Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent sprawling epic of a film
There is a fashion at present to make films that go on and on and on. There are example where this expanse is used to good effect, such as the Lord of the Rings films and the opposite, such as the latter Pirates of the Carrebean films. This is an early example of a long film and it pulls it off with a swagger.

The second in a trilogy of films made by the late...
Published on 16 May 2008 by Mr. C. J. Iredale

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated and without any sense.
Perhaps being only 18 years old I am too young to 'Truly understand' this film. Although I understand that the film aimed to take a jab at capitalism I felt that as a whole it had no real sense of direction or movement.

There are points in a film where 'the plot thickens' for example the car crash which involved the two dogdy police officers seemed as though it...
Published on 19 Jun 2012 by Ecky Carlyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent sprawling epic of a film, 16 May 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
There is a fashion at present to make films that go on and on and on. There are example where this expanse is used to good effect, such as the Lord of the Rings films and the opposite, such as the latter Pirates of the Carrebean films. This is an early example of a long film and it pulls it off with a swagger.

The second in a trilogy of films made by the late great Lindsey Anderson, O Lucky Man plots (albeit somewhat surrealistically) the progressions through life in the early 1970s (this was made in 1973, and boy, does it look it!); it is almost a kind of Pilgrim's Progress/ Road to Damascus tale, and is highly entertaining. Some have said they felt it flagged towards the end; I question whether the film flags or the viewer, as it is nearly 3 hours long, but to edit it would be to ruin it. It's sprawling aspect is one of it's selling points.

It has many stars other than the wonderful Malcolm MdDowell, such as Arthur Lowe, Jeremy Bulloch and Helen Mirren. The music is supplied by Alan Price and he also stars in the film as the leader of the band who supply the music to the film. At points still shocking (a rare thing for a film so old), at others laugh out loud funny and at others hard to fathom, this is a treat for anyone who likes the slightly odd, cult films from this period or the open minded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A labyrinthine odyssey!, 19 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
'O Lucky Man!', despite its three hours plus duration, is a marvellously entertaining, episodic odyssey in a (lucky! ) young man's career as a coffee salesman. Loosely a follow-up to director Lindsay Anderson's 'If', 'O Lucky Man' is a flawed, but extremely involving movie that features several stellar performances. Malcolm McDowall is at his wide-eyed best as the innocent abroad, whilst English character actor Arthur Lowe (Captain Mainwaring in 'Dad's Army') excels in several different roles - most notably in blackface drag as 'Doctor Munda'. There's also a great score by Alan Price, who contributes the classic 'Poor People' - an underrated act in himself. Stick with it, and 'O Lucky Man' is intensely rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enduring classic now with added nostalgia, 23 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
Voltairian oddysey, road movie, surrealist fantasy, anti-capitalist satire, this world class British film is all of these and of course, more. Helped by 35 years of nostalgia for the way things were before the press decided to become public judges, much of what is lambasted by dir. Anderson here looks familiar because of what we know from the papers and the TV. The general themes here of ruthless ambition, class distinction, plutocracy v poverty, institutionalised corruption and greed, and obviously hypocrisy, are probably better known now to a wiser, more cynical public. Of course Anderson did his bit with this great film to try and make it better known. This bold critique on the wiley old ways of the world looks as relevant now as it did then. The vices pilloried here are still with us, and the themes are still relevant. Of course the depiction here is fantastical but that's what makes this film a great piece of art.

Some elements of the film do look very clanky now, the use of sub-titles and old film clips, for example, and one or two scenes look very much of the day, but this is a clever and rakingly ambitious film, and even satirises film making in one passage. It rounds off his previous satire very well, and perhaps just as importantly now to a nostalgia loving British public, it records some memorable aspects of life before The Age of PC, and has some damn fine actors in their prime. McDowell is amazing once again, perfect for the role, with his everyman looks and personalty, and the ever gorgeous Helen Mirren is stunningly sexy and youthful looking here. Add the decent, very English score from The Alan Price Set and what you have is an enduring masterpiece of real old fashioned film making. Magnif!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, completing the availability of the trilogy on DVD, 29 Dec 2007
By 
Django (Chesterfield) - See all my reviews
This review is from: O Lucky Man [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Posting this because I think the other comment is misleading. Do not be put off by the comment that it is is cut, it is definitely not cut - this is the 178 minute uncut version - the print is split over the two discs, disc 1 having the first 87 mins and disc 2 having a further 90 mins. In all it's an excellent presentation of the film and if/when it's released on R2 I would expect the presentation to be similar if not the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling, 27 Jan 2006
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I watched this film in the 70's and was completely captivated. It has a sureal context,not being obvious at first.However once realised, and you get into the flow,it is a ride you really enjoy.
It is full of subliminal nuances that stand out after each veiwing leaving the veiwer debating over what means what.
The plot is going somwhere but never gets there, purposly going off on a plethora of diferent tangents.The black comedy is intellegent and captivating.
I just love the scene where Travis is being interrogated,(strapped to a chair) and is screaming at being electrocuted and then the lady with the tea trolley (Dandy Nichols)casually comes in serving tea and biscuits and interupting the interrogation she says casually to the inquisitors Er!whould the young man like a cup of tea too ?
and just as casual they look at each other and say er...perhaps Later!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 12 April 2008
By 
simonpeggfan (Maidenhead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD format is 10 years old - and finally we're getting a release of this, following on from Paramount's release of If... and the age-old release from Cinema Club of Britannia Hospital we can have a complete Mick Travis collection :-)

Of the trilogy of Anderson's films I find this (the middle work) the oddest, and the possibly the best - but it's so hard to judge between masterpieces.

The film follows Mick Travis (Malcolm McDowell) and his surreal adventure through '70s England along with the Alan Price's band that provide the music commentaries in the traditions of a Greek Chorus.
O Lucky Man! is simply one vast, weird, intelligent and funny movie. It provides some great food for thought on survival-of-the-fittest style capitalism, through Mick Travis's increasingly unexpected adventures

O Lucky Man! deserves to be recognized as one of the great films of the 1970s, and perhaps of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have friend on whom you think you can rely- You are a lucky man, 4 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
I must say that the other refreshing customer reviews do more than this film justice.I have read many reviews by film critics who have hardly had a good word to say about O Lucky Man, so it comes as a pleasant and welcome surprise to read about what I always thought was and is a splendid and underrated piece of British cinema.This has to be one of my favourite films of all time and I really can't add more to what other reviewers have said and described but just to say thank you for restoring my faith in the fact that I thought it was only me who found this Lindsay Anderson gem of a film together with Alan Price's music score to be a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O Lucky Purchaser!, 9 July 2009
By 
Adam Hodgkins "sixandnine" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
Somewhat overshadowed by the, admittedly fantastic 'If....', this one is often overlooked as the gem it truly is. Less tight than 'If....' and certainly longer, it's a peculiarly British take on Godardian politics and sentiment. Think 'Weekend' but with a travelling salesman in a dreary 70's British north to south landscape. However, dreary the film is not, with plenty of quirk, humour and hippy colour. Great soundtrack too, neatly incorporated into the film. At this price you'd be daft not to engage in a little capitalism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - but still missing scenes, 23 May 2008
By 
J. R. Kerr "raekerr" (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
Towards the end of the excellent commentary on the second DVD, Alan Price mentions that people who see this film in their early adulthood often say it fundementally changed their outlook on life - I have to agree because, well, I was that soldier. This film is a truely remarkable piece of work and somehow manages to rise completly above it's seventies origins and seem even more relevant more than 30 years on. Disturbingly the film's exaggerated and satirically ruthless businessmen and government officials, complete with dirty arms deals etc, who use Travis throughout the film now seem entirely plausible. The only small disappointment is that despite the lengthy running time the film is still missing a few minutes halfway through, a scene where Travis stays the night at Sir James house and tests his authority by ordering champagne from the butler before having to take instruction from Sir James who has retired to bed. It doesn't add much, but as Travis also phones Patricia in the sequence, and there is a revised version of "Poor People" playing on the soundtrack, it is a shame it could not be included with two discs worth of space to play with. Incidentally, this scene was shown on the BBC broadcast in the early eighties and also appears in the script of the film published in book form - check it out if you doubt me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yorkshire Pudding., 19 Mar 2008
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
It was a long time ago when i last sat down and watched 'O Lucky Man'. It was on VHS as it's been devoid of a DVD release until now.
I'm a Malcolm McDowell fan. He was born Malcolm Taylor in Leeds, not far from where i was born. Being a Yorkshireman myself like Malcolm, i guess that's part of why i have an interest in him so much, and in his films. In 'A Clockwork Orange' he makes no attempts to hide his Yorkshire accent. McDowell has always said how he loves to play northern characters in his films. To his credit, he is a terrific character actor and one we miss sadly from our TV screens in this country. He resides in California where the lifestyle is "more healthy", he says. The last great British television programme i saw him in was the outstanding BBC drama 'Our Friends In The North' where he played a mobster boss, taking a young Daniel Craig under his wing and exposing him to a life of sex, drugs, power, and violence.

'O Luck Man' is a great British film. It stars a plethora of British film and television talent such as Ralph Richardson, Helen Mirren, Arthur Lowe, and many others who's names escape me as i write this. McDowell plays Yorkshireman 'Mick Travis', a trainee coffee salesman (which he was in real life when he left school) who escapes from his job to find something better to do with his life. It's a rags-to-riches and back to rags again story with very little plot, other than it simply moves along slowly as he falls from one job to another. The film, by the way, is hellishly overlong. Still, it's interesting to watch McDowell's character unfold and grow into an almost super powerful financial tycoon in London. Then he falls from grace. The transition is nothing short of fascinating. And then there's dark humour. There's one particularly shocking part of the film where he devotes his body to medical science. He is picked up on the motorway and taken to a clinic in the country. Little does he know that they are planning to transplant his head onto the body of a pig in a hideous scientific experiment. He finds a 'patient' in one scene, sweating in bed with the sheets pulled up to his neck. Travis pulls pack the cover to reveal a half-human, half-pig 'experiment', tied to the hospital bed. It's not a scene i found amusing, although i guess you can look at it from a different perspective. I think it's meant to initially shock you, then humour you, only much much later.
The last half hour to 45 minutes of the film starts to suffer a little, as director Lindsay Anderson is clearly running out of ideas. It is a good 45 minutes too long, but then again, aren't all epic films?

Nevertheless it needs to be said that this is a big slice of British cinema at its best, with outstanding performances from a variety of stars (some in duel roles) and several amusing scenes. Some call this a comedy - a black comedy it certainly is in the darkest sense. This is a showcase of early 70's Britain in the best possible way, with elements of the darkside, pre Star Wars, showing the pressures of business at the top, the pressures at the bottom, and the disturbing goings on in the countryside in between. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

O Lucky Man [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
O Lucky Man [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Lindsay Anderson (DVD - 2007)
8.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews