Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, but not like the old Dido
If you're an early purchaser of this album, you're probably doing so on the basis that you like her previous albums and you've heard the first track on this one, "Don't believe in love" and like that too. You could be in for a shock. The remainder of the album in relatively slow and much more soulful and thoughtful than her previous efforts. This fits Dido's voice...
Published on 17 Nov 2008 by Twasme

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dido's worst by far
With a five-year wait, I was expecting something special. Instead, Dido's latest is distinctly average. There are no outstanding tracks and very little range. In short, it pales in comparison to her other albums. After six weeks, I've still only played it through once. I only hope it's one of those albums that improves the more you listen to it. Disappointed...
Published on 28 Dec 2008 by Snow White


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, but not like the old Dido, 17 Nov 2008
By 
Twasme (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe Trip Home (Audio CD)
If you're an early purchaser of this album, you're probably doing so on the basis that you like her previous albums and you've heard the first track on this one, "Don't believe in love" and like that too. You could be in for a shock. The remainder of the album in relatively slow and much more soulful and thoughtful than her previous efforts. This fits Dido's voice perfectly, but if you're expecting some uplifting rythmns, this probably isn't for you. If you want something with a slightly haunting sound and emotive lyrics, you won't be disappointed.

I suspect this is an album that will get more critical aclaim than it will commercial success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mature And Rather Beautiful Album..., 24 Mar 2009
By 
D. L. Young "young Danny" (York, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Safe Trip Home (Audio CD)
I purchased this album on the strength of a published review overlooking my preconceptions about Dido's music being bland 'coffee table' background music. This album for me is a minor revelation. It is in fact a work of some subtlety and refinement and an album that rewards the investment of repeated listening. It is by no means immediate and on first listen sounds so musically slight that if tired the listener may quietly drop off. Given time however this album works its way into the listener's conciousness with its generally slow tempo in concordance with the emotive and uncompromisingly raw lyrics. This is never more apparent than 'It Comes And It Goes' a simply beautiful yet so simple song. Others have stated that Dido's voice lacks the emotional punch to match the lyrics but for me her voice has a rich and soothing quality. As someone who is primarily a fan of guitar orientated rock it is personally astonishing that I have found this album so rewarding. On reflection this is because of its sheer musicality and I would encourage any music lover to approach this excellent album with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grows with time, love it., 23 Nov 2008
By 
BikeTech (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Safe Trip Home (Audio CD)
This is an edited review. In my original post I was not particularly impressed but over the years I think I have done the music a dis-service, hence the edit. The lyrics are heartfelt and the music and singing are perfectly presented. For me, the best Dido album; well produced too. The inclusion of the card wallet instead of the plastic case remains the one negative, but unfortunately this is becoming more common.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So peaceful and relaxing., 23 Jan 2010
By 
Igor Ramos - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Safe Trip Home (Audio CD)
On this album Dido walks away from the electronic roots of her previous works and decides to learn how to play some instruments.

The result are soft melodies, wrapped with a lot of emotion... wonderfuly sang by her pure and genuine voice.
It's something very different of what today is considered pop and commercial, perhaps that's why the album sell less than No Angel and Life for Rent.

"Grafton Street" is truly a masterpiece.

Dido never desappoints!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dido About Time!, 20 Oct 2008
This review is from: Safe Trip Home (Audio CD)
Well was the album worth the wait? I can assure you having been priviliged to listen to the whole album yesterday with Dido! It most certainly has.
It is almost five years since "Life to Rent", and Dido has certainly had some personal difficulties to come to terms with including the sad loss of her father in 2006. The whole album has, understandably, a darker feel than her earlier offerings, but her songwriting goes from strength to strength. Her vocals, as usual, are pitch perfect throughout. The album starts with the first catchy single "Don't Believe In Love" written I guess after the breakup of her relationship with Bob Page, whom she lived with for seven years. "Quiet Times" and "Never Want To Say Its Love" follow on the the same vein. The atmospheric feel of the best track on the album "Grafton Street" will haunt you for a long time and will wish you longing for more. "It Comes And It Goes" is written about her fear of losing her mind, she would rather lose her leg she says!"Look No Further" is a fantastic track again with a haunting melody, which I absolutely love."Us 2 Little Gods" is one of the lighter tracks on the album and is a future single."The Day Before the Day" is Dido reminissing about the day before the breakup of her relationship. "Lets Do The Things We Normally Do" is a lovely track with a catchy hook, that you will sing along too. "Burnin Love" is one of the weaker tracks on the album, but does not detract from a fantastic album, which wraps up , with "Northern Skies" which again has some personal reflections. Has Dido rediscovered herself, not really, she just took a longer vacation than she would have probably liked. She has taken a "Safe Trip Home" and has worked with what she has always been good at her songwriting. She is now more involved in the production of her music and it shows! Just buy the album and give it a whirl! You will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dido's worst by far, 28 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe Trip Home (Audio CD)
With a five-year wait, I was expecting something special. Instead, Dido's latest is distinctly average. There are no outstanding tracks and very little range. In short, it pales in comparison to her other albums. After six weeks, I've still only played it through once. I only hope it's one of those albums that improves the more you listen to it. Disappointed.

Also, the CD cover is made of cardboard as opposed to plastic, and the CD fits too snugly into the sleeve, so expect lots of wear-and-tear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost some of the novelty but none of the quality, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe Trip Home (Audio CD)
Don't expect anything very different from her previous 2 albums, this is familiar Dido territory but nonetheless appealing for fans of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent singer, quiet music to enjoy listening, 17 Mar 2011
By 
Phoenix (Asturias, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe Trip Home (Audio CD)
Many people say this is not as good as the rest of Dido albums. I disagree. This is the first album I listened completely and for me it's wonderful! It's different, but nothing to envy to the others. The music, the lyrics and specially Dido's voice make it ideal to listen with headphones and at night.

All songs are of a great quality and are perfectly arranged. My favourite quiet songs are "Quiet times", "It comes and it goes" and "The day before the day", this last one song almost as a whisper. "Us 2 little Gods" is the more lively one.

If you like quiet music, and a voice that caresses your ears, this album is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Safe Trip but not quite Home yet.., 8 Dec 2008
By 
Since "No Angel" Dido's albums for me have suffered from lack of strong material - only two fairly good tracks on the last album Life for Rent", and this new offering "Safe Trip Home" is a nice enough listen and is a big improvement. The intro on the first track "Don't Believe in Love" made me jump as it sounded like early Free for a moment, all the songs here are good but Dido's material still has a way to go to eclipse "No Angel".
The sound quality is clear and warm, the album would be done better justice on a good stereo system rather than those dreaded download/ipods - give your ears a treat! I have the vinyl version of "No Angel" and sounds just phenomenal on vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it or hate it ... Dido is still a huge talent, 11 Dec 2008
By 
A. Lang (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Safe Trip Home (Audio CD)
I'm the first to admit that I'm a HUGE Dido fan and have waited with eager anticipationg (for a number of years now!) for this album. Was I disappointed? At first, yes - a little. But once I'd listened to the album ... and that's 'listened' rather than just playing it ... it started growing on me.

There are some really good songs on there. 'Grafton Street' is probably the one the critics will like, 'The Day Before the Day' is my absolute favourite - crisp, clear lyrics with that haunting Dido sound we all know and love so well. 'Let's Do the Things We Normally Do' is also another gem .... there are a lot of great songs on this album. It's different from her previous albums and not for those who are looking for cheery, forgettable, background music.

The lyrics behind the songs are poetry ... I love this album as much as I've loved her previous albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Safe Trip Home
Safe Trip Home by Dido (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews