Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motherflippin Genius
Every once in a while a comedy series comes along that seems to rewrite the comedy rule book while making you wonder "how come no-one's ever done anything like this before?"

The Flight of the Conchords is one such series. In a way, it's a great throwback to the musical format - people breaking into song in the middle of a conversation for no reason - and the...
Published on 26 Oct 2007 by John Fraser

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good show
Enjoyed watching this as i missed it on TV.
Well written and funny show. Not as laugh out loud as some however
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by Big Franko


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flight of Conchords - just buy it, 18 Sep 2007
By 
Neil Trueman "Nelly de Critic" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords: The Complete HBO First Season [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
being from the Python/goons era and in to The Office, Extras, Little Britain, Bo Selecta etc etc - i think I am qualified when it comes to reviewing comedy....so when I say THIS IS VERY FUNNY - IT IS !!!

Saw it in USA August time and it really had me laughing all the way through. Lots of things go wrong and the 2 main characters here are absolutely great together and you will not be disappointed.

I dont rate many american comedy films, and often think their sense of humour is non-existent.....i.e. "not funny" - but this is bound to be a classic in years to come.

but dont take my word for it.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dont be late on this one!, 15 Nov 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords: The Complete HBO First Season [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
series one of the hbo show has seen little in the way of success and a push for its services in ireland and the uk i guess,i dont believe we can get HBO so thats why i guess but right here and now i predict a cult following for this cracking wee show.
The show deals with new zealands fourth most popular folk rock band who take their chances in the city of new york,they have a manager who isnt that good,one fan who is pretty obsessive,a best friend who pretends his parents are his flatmates and thats about it really,the show features bret and jermaine who are in the band in real life but this is a parody of themselves.
The show deals with the band as they try and get a name for themselves but it just doesnt happen,murray is their manager,a fellow new zealander who has ideas but they never really pay off,jermaine and bret are a bit doozy but mean no harm,there are running jokes throughout and the lads break into surreal song at a seconds notice which gives the show a 'mighty boosh' feel,although the humour isnt as surreal as the boosh,it draws comparisons in my opinion,it also is like 'curb your enthuasism' in ways with its almost documentary feel and awkwardness.
This isnt the greatest show of all time yet,not yet,but there is plenty in the twelve episodes to keep you happy and the songs they sing are mainly good and steadfast funny so thats a bonus,speaking of bonuses,on the dvd there isnt one which is a let down but ah well,this is still good stuff and the birth of a new series that could hit the lights is firmly under way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A comment about the people who give this 1 star!, 22 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords: The Complete HBO First Season [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Firstly I have only given it 1 * so that when filtered this will be with the other 1 * reviews. I actually give it 5*, a fantastic show but a shame of no extras on the DVD.
Then on to "Mithras'"comments - The office is funny, most regard it as the best comedy show ever made and it obviously sparked the amazing career of Ricky Gervais quite possibly the funniest man of his time.

then to "bhillybillybob", I don't think I really need to comment as you've dug your own grave saying that My Family is good!
But in a way you have summed it up -
F.O.T.C , The Office etc = intelligent, articulate comedy that will last for many years.
My family etc = Broad, stupid comedy that appeals to the lowest common denominator, all there missing is a comedy drum role after each pun (as I believe they already have a laughter track)! why do you think Kris Marshall got out when he did? And for the the same reason why Robert Lindsay cant get out, no one would hire him for anything else!

Another point is that this show is HBO - renowned for comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not so original as you might think...., 25 Jun 2008
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords: The Complete HBO First Season [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is hilarious and in parts unique, however a good handfull of the jokes and ideas are obviously influenced by -and in a couple of cases outright stolen from- The Mighty Boosh, and to make matters worse, the manager character is pretty much identical to David Brent from The Office (right down to the facial ticks) which I found distracting and hampering to my enjoyment of the rest of the show. Conchords is a lot funnier than your average sitcom, yet fans of British shows will find a lot of this familiar territory, which I feel is slightly cheap as American made shows have been downright lifting jokes and ideas from british shows recently (ie..the office, done east of the atlantic first...)and because of that, though funny, I don't think this show deserves the 'genius' accolades it has been getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars decent American reworking of the FOTC material, 23 Oct 2007
By 
J. Winterflood "wintobungle" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords: The Complete HBO First Season [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
i was a fan of FOTC before this TV show came out. i saw some lives shows and own the bbc radio show they did. this tv show, for me personally, is good but i cant help think back to the radio show and see the potential an english version could have made.

if you, like me, get annoyed at American comedy shows in general (like Frasier, king of queens etc) and their boring 'americanised' and despise the american re-hashing of english sit-coms (the american office, red dwarf attemp) then this show fits nicely in the middle. yes, i know the guys from FOTC are new zealanders and that they have no right to make the show here in england, but i cant help thinking it would be better suited to and english sense of humour. one of my favorite characters from the radio show, Brian (played by rhys darby) is transformed into Murray, who works for the new zealand toursit board in a way that almost signposts that fact they are from new zealand.

dont get me wrong, i really like the show and there are some great jokes, characters and story lines, but many of the best ones are existing songs and re-worked story lines from the bbc radio show.

what impresses me about this show, however, is the style and production design. the director (english may i add) has brought an Michael Gondry-style approach and created a world just slightly off centre which works really well with some of the silly lyrics and jokes.

this show manages to move away from successful formats of american comedy by not setting the whole show in someones sitting room. it stays very true to the comedy of the guys and tries not to alter the comedy so that amercans 'get it'. but, as always will be the case, the americans do creep their influences in with some annoying american stereotypes and the strange idea that quantity = quality (12 episodes is value for money but does it all need to be done in one go? surely do 6 then work on the next 6)

perhaps this is just due to my love and pride of british comedy and especially sitcoms that i just wish theyd done it here first. but, i do like american sitcoms, however unoriginal they seem, and this dvd, i hope, will make americans realise the possiblities of sitcom. i would advise, though, for fans of british sitcom, to here the bbc radio show first and even check out the FOTC live shows, as they are different to the tv show and thoroughly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 239 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars shame, 22 April 2008
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords: The Complete HBO First Season [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
i really wanted to enjoy this, but i didn't laugh once. i am a huge fan of comedy and this just dosen't cut it. if you want a good comedy sitcom just go for my family, pure good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flight Of The Conchords: The Complete HBO First Season [DVD] [2007]
6.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews