Customer Reviews

89
4.3 out of 5 stars
Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.49+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
on 13 September 2007
After listening to the album four times in a row, what stands out the most is that Grohl obviously took a lot away from the acoustic tour they did in support of the second (quieter) half of `In Your Honour' (which provided the material for 2006's live album and DVD `Skin and Bones'). The new acoustic arrangements of old Foo Fighters songs must have sparked something inside Grohl's head because `Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace' is full of orchestral touches that provide a whole new dimension to his songwriting.

Of course there are the standard rock anthems (albiet with new acoustic/orchestral touches) that you expect from Foo Fighters, like first single "The Pretender", "Erase Replace", "Long Road to Ruin" (my guess for next single #1), and "Cheer Up Boys (Your Makeup's Running)" (my guess for next single #2). But what really stands out are the mellower acoustic/piano heavy tracks that make up the majority of the album.

"Let it Die" starts out as a quiet, gentle acoustic solo piece with only Grohl's vocals and an acoustic guitar. But it slowly builds, growing more and more urgent until around the two-minute mark you're hit with a few bars of loud, crunch-heavy guitar leading into a full-on rock chorus/outro. This is Dave Grohl taking Jimmy Page's concept of light and shade to the extreme.

"Come Alive" is another example of this light and shade concept, building from a mid-tempo melodic piece to balls to the wall, bombast and howling rock.

"Stranger Things Have Happened" is purely acoustic with Grohl singing over one guitar, with a second guitar joining in occassionally to add accents with some nice acoustic licks.

"Summer's End" is a laid-back electric track with a California country aura and a chorus whose melody has hints of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young's "Carry On".

"The Ballad of the Beaconsfield Miners" is an acoustic instrumental that sounds like `In Your Honour's "Razor" at double-speed.

"Statues" is the centerpiece. It is by far the best track on the album and one of the most interesting pieces of music Dave Grohl has ever written. It's like nothing you've ever heard from this band before, but I hope Grohl's got more like this in him. The only downside is that it's only three minutes and forty-seven seconds long. I want more.

"But Honestly" is another acoustic>rock, light and shade song. They use the formula a lot on this album, but it doesn't get old because it works. If it was good enough for Led Zeppelin, it's good enough for me.

"Home" is a slow piano ballad in the vein of The White Stripes` "I'm Lonely (But I Ain't That Lonely Yet)" from `Get Behind Me Satan'. While Grohl doesn't have the raw emotion that Jack White spills out, it's still a really beautiful way to close the album. Though I am a big sucker for album-closing piano ballads (see Aerosmith's "You See Me Crying" from `Toys in the Attic' and "Home Tonight" from `Rocks')

Overall it's an amazing album. It really shows Dave Grohl growing as a songwriter and is a great end result of the experimentation on `In Your Honour'. If `In Your Honour' was their `Physical Graffiti', then `Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace' is their `Led Zeppelin III'.

When `In Your Honour' was released, I thought it was amazing, but wondered if they would be able to pass the decade mark and still remain relevant. This new record shows that not only have they survived, but there's a whole new chapter that's just beginning.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 17 October 2007
This is the sixth studio album from the 'Foo Fighters'. I have followed these guys since their debut back in 1995, and they have developed their sound substantially since then.

While it's probably true that their finest hour was 1997's 'The Colour And The Shape', they haven't had any album that's come close to it....until now.

Working once again with Gil Norton (Who, incidentally, produced 'The Colour and the Shape'), he's brought back the things that some previous Foos records since maybe forgot- a bit of punk and all-out soulful rocking anthems.

And 'Echoes, Silence, patience & Grace' has all of this in bucketloads.

There's variation here. It's a solid progression since their last album, 'In Your Honour'.

It opens with the raucous anthem singalong, 'The Pretender'. It starts disturbingly like Led Zeppelin's 'Stairway to Heaven', but it develops into anything but that. It develops into a punk verse before exploding in the chorus and maintaining that sequence throughout afterwards for four and a half minutes. 'Let It Die' is similar, in the sense that it starts acoustically, before exploding into a stadium-rock singalong. 'Erase/Replace' is different. There is no acoustic intro here at all. It simply feeds in the guitars from the beginning before bursting into punk verses and a mammoth singalong chorus nicely sandwiched in between. 'Long Road To Ruin' is more mainstream, and an obvious future release. The chorus is infectiously catchy and will be a crowd favourite at stadiums around the world, I'm certain of that.

'Come Alive' is perhaps the most spectacular track on the album apart from 'The Pretender'. It's over five minutes long and it's somewhat similar to 'Let It Die'. But it's different because it builds up and up and up before exploding into a giant monster of an anthem. It takes over three minutes to build up to boiling point, but it's well worth it. Unbelievable track. Dave Grohl's screaming voice is relentless as he repeats 'Come alive!' over and over and over. Things quieten down on the slightly disappointing 'Stranger Things Have Happened'. But this song needs to be here somewhere as thirteen tracks of all-out rock would render it to be boring as a record. 'Cheer Up Boys' is classic 'Colour And The Shape' Foos, if only a little more accomplished, however the intro is typical Foos punk as is the pre-chorus. The song itself is decent enough and those of you who appreciate early (ish) Foos punk rock will appreciate this song. 'Summer's End' is a song I really like and while I didn't to begin with, I appreciate it more as time's gone by. It's typical Foo Fighters, but it has a more mature sound somehow. 'Ballad of the Beaconsfield Miners' is awesome- it features Kaki King as guest guitarist here on this interesting instrumental. A clever song, and it's anything but normal Foo Fighters. Superb. 'Statues' is different again, and that's what I enjoy so much about this album overall. Grohl gets behind the piano here and sings. It's a great song, I really like this one. 'But, Honestly' is next, referring back to the early stages of the record, where things started acoustically before building up into heavier stuff later in the song. This is the same, and again we see a more aggressive Foo Fighters and very much a punk presence in the second half of the song. 'Home' is a great track. It's simply Grohl behind the piano once again. It's so simple, and so beautiful. 'Once and For All' is a bonus track, again featuring Grohl behind the piano, and it's a more collective effort from the band as it's more soulful and has more of a purpose about it.

Overall then, there is very little wrong with this record by the Foo Fighters, it's a vry accmplished record here they've produced. And if number seven is an improvement on this one here, it probably will be their best yet, as this is on a similar level to 1997's 'The Colour And The Shape'- but Grohl's mature songwriting and more expansive instrumental knowledge (on piano) create further diversity, and that can't be a bad thing.

Buy it if you haven't already. 9/10.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 November 2007
...but I would sincerly ask anyone who is looking to buy this album after hearing the simply superb "The Pretender" to steer clear and buy "The Colour and the Shape: 10th Anniversary Edition". Anyone new to the Foo's and looking for more of the same will be disapointed, although the tracks are great they do not have the same sound as "The Pretender" whereas the amazing songs on "The Colour and the..." are way better suited.
Buy that album, then return to this one later to progress forward with FF.

This album is not their greatest, it has to be said, but it is in no way a bad album. I doesn't deserve 5 stars from me as while it certainly has some very powerful songs they are not as memorable as songs from previous albums. My favourite on this album was "The Pretender" which is just an amazingly good track, the rest I would say are "weaker", but not to such an extent that I would say this album has any "bad" songs.
If you have any previous albums BUY THIS! You should not be disapointed, just do not expect to be amazed.

In short: Amazing album, not so good for people new to FF and looking for more like "The Pretender". Buy it if you enjoy listening to the Foo Fighters.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 July 2013
Wow, what a start! A strong contender for their best song to date, 'Pretenders' is a powerful fusion of two songs masterfully intertwined; fast and slow, heavy and delicate, pounding and soaring - just awesome. As the song progresses, the excitement builds with loud and quiet coming face to face, before its brought to a climax. Lets just have that one again, oh sorry better see what the rest of the album is like . . .

'Let it die' continues the great start to the album. This is a track that builds and builds, becoming stronger and heavier and more elaborate - this is what I love about Foo Fighters. You can feel the anger build up until the final line is wrenched of Dave Grohl "Why'd you have to go and let it die!!!". Another beautifully crafted bit of Foos magic.

'Erase/Replace' starts and ends sounding like it could be of a Bush album (perhaps Razorblade suitcase after 'Mouth'?) and has the same paced loud snappy drum beat. A great song, continuing the heavy start.

'Long Road To Ruin' is a catchy and melodic tune that slows the pace a little, but still a great mid-paced Foos track.

'Come Alive' is a fantastic track, not quite as superb as the first two, but it buds and then blossoms gloriously.

'Stranger Things Have Happened' is a rich and full bodied acoustic number, show casing Dave Grohl's vocal talents and demonstrating that the dramatic use of quiet meeting loud can work just as well with an acoustic guitar.

We are back on the gas again with 'Cheer Up, Boys (Your Make Up Is Running)', a more typical Foos sound.

'Summer's End' is a nice and easy going song and definitely conveys that relaxed warm summer's evening vibe. Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins play piano for this one.

'Ballad Of The Beaconsfield Miners' is a totally instrumental acoustic with some lovely guitar playing.

Paul McCartney springs to mind with the piano led 'Statues' with a hint of 'Albatross' by the Shadows. It is sung in a softer style than Dave would normally use, but it works well.

'But, Honestly' builds and builds from the start, all the way up to a flamboyant finish . . . no don't fade it out, that's just teasing! Perhaps would have been a good one to end with as it would lure you into playing the album again.

Given the more gentle song that follows, fading was necessary. 'Home' is a more relaxed, intimate and somewhat somber song, quite different to the kind of songs Foos fans will be used to, but it does work really well. Dave on the piano again for this one.

'Once & For All' lifts the mood and the pace a little, starting sounding not unlike something Feeder might have played. You may not feel quite as good as you usually do after a Foos album at the end of this track. The remedy is to just listen to 'Pretenders' again - wow!

I must say that I found this album a bit disappointing initially - I felt that the softer and sometimes somber tracks diffused the album. However, I must say that with further listens, I realised that this is not the case at all. There are so many great tracks on the album it is hard to identify its weakness. The Foo Fighters have achieved an enriched album with some successful experimentation here and perhaps some of their best songs. I would say that this is their third best after 'Wasting Light' and 'The Colour and the shape', but in a tussle of course, with the self entitled debut.

'Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace' is as satisfying and complete as a Sunday roast dinner, with all the trimmings, and plenty to enjoy again and again later.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 30 August 2013
HAVING DIPPED MY TOE INTO THE 21ST CENTURY WITH THE SNOW PATROL,AND WISHED I HADN'T,I BOLDLY WENT FORTH LIKE THOSE WORLD WAR 2 PILOTS AND GOT ME A FOO FIGHTERS CD. WHAT A WONDER! NO MISERY, JUST COBWEB BLOWING---INTERSPERSED WITH MELODY LEFT ME FEELING I WANNA HEAR MORE! HAVING THIS MAKES ME FEEL LIKE A KID AGAIN WITHOUT THE SENTIMENTAL RETRO REWIND MANY BANDS TRY TO RECREATE,AND I KNOW I,M TALKING OUT MY BACKSIDE BUT THIS SOUNDS LIKE WE HAVE A FUTURE FOLKS.CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT FOO FIGHTER CD I SHOULD HEAR NEXT? PLEASE COMMENT.I PURCHASED ECHOES,SILENCE,PATIENCE,AND GRACE THROUGH AMAZON UK.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 February 2008
Once again the Foo Fighters have managed to produce an outstanding album. It really does not disappoint. The style in general is the same as earlier works but the great thing about this album is that there aren't really any fillers on the album.
Stand out tracks are the singles "The Pretender" and "Long Road to Ruin" however my favorite track on the album is "Home" which is in the more stripped back, acoustic style that i think the foos do briliantly.

You won't be disappointed by this album if you are a fan of the foos and it is also a great one to get if you are new to their music. Enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 13 October 2007
This album is different to what I was expecting(thats not a bad thing though). Having heard 'The Pretender' on TV I decided to take a chance and buy the entire album which it was featured on. To my surprise, there aren't many rock songs on this album. I counted five. The rest of the songs are slow, acoustic style tunes. The lyrics are top-notch in most of the songs and in that department I cannot really critisize the album. However, some of the songs come off as being bland because they don't have a chorus that is catchy or sometimes the songs are nothing memorable or special.

In my opinion, the best songs on this album are the following:
- 'The Pretender' (A rock song)
- 'Long Road To Ruin' (a rock song)
- 'Erase/Replace' (A rock song, and possibly the best song on the album)
- 'Let It Die' (A Rock song)
- 'Statues' (A nice, slow song)
- 'Home' (A slow song which is sung well by the lead singer)

So if you like rock music get this album because there are four good rock songs on it, and i would give each one of those a 9/10 at least. The other slower songs may not be as memorable, but they are still worth listening too. If you like Foo Fighters, then you will definetly like this obviously.........
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 October 2007
Its not like colour and the shape but this album highlights Dave Grohl's ability to take his band to new levels with a maturity other bands fail to grasp in fear of being labeled wimps.

The album needs a few listens to get into the mood and once you are there you don't want to skip a track.

it deserves 5/5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 19 October 2008
I've never given the Foo Fighters the time or day, just never really got into them post Nirvana. Bought this album upon recommendation by a Foo fan. Upon first listen (whilst clearing out the garage) I knew there was something very important happening to me. Quite simply at that moment I became an instant Grohl/Foo fan. Having now backtracked on most of the Foo's catalogue from my own perspective, this is not only my favourite of theirs but quite possibly the most important 'rock' album in my CD collection and remains a permanent fixture in the car ! Love it Love it Love it. It's so good, I find it difficult to believe these aren't reworkings of old classics, but of course respect Dave Grohl's song writing abilities as well as his virtuoso performance abilities.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 29 September 2007
...This is just brilliant!
I've been listening to the Foo's for years now and have attended so many of their superb live shows and I can't wait to here the tracks off this album played live!

This is the most thought about and refined Foo album of the lot and it benefits from this no-end. After the Acoustic side of 'In Your Honor', the Foos are now not scared of creating ballads and acoustically themed tracks. Why they were scared of doing this before I'll never know because the ones on this album are just superb and eclipse anything off of In Your Honor.

The album starts in classic Foo Style, 'The Pretender'. This is what the Foos have made a career on, producing fast paced, rock anthems that are built for playing Live. The chorus will have you singing along in seconds and it's one of the best songs the guys have ever produced.

This is followed by 'Let It Die'. This starts slow and ends up as a screaming rock track. It's probably my least favourite on the album (I don't get along with Dave Screaming), but that's not to say it's a bad song at all. 'Erase/Replace' is another classic rock track from the Foos.
'Long road To Ruin' will definately be the next single, it's radio-friendly rock at it's best and is istantly likeable.

I'm going to skips the next few tracks as they are all superb, but I'm itching to get to the last 3 songs!
'Statues' is the first taste we get of Piano Foos. It's a great track that will perhaps get overshadowed by the 2 that follow it.

'But, Honestly' has already become one of my favourite Foo songs ever. Very similar to 'Come Alive' in it's structure, but the excellent melody and backing vocals from taylor just make it stand out so much. Starts of slow and acoustic, ends up with classic rock riffs and solos. Probably would've been my favourite track on the album is it wasn;t for what followed it...

'Home' is basically Dave and a Piano. The first time I heard it I could feel the shivers down my neck for the whole song, Incredible. It's the most open and intimate Dave has been on a song and it's such a beautiful track. I really hope that they will continue to produce tracks like this as it's clearly another talent of theirs.

You can tell that Dave still had reservations about ending the Album on a slow song though as it is followed by a 'Bonus track' called 'Once & For All). It's a classic Foo Song but it just seems so normal when compared to what it followed.

In Summary:
This is what the Foos can produce when they seriously think about the songs and the album in general. Also, when they are not scared to have quieter songs and acoustic songs present.
If this is the Future of the Foos, then there is nothing that can stop them becoming true legends of music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Foo Fighters Greatest Hits
Foo Fighters Greatest Hits by Foo Fighters (Audio CD - 2009)

Wasting Light
Wasting Light by Foo Fighters (Audio CD - 2011)

Sonic Highways
Sonic Highways by Foo Fighters (Audio CD - 2014)
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.