Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Masterpiece
Buddah is the Bowie album that got away. promoted purely as a soundtrack album when it was first released only die-hard Bowie fans went for it. This album has some of the best songs he has ever written and to this day ranks in my top 5 all time Bowie albums. Give it a listen just once and your hooked!
Published on 21 Feb 2004 by Winslow Alan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Urbane in Suburbia
Not a classic Bowie album, some may be not for the casual listener, but for a fan traces of the past and sneaky peeks into the future. In the absence of any new product, worth a purchase.
Published on 26 Oct 2012 by MS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Masterpiece, 21 Feb 2004
Buddah is the Bowie album that got away. promoted purely as a soundtrack album when it was first released only die-hard Bowie fans went for it. This album has some of the best songs he has ever written and to this day ranks in my top 5 all time Bowie albums. Give it a listen just once and your hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm not 'Dead Against' this!, 16 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buddha Of Suburbia (Audio CD)
Even though I'm a huge David Bowie fan and have a fairly large knowledge of his music, the reviews below me are of such a high standard that I feel I maybe punching above my weight, but I'll give it my best shot anyway. Here goes:-

This is a very experimental rhythmic multi-layered album that sounds all the better for being digitally remastered. The various styles of music on this take in everything from Jazz, Rock, Techno and Ambient (including instrumentals). There are some great tracks featured here that include: 'Bleed Like A Craze Dad' which has an Underworld quality about it, as does the rhythmically hypnotic 'S*x And The Church'. Also worth mentioning is 'Dead Against It' and possibly my favourite - the Ambient ballad 'Untitled No 1' that will just make you melt. The only dead wood on this album in my opinion is 'Ian Fish Uk Heir' and a second version of 'Buddha Of Suburbia' which although is very good isn't strictly necessary, as it's practically the same as the original - as stated by another reviewer.

Finally, let's clear this up once and for all, this is a 100% bonafide Bowie studio album that happens to be a 10% soundtrack as well - in as much as the title track only. So please buy this underrated little gem this time round as it deserves to be discovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The one that got away, 22 Dec 2005
By 
Martin Chick (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddha of Suburbia (Audio CD)
Why this has not been re-released is a mystery to me. The fact that you can buy some pretty dodgy Bowie material and not get hold of this, one of his best and most interesting albums, requires some explaining by the men in suits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowie's 90s Resurgence, 25 Sep 2007
By 
D. M. Deeks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Buddha Of Suburbia (Audio CD)
I became a hardcore Bowie fan as a teenager in the early 90s, when the vintage-years reissues started to come through. Whilst his archive gave up more and more wonder, his new material at the time was a little weak - Tin Machine, Real Cool World and the album Black Tie White Noise (nothwithstanding the excellent single Jump They Say). And then The Buddha of Suburbia started on TV and the theme tune blew me away - a Bowie song worthy to stand alongside anything from Scary Monsters.

The eventual album did not disappoint. Only the chart placing did. No one seemed to pay attention to this excellent set of songs. Bowie's voice was richly aged by now, at once world-weary and twinkling, and etched with experience. Always adept at self-referencing, the title track contains cheeky nods to Space Oddity and All The Madmen without breaking outside of its own world. Bleed Like A Craze Dad sounds like it was written in the old cut-up style, and has a riff reminiscent of Red Money from Lodger (itself a lift from the Iggy Pop co-write, Sister Midnight). Dead Against It is a relative of What in the World from Low, whilst on Untitled Number 1 Bowie sings like Marc Bolan. The Mysteries and Ian Fish, UK Heir are akin to Eno's ambient music. These backwards nods suit the show it was inspired by, and not once does it feel like a simple rehash of past glories. Sex and the Church might use outdated vocoders but it doesn't feel old, whilst South Horizon begins with a spacious jazz workout before a robotic buzz heralds in a skipping drum loop.

Bowie obviously felt a freedom of songwriting he'd not felt for a good long time, perhaps helped by the fact this was a soundtrack album and as such wasn't going to be viewed as part of his canon. It's a shame that this proved to be true, as this was the first indication that Bowie was back on track. So it proved to be - his subsequent album, Outside, is perhaps his most overlooked album of any era and Strangers When We Meet, first heard on Buddha, was beefed up to be its closing track.

I hope this reissue brings Buddha a wider audience, and further weight to the fact that Bowie's blip was shortlived and that here began Bowie's re-emerging relevance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muted efulgence, 12 Sep 2007
By 
R. Herriott "casalingua" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Buddha Of Suburbia (Audio CD)
It's not really important (though interesting) that this album started life as a soundtrack.

What you find when you spin this disc is that it's a very, very satisfying album which is located at a large remove from David Bowie's other work but is not unrelated. Several of the tracks are largely instrumental. Bowie's lovely vocals seem more like another layer of musical information rather than having any particular literal meaning. Pianist Mike Garson makes a simply electric contribution on a track called "South Horizons." It might be the best bit of jazz ever performed by a non-jazz musician (older readers will remember Garson from Bowie`s 70s period.) The tension of his playing is astonishing and recalls something of Lalo Schifrin's controlled force. Multi-instrumentalist Erdal Kizilcay (who worked on "Never Let Me Down" amongst other albums) contributed much to this record too and his percussion deserves wider attention.

It really is hard to say quite what this album is. It's not really a soundtrack since the tracks are able stand to alone and are more than musical fragments. You don't need to have read the book or seen the television programme to appreciate it either. It's not really pop, rock or jazz but contains elements of all of these. It's lush, rich and low-key but not soporific. There's a huge amount of life in this album but it won't blow your woofers and tweeters. According to the liner notes,Bowie produced this in about a week or so; the freshness is palpable. The main criticism of the album might be the unnecessary repetition of the title track which starts and closes the album. The difference between the two versions is nugatory. The song "Strangers When We Meet" made a second appearance on the album "Outside" a few year later. This was presumably because Bowie reckoned nobody heard it the first time. The thing is that the version on "Buddha Of Suburbia" is rather better. What a shame this album came out at the same time as more easily-marketable "Best Of..." collection. Jazz and electronica fans as well as Bowie-philes will appreciate this record. I seldom give five stars but this record deserves all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowie's Dame Meditation, 28 Aug 2007
By 
R. Chapman "Vic" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buddha Of Suburbia (Audio CD)
It is so pleasing to find this re-released and afforded the dignity it deserves with a snazzy new cover in place of that botched one showing images from the BBC TV drama that inspired this collection.
'Buddha of Suburbia' is grown from a soundtrack to the superb story by Hanif Kureshi that was adapted for television in the early-90s. As a Bowie album it was overlooked for two reasons: David had already released his first solo album in six years -'Black Tie White Noise'- the same year and the decision to market it as a soundtrack meant that it lost out on the sales it richly deserved.
'The Buddha of Suburbia' is the great forgotten Bowie album. It is rather a quiet affair in many ways - a minimalist mixture of ambient soundscapes, delicate electro-pop and haunting ballads, including the delightful title track (imagine Bowie imitating Suede circa 1992 imitating him circa 1972 and you'll get the idea).
While no one would suggest this is quite up there with 'Hunky Dory', 'Ziggy Stardust', or 'Low', it is the author's personal favourite and an album that yields new layers with every listen. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true follow-up to Man who Sold the World and Hunky Dory, 24 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. T. Anderson "onlyconnect" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Buddha Of Suburbia (Audio CD)
I will never forget hearing Buddha of Suburbia for the first time. I am a big fan of Bowie's earlier work The Man who Sold the World, with its meditation on sanity called "All the madmen" - and I was delighted to hear it reprised in the first track here, which echoes the chorus: "sane sane sane, ouvrez le chien." The album has a personal feel though one should not press this too far - yes, Bowie sings about South London, and yes, he grew up there - but this is a work of art and a soundtrack.

The musical style is experimental - my favourite - and generally low-key though not without the occasional burst of screaming guitar. Although it is experimental it is not too demanding. Mike Garson's fractured piano is a delight - it is Garson who added his magic to earlier tracks like Aladdin Sane, and he is just as good here. Bowie is in fine voice too.

Highly recommended - if you think you don't like any Bowie after, say, Scary Monsters, you should give this a try, you might be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down on my knees in suburbia, 23 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Buddha Of Suburbia (Audio CD)
And quite literally, I was. As a Bowie fan for 30 years I'd never been able to get hold of this album so it was with great excitement that I saw it being re-released. I knew the title track was epic from the Best of Bowie DVD. This music from start to finish is beautiful. It has everything, soaring saxes, piano and guitar, electronica - you name it. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Thank-you once again, David Jones - you are a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Bowie album never to have reached the top 75, 12 July 2009
This review is from: The Buddha Of Suburbia (Audio CD)
Well, the title's a cheat as it's the only studio album to have never reached the Top 75. However, this album is awesome beyond comprehension. Drawing from influences that stretch from Bromley to Bombay, this is a collection that no-one should overlook or underestimate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buddha of suburbia, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Sean Mcskeane (york ,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddha Of Suburbia (MP3 Download)
the buddha of suburbia is one of the hidden gems within the david bowie back catologue.a must for bowie fans and probably also one the most accessable albums to get into ,so this would be a great choice for any record buyer .its smooth, suave and sophisticated and yet modest ,again is different from almost every other bowie album.
stand out tracks are...." untitled #1" and "the mysteries" plus the title track .the vocals are superb and sonics crisp and immersing,the instrumentals give a great ambience to the complete album without lowering its lightly upbeat nature .
This album was missing from print for a number of years and is great it see it back in it's rightfull place albeit in its new album cover which suits better .
people often make comparisons between all of david bowie albums,no need to when an album like this stands up on its own as a desirable edition to any record collection.
sean mcskeane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Buddha Of Suburbia
The Buddha Of Suburbia by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews