, depots, and more money with which to build a property empire, your strategy will become more complex. With the speed die, the game plays more quickly, and cuts out the tedium that sometimes accompanied the first half hour of the classic game.

One drawback - the rules in the earlier editions are incomplete (Amazon still sold this version in Dec 2008). Players will have to find the revised rules online to be able to play effectively.

Once you get used to the rules this game is lots of fun, and a must for Monopoly fans looking for something new from the game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mega Monopoly Magic, 22 July 2009
By 
S. Hynes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
Purchased for my son's birthday. Played by my four teenage sons. Great board game. Especially once you have played the original monopoly. They all love it and have played it several times. A great way to pass an afternoon and will be taking it on our camping holiday later in the year. Well worth the purchase if you are a fan of board games and Monopoly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun game, 9 April 2009
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
Brilliant game. Slight problem with the rules but easly fixed (just decide your own rules for the grey areas)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, not perfect, 27 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. C. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
The new rules added to this version of the game are a welcome addition to an already superb game, it's just a shame that a little more thought wasn't put into it.

Many of the rules and cards have not been updated properly to reflect the changes to the game. This does leave it open to debate when certain conditions are met. eg. Landing on Jail when you have a "Mr Monopoly" or "Bus Ticket"

Still enjoyed the game, and with a few adaptations to the rules myself, will be a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Monopoly (Toy)
Very happy with item and arrive on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mega Monopoly
Mega Monopoly by Winning Moves
24.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews