Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars close you eyes...
i think tobe hooper's chainsaw massacre is overrated. i think his recent output has been awful at best. this little gem from 1981 took me by surprise, not just for its minimum bloodletting but because i'd never heard of it. its good - its better than good. it has a genuine sense of dread and a fear and paradoxically, an understanding of human vulnerability and...
Published on 7 July 2004 by Rory

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it was good to see this again
it was good to see this again,I remember seeing it in an old fleapit on a double bill with My Bloody Valentine in the 80s,it seemed
scarier back then!!!
Published 22 days ago by daryl burchmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big let down, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I wasn't to sure what to expect with this? but it was a huge let down and was lacking in every dept, expected more from tobe!, probably been spoilt by previous 80s classics like Halloween/friday the 13th ect. Shame had all the makings of a very good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT TOBE HOOPERS BEST, 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Funhouse [DVD] (DVD)
NOTHING HAPPENS IN THIS FILM UNTIL THE END, AND ITS NOT WORTH THE WAIT, ITS BORING, AND I DONT CLASS IT AS A SLASHER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars crap., 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [DVD] (DVD)
tediously slow with no storyline or characterisation at all, about as spooky as an episode of neighbours. or maybe home and away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars another less than average blu ray release from arrow films!!, 30 July 2011
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i have just finished watching the funhouse on blu ray and i have to say i am less than impressed by the quality of the transfer.the region 1 universal pictures dvd release was a better quality picture than this recent blu ray release from arrow. i wish another company would come along and release the films that arrow have released on blu ray,only this time i wish that they would get better transfers,as most of the blu rays that arrow films have released are of questionable quality and the picture transfers are less than impressive.if they cannot release the kind of trasfer that is significantly better than the dvd releases,then they really shouldn't bother.funhouse is a good slasher from the 80's but it has been given an underwhelming blu ray release.the picture is soft and there is quite a lot of blurring at the top and bottom of the picture,heavy grain is present throughout the movie and it really isn't the kind of transfer that you expect from blu ray.if you already own this movie on dvd,then i would advise against upgrading to blu ray,as it really is not worth the money and you won't see much of a difference in picture quality.maniac cop is next for an arrow blu ray release,what's the betting that they mess that blu ray release up aswell? i guess we will have to wait and see!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funhouse is out on Blu-Ray with poster and Special Features, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. B. M. Jones (Torbay UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Watched Funhouse on dvd Resently with my friend, now it in Blu-Ray with posters and extra features, that fantastic, what a film, Horror, lovely women, it reminds me a little bit of some scenes of Carnivals of soul (1998) and the Nightmare of Elm Street (2010), it is a Cert 15: film, it is better than before, not to sure it completely fully hd, widescreen, and i give it a 3/5 Star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely stank, 18 Nov 2009
By 
J. Moncrieff - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Funhouse [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Okay Acting was horrible, monster was horribly looking and some things made completely no sense.

Sure it had somethings to it like the motivation. But out of horror films that make no senses this here has to be one of the worse. Trust me I'm a big classic horror fan, but I'd rather watch the first dracula film over and over again until me eyeballs fell out. The acting was completely crude, they really could've done a better job, but it looks as though they were just as poorly acting as the script was written.

And so you know there is no killer clowns in it as you get from the expresson of the front cover. Honestly don't watch this unless you're running low on 80s horror films to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Funhouse [1981] [DVD]
The Funhouse [1981] [DVD] by Tobe Hooper (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: 9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews