Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars45
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 April 2012
This is a pretty good horror from the 80s from the director of the original Texas chainsaw massacre! Funhouse has a fun story of a bunch of students who go to a carnival and end up sneaking into the funhouse after closing time to make out but get more than they bargain for!! Theres not much in the way of blood and gore like some 80s horror but it does deliver in the scares and shocks department especially with the great ending, worth picking up if your a big horror fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 April 2012
A creepy and enjoyable film, The Funhouse shared a double bill in 1981 with My Bloody Valentine.
No gore to be found here, and what once was an 'X' film now comes in for a 15cert.
Excellent sinister soundtrack score accompanies the animatronic horrors of the Funhouse.
Picture is 2:35.1 widescreen (Good clean picture)
Sound 2.0 stereo
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 6 March 2008
Now I have seen just about all horror films going, and it is really REALLY hard to uncover a genuinely creepy film. I first watched this as a kid, and bought it again a couple of years ago. If your like me and find those pikey funfairs deeply disturbing, and whats more find clowns worthy of gassing, then this is right up your street, if your looking for something a little different.
I would not expect less from Tobe Hooper, but to be honest I did not expect to be quite so freaked out by the atmosphere created once the kids are inside the attraction. God damn it, this is good scary stuff. WATCH IT ALONE
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2007
During the early 1980s, slasher films were very popular; there seemed to be at least one released at the cinema every week. One of the best from this time is Tobe Hooper's `The Funhouse', a highly visual piece that has, at long last, been released on DVD.

Amy (Elizabeth Berridge) is all set for her first date with Buzz (Cooper Huckabee). Along with friends, Liz (Largo Woodruff) and Richie (Miles Chapin), they visit a travelling carnival. A ride on the ghost train gives them more than they bargained for when they decide to spend the night there.

There is little in the way of character development for our four friends. Their dialogue consists of little more than banalities. However, Amy seems to be almost hypnotically aware of the barkers trying to drum up trade for their various exotic delights. Their one-note patter seems to be directed at her, "Alive, alive, alive," intones one in an eerie invitation to peruse his collection of animal freaks.

The film is populated by weird characters, for example, the scavenging bag lady who spouts hellfire and damnation, and the truck driver who invites Amy's young brother, Joey (Shawn Carson), to take a ride with him before aiming a rifle at the boy. However, most of the tension is gathered from the carnival itself. There are a number of short, clipped scenes with Amy and company on various rides and amusements. For all its gaudy splendor, the carnival is presented in such a way that you feel its inherent malevolence is always about to surface. The sequences inside the funhouse are neatly handled. Its automated models, designed to scare the ghost train riders, become more spooky as they sit lifeless in the shadowy darkness, only to reanimate unexpectedly in front of our blundering foursome.

If you're a gorehound, be warned: for a slasher movie, there's not much on show here. Most of the violence happens off-screen. `The Funhouse' relies more on atmosphere for its chills and in this respect it achieves what it sets out to do. It does come a little unstuck with its lack of character development, and because we don't know enough about the characters' backgrounds, it's difficult to care overly about them on a personal level. Nevertheless, this is an effective piece of horror entertainment. It's a pity that the DVD includes no bonus material.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Different extras to UK release apart from that looks the same to me

Audio Commentary with Director Tobe Hooper, moderated by filmmaker Tim Sullivan
The Barker Speaks! - An interview with actor Kevin Conway
Something Wicked This Way Comes – An all-new interview with Executive Producer Mark L. Lester
Carnival Music – An interview with Composer John Beal
Audio Interview with actor William Finley
Deleted Scenes
Theatrical Trailer
TV & Radio Spots
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
From the same director of The Texas Chain Saw Massacre, Tobe Hooper. It's a really fun and creepy film. It involves four teenage friends who decide to hide and stay overnight in a funfair and how it all goes horribly wrong for them. It's a very enjoyable slasher movie with some pretty good scares!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2011
I bought this BR pretty much knowing that it would play on US players. And it does.
HOWEVER... the extras do NOT work in any BR player made by Sony. I bought three copies before I read a tiny tiny post somewhere warning that the extras won't play on any Sony BR player.
I thought the BR was defective.
It's still a terrific movie, and it's great to see in 1080p, and the 3 commentary track are great to listen to. (this being one of the first commentary tracks I listened to all the way through...let alone THREE different times.)
But US buyers beware! I don't quite understand WHY, but the fact remains that you will not be able to watch the extras with a Sony BR player. Just a warning.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Stable video image. No macro-blocking to speak of. Arrow did a fantastic on the restoration and the sound. The Funhouse never looked or has sounded better.

The movie is an acquired taste. But if you adore old school horror this film is good value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
I too remember the double bill with MBV and The Funhouse is better than I remember, being atmospheric, surprisingly well acted and not particularly gruesome. A superior slasher, losing a star due to a sub plot that goes nowhere.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
An old film,but it is a classic.... this is what Horror films were made for, scare people and this is exactly what you get in this film....
If you liked the good stuff they used to ban in the 80s,then you'll love this!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
A Bay of Blood [DVD]
A Bay of Blood [DVD] by Claudine Auger (DVD - 2011)

Inferno [DVD] [1980]
Inferno [DVD] [1980] by Ryan Hilliard (DVD - 2010)

Maniac Cop [DVD] [1988]
Maniac Cop [DVD] [1988] by Tom Atkins (DVD - 2004)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.