Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stylish slasher. One of the bests from the 80's.
The Funhouse is a great, suspense-filled horror film that's far more intelligent than most of its type, especially compared to most of the "splatter" films of the era, and although the film does take a while to get going, the storyline is a gripping one which builds tremendous tension right up to its claustrophobic climax. Hooper gives us an atmosphere of dread, much like...
Published 20 months ago by Puzzle box

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it was good to see this again
it was good to see this again,I remember seeing it in an old fleapit on a double bill with My Bloody Valentine in the 80s,it seemed
scarier back then!!!
Published 6 months ago by daryl burchmore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Something is alive in the Funhouse....', 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [DVD] (DVD)
A creepy and enjoyable film, The Funhouse shared a double bill in 1981 with My Bloody Valentine.
No gore to be found here, and what once was an 'X' film now comes in for a 15cert.
Excellent sinister soundtrack score accompanies the animatronic horrors of the Funhouse.
Picture is 2:35.1 widescreen (Good clean picture)
Sound 2.0 stereo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Release!!, 6 Aug. 2011
By 
Eugene Evans "Fasteddie" (Baltimore,MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Wow,talk about a good time movie!! I have never been let down yet by Arrow and this is no exception!!..First of all,the transfer looks amazing and the sound is up to par..Its chock full of extras and I loved the "Carnage at the Carnival" with Tobe Hooper himself,that was a real treat! All of the extras and bonus footage was awesome and played flawlessly on my blu ray player.
The film itself is a great tale of terror from my youth.I think its Hoopers great directing once again that ties the whole film together.Great cinematography,lighting,and scenery make this one wild ride of horror.The soundtrack is great and does what its supposed to in keeping you on the edge of your seat.The ending of this film is true Hooper style, in having the anxiety build and build for a good ten minutes before the climax.
Oh,I think I also heard something about Eli Roth??!!..Check it out for yourself,I dont want to ruin the surprise!!..Overall I give this release 5 out of 5 stars!!..Its a must own for any horror lover!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the Fun of the Fear, 30 Dec. 2007
By 
Foggy Tewsday - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Funhouse [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
During the early 1980s, slasher films were very popular; there seemed to be at least one released at the cinema every week. One of the best from this time is Tobe Hooper's `The Funhouse', a highly visual piece that has, at long last, been released on DVD.

Amy (Elizabeth Berridge) is all set for her first date with Buzz (Cooper Huckabee). Along with friends, Liz (Largo Woodruff) and Richie (Miles Chapin), they visit a travelling carnival. A ride on the ghost train gives them more than they bargained for when they decide to spend the night there.

There is little in the way of character development for our four friends. Their dialogue consists of little more than banalities. However, Amy seems to be almost hypnotically aware of the barkers trying to drum up trade for their various exotic delights. Their one-note patter seems to be directed at her, "Alive, alive, alive," intones one in an eerie invitation to peruse his collection of animal freaks.

The film is populated by weird characters, for example, the scavenging bag lady who spouts hellfire and damnation, and the truck driver who invites Amy's young brother, Joey (Shawn Carson), to take a ride with him before aiming a rifle at the boy. However, most of the tension is gathered from the carnival itself. There are a number of short, clipped scenes with Amy and company on various rides and amusements. For all its gaudy splendor, the carnival is presented in such a way that you feel its inherent malevolence is always about to surface. The sequences inside the funhouse are neatly handled. Its automated models, designed to scare the ghost train riders, become more spooky as they sit lifeless in the shadowy darkness, only to reanimate unexpectedly in front of our blundering foursome.

If you're a gorehound, be warned: for a slasher movie, there's not much on show here. Most of the violence happens off-screen. `The Funhouse' relies more on atmosphere for its chills and in this respect it achieves what it sets out to do. It does come a little unstuck with its lack of character development, and because we don't know enough about the characters' backgrounds, it's difficult to care overly about them on a personal level. Nevertheless, this is an effective piece of horror entertainment. It's a pity that the DVD includes no bonus material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shout Factory Bluray release, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Different extras to UK release apart from that looks the same to me

Audio Commentary with Director Tobe Hooper, moderated by filmmaker Tim Sullivan
The Barker Speaks! - An interview with actor Kevin Conway
Something Wicked This Way Comes – An all-new interview with Executive Producer Mark L. Lester
Carnival Music – An interview with Composer John Beal
Audio Interview with actor William Finley
Deleted Scenes
Theatrical Trailer
TV & Radio Spots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Funhouse, 9 April 2013
By 
Mr. G. Bevan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
An old film,but it is a classic.... this is what Horror films were made for,..to scare people and this is exactly what you get in this film....
If you liked the good stuff they used to ban in the 80s,then you'll love this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just creepy good old school horror, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Stable video image. No macro-blocking to speak of. Arrow did a fantastic on the restoration and the sound. The Funhouse never looked or has sounded better.

The movie is an acquired taste. But if you adore old school horror this film is good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, 16 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Funhouse [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
The value and quality of this product were 5 star and the postage was very quick. Cheap 80's movie but still creepy. Excellent service.

Thank you
RD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aw, it's not fair., 12 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Funhouse [DVD] (DVD)
I too remember the double bill with MBV and The Funhouse is better than I remember, being atmospheric, surprisingly well acted and not particularly gruesome. A superior slasher, losing a star due to a sub plot that goes nowhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WARNING TO US BUYERS, 30 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought this BR pretty much knowing that it would play on US players. And it does.
HOWEVER... the extras do NOT work in any BR player made by Sony. I bought three copies before I read a tiny tiny post somewhere warning that the extras won't play on any Sony BR player.
I thought the BR was defective.
It's still a terrific movie, and it's great to see in 1080p, and the 3 commentary track are great to listen to. (this being one of the first commentary tracks I listened to all the way through...let alone THREE different times.)
But US buyers beware! I don't quite understand WHY, but the fact remains that you will not be able to watch the extras with a Sony BR player. Just a warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was good to see this again, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [DVD] (DVD)
it was good to see this again,I remember seeing it in an old fleapit on a double bill with My Bloody Valentine in the 80s,it seemed
scarier back then!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Funhouse [1981] [DVD]
The Funhouse [1981] [DVD] by Tobe Hooper (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: £7.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews