Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oz returns for a blistering third season......
Ultra-violent prison drama Oz shows no sign of relenting in this shocking third season visit to Emerald City.

After blinding a prison officer to please crime boss El Cid in season two, Miguel Alvarez rots in solitary where he is tormented, beaten and starved until his mental health begins to deteriorate. The homeboys continue to clash with the Italians and...
Published on 1 Oct. 2007 by R. Mullaney

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still has shock-value but not slick I'm afraid...
Season 1 was very good, season 2 and 3 are only ok. It is still gritty, graphic but at times you feel they are just doing it for shock value, when its not necessary. Still worth a watch if you were able to buy a cheap box set like I did!
Published on 15 Aug. 2007 by MW


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oz returns for a blistering third season......, 1 Oct. 2007
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Ultra-violent prison drama Oz shows no sign of relenting in this shocking third season visit to Emerald City.

After blinding a prison officer to please crime boss El Cid in season two, Miguel Alvarez rots in solitary where he is tormented, beaten and starved until his mental health begins to deteriorate. The homeboys continue to clash with the Italians and Hispanics over the lucrative drugs trade and Beecher returns to Emerald City following his horrific beating at the hands of Schillinger and Keller. Meanwhile the scheming O'Reilly enters his slow witted brother Cyril in the prison boxing championships and the psychotic Simon Adebisi decides to quietly take back his position as the ruthless king of Oz after his apparent redemption in season two.

The thing that makes Oz so great is that all the characters on both sides of the bars are so well developed. Themes of crime and redemption are examined from different angles which keeps Oz a cut above.

Like this? Try: Oz Seasons 1-2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oz returns for a blistering third season......, 1 Oct. 2007
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ultra-violent prison drama Oz shows no sign of relenting in this shocking third season visit to Emerald City.

After blinding a prison officer to please crime boss El Cid in season two, Miguel Alvarez rots in solitary where he is tormented, beaten and starved until his mental health begins to deteriorate. The homeboys continue to clash with the Italians and Hispanics over the lucrative drugs trade and Beecher returns to Emerald City following his horrific beating at the hands of Schillinger and Keller. Meanwhile the scheming O'Reilly enters his slow witted brother Cyril in the prison boxing championships and the psychotic Simon Adebisi decides to quietly take back his position as the ruthless king of Oz after his apparent redemption in season two.

The thing that makes Oz so great is that all the characters on both sides of the bars are so well developed. Themes of crime and redemption are examined from different angles which keeps Oz a cut above.

Like this? Try: Oz Seasons 1-2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wizards of OZ, 13 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Oz: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
OZ is a remarkable series. HBO's first drama series, it tells the story of the Oswald State Penitentiary, a fictional prison in the USA, and across six seasons it charts the lives and deaths of inmates, prison guards and their families. It's a stunning series, better in some ways even than The Wire and you can't go far wrong if you dip your toe into OZ. It is extremely violent, brutally so, but it's a multi-layered tale with a heart. The main attraction for me when I first started watching OZ was the monologues of Augustus Hill. Hill acts as narrator and he provides context to everything that happens, has happened, or will happen in the prison. The word "great" is thrown around far too often when talking about tv drama, but OZ earns the tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Shocks, 25 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never seen any of the OZ series on TV and heard it was worth a watch i sent for the 1st season and then the 2nd and evey episode still sticks you to your seat and the 3rd is no different i enjoyed the shocks and emotion of the whole storyline a good adult storyline with no hold barred. I have just sent for the 4th series and cant wait to review this one as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for HBO, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
D. M. Jeffery (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have loved watching this series. Another great triumph for HBO! I love that they aren't afraid to make programmes that push the boundries of American TV. My boyfriend who had no interest in watching Oz become instantly hooked and now can't wait for me to buy the next series on DVD. This is quite a violent look at prision life so if you don't like violence then it's not something you'll like. But otherwise I would definately recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars greatest prison drama, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
mr michael ashton (leeds, yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
from catching episodes on very late night tv to watching them all again on 'love film' dvd's to getting these lovely season box sets, the best, grimest, brutalest, prison drama ever, many now familiar faces first seen here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great season.. Brutal storyline., 30 May 2013
This review is from: Oz: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm so into this show anyway but this seasons story line was intense. Great twists keep coming for a show that's set inside four walls. Really starting to get a sense of the outside life's of those in the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch Oz., 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
If haven't seen Oz it's well worth watching. Yes there are some dodgy plots but not many, and overall it keeps you hooked right until the very end. Great drama worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Nov. 2011
Amazingly brilliantly crafted prison drama I remember watching it back in the day thinking wow this is raw .. Then go into work talking about OZ!? Awesome stuff!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping !, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely gripping prison drama as after watching the first two seasons again I immediately had to buy the 3rd, 4th and 5th ! I love it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oz: Season 3 [DVD]
Oz: Season 3 [DVD] by Mary Harron (DVD - 2007)
£12.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews