Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent sprawling epic of a film
There is a fashion at present to make films that go on and on and on. There are example where this expanse is used to good effect, such as the Lord of the Rings films and the opposite, such as the latter Pirates of the Carrebean films. This is an early example of a long film and it pulls it off with a swagger.

The second in a trilogy of films made by the late...
Published on 16 May 2008 by Mr. C. J. Iredale

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated and without any sense.
Perhaps being only 18 years old I am too young to 'Truly understand' this film. Although I understand that the film aimed to take a jab at capitalism I felt that as a whole it had no real sense of direction or movement.

There are points in a film where 'the plot thickens' for example the car crash which involved the two dogdy police officers seemed as though it...
Published on 19 Jun. 2012 by Ecky Carlyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent sprawling epic of a film, 16 May 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
There is a fashion at present to make films that go on and on and on. There are example where this expanse is used to good effect, such as the Lord of the Rings films and the opposite, such as the latter Pirates of the Carrebean films. This is an early example of a long film and it pulls it off with a swagger.

The second in a trilogy of films made by the late great Lindsey Anderson, O Lucky Man plots (albeit somewhat surrealistically) the progressions through life in the early 1970s (this was made in 1973, and boy, does it look it!); it is almost a kind of Pilgrim's Progress/ Road to Damascus tale, and is highly entertaining. Some have said they felt it flagged towards the end; I question whether the film flags or the viewer, as it is nearly 3 hours long, but to edit it would be to ruin it. It's sprawling aspect is one of it's selling points.

It has many stars other than the wonderful Malcolm MdDowell, such as Arthur Lowe, Jeremy Bulloch and Helen Mirren. The music is supplied by Alan Price and he also stars in the film as the leader of the band who supply the music to the film. At points still shocking (a rare thing for a film so old), at others laugh out loud funny and at others hard to fathom, this is a treat for anyone who likes the slightly odd, cult films from this period or the open minded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A labyrinthine odyssey!, 19 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
'O Lucky Man!', despite its three hours plus duration, is a marvellously entertaining, episodic odyssey in a (lucky! ) young man's career as a coffee salesman. Loosely a follow-up to director Lindsay Anderson's 'If', 'O Lucky Man' is a flawed, but extremely involving movie that features several stellar performances. Malcolm McDowall is at his wide-eyed best as the innocent abroad, whilst English character actor Arthur Lowe (Captain Mainwaring in 'Dad's Army') excels in several different roles - most notably in blackface drag as 'Doctor Munda'. There's also a great score by Alan Price, who contributes the classic 'Poor People' - an underrated act in himself. Stick with it, and 'O Lucky Man' is intensely rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enduring classic now with added nostalgia, 23 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
Voltairian oddysey, road movie, surrealist fantasy, anti-capitalist satire, this world class British film is all of these and of course, more. Helped by 35 years of nostalgia for the way things were before the press decided to become public judges, much of what is lambasted by dir. Anderson here looks familiar because of what we know from the papers and the TV. The general themes here of ruthless ambition, class distinction, plutocracy v poverty, institutionalised corruption and greed, and obviously hypocrisy, are probably better known now to a wiser, more cynical public. Of course Anderson did his bit with this great film to try and make it better known. This bold critique on the wiley old ways of the world looks as relevant now as it did then. The vices pilloried here are still with us, and the themes are still relevant. Of course the depiction here is fantastical but that's what makes this film a great piece of art.

Some elements of the film do look very clanky now, the use of sub-titles and old film clips, for example, and one or two scenes look very much of the day, but this is a clever and rakingly ambitious film, and even satirises film making in one passage. It rounds off his previous satire very well, and perhaps just as importantly now to a nostalgia loving British public, it records some memorable aspects of life before The Age of PC, and has some damn fine actors in their prime. McDowell is amazing once again, perfect for the role, with his everyman looks and personalty, and the ever gorgeous Helen Mirren is stunningly sexy and youthful looking here. Add the decent, very English score from The Alan Price Set and what you have is an enduring masterpiece of real old fashioned film making. Magnif!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have friend on whom you think you can rely- You are a lucky man, 4 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
I must say that the other refreshing customer reviews do more than this film justice.I have read many reviews by film critics who have hardly had a good word to say about O Lucky Man, so it comes as a pleasant and welcome surprise to read about what I always thought was and is a splendid and underrated piece of British cinema.This has to be one of my favourite films of all time and I really can't add more to what other reviewers have said and described but just to say thank you for restoring my faith in the fact that I thought it was only me who found this Lindsay Anderson gem of a film together with Alan Price's music score to be a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling, 27 Jan. 2006
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I watched this film in the 70's and was completely captivated. It has a sureal context,not being obvious at first.However once realised, and you get into the flow,it is a ride you really enjoy.
It is full of subliminal nuances that stand out after each veiwing leaving the veiwer debating over what means what.
The plot is going somwhere but never gets there, purposly going off on a plethora of diferent tangents.The black comedy is intellegent and captivating.
I just love the scene where Travis is being interrogated,(strapped to a chair) and is screaming at being electrocuted and then the lady with the tea trolley (Dandy Nichols)casually comes in serving tea and biscuits and interupting the interrogation she says casually to the inquisitors Er!whould the young man like a cup of tea too ?
and just as casual they look at each other and say er...perhaps Later!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, completing the availability of the trilogy on DVD, 29 Dec. 2007
By 
Django (Chesterfield) - See all my reviews
This review is from: O Lucky Man [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Posting this because I think the other comment is misleading. Do not be put off by the comment that it is is cut, it is definitely not cut - this is the 178 minute uncut version - the print is split over the two discs, disc 1 having the first 87 mins and disc 2 having a further 90 mins. In all it's an excellent presentation of the film and if/when it's released on R2 I would expect the presentation to be similar if not the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 12 April 2008
By 
simonpeggfan (Maidenhead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD format is 10 years old - and finally we're getting a release of this, following on from Paramount's release of If... and the age-old release from Cinema Club of Britannia Hospital we can have a complete Mick Travis collection :-)

Of the trilogy of Anderson's films I find this (the middle work) the oddest, and the possibly the best - but it's so hard to judge between masterpieces.

The film follows Mick Travis (Malcolm McDowell) and his surreal adventure through '70s England along with the Alan Price's band that provide the music commentaries in the traditions of a Greek Chorus.
O Lucky Man! is simply one vast, weird, intelligent and funny movie. It provides some great food for thought on survival-of-the-fittest style capitalism, through Mick Travis's increasingly unexpected adventures

O Lucky Man! deserves to be recognized as one of the great films of the 1970s, and perhaps of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic cinema that makes you stop, listen and learn!, 11 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
A coffee salesman takes a rambling tour of 1970's Britain.

There comes a time when you think you know something about movies: What is good, what is bad, how things should go, how things should work, etc., etc. Thank goodness a movie comes along now and again that says "no you don't - you know nothing!" Oh Lucky Man! is like Pulp Fiction and High Hopes - it is a smarter film than you are a film watcher.

After a build up like that you might expect for me to say that this is a perfect film or that everything works. But it doesn't. The story rambles and pauses, moves left and right and tries to keep the audience on its toes. The humour is mostly black, but very true to life. People are often selfish and acting for themselves - while Travis (our hero - if we can call him that) is quite kind and thoughtful. Like an Adam that has been put in to the modern world rather than the garden of Eden.

I have seen this film twice. Like many films, once when I was too young to understand it. It is quite sexual graphic at times and that stuck in my memory for a long time. In one scene a black man plays out a scene at a sex club - and to this day I am puzzled as to what this represents. That the entirely white audience see the black as an entertainer to laughed at or cheered. That this is his only place?

Most anything-goes films are comedies, and while this has plenty of black comedy, I see it as social comment. Life has moved on from the 1970's, people have escaped their own class more, women have more of a role to play, people get away with things less. But no one can say - even viewing today - that it doesn't tell plenty of home truths about the UK.

(People that live outside the UK and never visit must be puzzled by what goes on here. I bet you would have to answer hundreds of questions if you watched it beside, say, an American.)

Lindsey Anderson sees all authority as being violent, ugly and corrupt. This is the kick in the balls society that existed before CCTV in police stations and human rights acts. Where people were fitted up for crimes that the police knew they couldn't have committed. I never wanted to walk down a time tunnel to 1970's Britain and this film is probably the last tie I have to that ugly and desperate decade.

Oh Lucky Man! is one of the best films ever made. It has something that few films ever have - instant cult appeal. You could watch this over and over again and not get bored with it, see something different and learn something new. They should bring it back as a musical or a stage play. While not every scene works and not every tune pleases, it is cinema from another world that we never quite had - but might have had if only the money men of Hollywood hadn't made their ugly mark on the world.

If you think film is about anything more than simple entertainment Oh Lucky Man! is a must-see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O Lucky Purchaser!, 9 July 2009
By 
Adam Hodgkins "sixandnine" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
Somewhat overshadowed by the, admittedly fantastic 'If....', this one is often overlooked as the gem it truly is. Less tight than 'If....' and certainly longer, it's a peculiarly British take on Godardian politics and sentiment. Think 'Weekend' but with a travelling salesman in a dreary 70's British north to south landscape. However, dreary the film is not, with plenty of quirk, humour and hippy colour. Great soundtrack too, neatly incorporated into the film. At this price you'd be daft not to engage in a little capitalism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my very favorite films, 25 Oct. 2010
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
Surreal, often hysterically funny, sometimes surprisingly sad, full of
sly political and social satire, and jammed with wildly brave
film-making choices, along with one of the great movie song-scores of
in movie history by Alan Price.

Its Candide meets 1970s Great Britan as a young man rambles through
life in a series of absurd adventures, with the great supporting cast
(Ralph Richardson, Helen Mirren, etc.) having the time of their lives
playing multiple roles.

The three hour running time may sound daunting, but it flies by as we
watch our hero Mick Travis (Malcolm McDowell, whose real life
pre-acting experiences were the jumping off point for the story) slowly
become wise to the ways of the world through a series of bizarre
encounters, arrests, love affairs, odd medical experiments,
and everything else that could befall a young man on the road.

A must see film for anyone who appreciates unique films and twisted
political humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews