Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Queen Concert
I have seen a few other Queen DVDs and have a penchant for concert Blu Rays in general so I had high expectations going into this. Queen Rock Montreal not only lived up to my expectations but in many areas exceeded them. Not only is the concert filmed just before the synthesizers-period, with the band absolutely playing the hell out of their instruments, but the technical...
Published on 13 Jun 2011 by Gentlegiantprog

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio problem
Ok, first the pros:

Fantastic clear picture quality from the Montreal gig (Live aid/rehearsal footage is not HD quality).
Queen are clearly on form in this gig, with Freddie's vocals being some of the best I've heard from his live performances. He goes for a lot of the high notes from the records that he usually substitutes in other concerts. There's not...
Published on 6 July 2011 by BrassEye


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Queen concert available on Blu-ray!, 24 Oct 2010
By 
A. Havenaar "enniez" (Leiden, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This blu-ray is absolutely worth buying. The concert is taped on a kind of IMAX tape, which means that for a concert from 1983 the quality is extremely high!
If you switch on the comments of Brian May and Roger Taylor in the subtitles, you get an interesting insight in what's actually happening on the stage.
Turns out that the fact that the concert was being taped was quite annoying for the band and that a lot of numbers were being played faster than usual.
They also mention that this is one of the last concerts with just the four of them, and with Fred playing the piano instead of a fifth person. Of course is's delightfull to hear and see Fred playing the piano. The entire concert is very good, with a few less known numbers as well.
The Live Aid bonus section is also great, you only see the two bits when Queen was playing, but I can imagine that Bob Geldoff said they were the best band playing that day. Buy this concert, I promise you you won't regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Rock Montreal & Live Aid (2DVD) [2007] (DVD)
it was brilliant, I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sep 2014
Great film. Thanks for everthing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
This review is from: Queen Rock Montreal & Live Aid (2DVD) [2007] (DVD)
Just the greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Rock Montreal & Live Aid (2DVD) [2007] (DVD)
For Queen addicts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert but the Audio is not 5.1!, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Rock Montreal & Live Aid (2DVD) [2007] (DVD)
The Concert is a good one to watch it. Just do not expect lot of visual effects or different angles (know that it is a concert recorded more than 30 years ago!). The only problem that the audio in the first DVD (The main concert in Montreal) does not work properly: There is no audio coming out the center speaker when played in Dolby 5.1! I changed the DVD for a new one and the new one had also the same problem. I played the DVD in a different player and also with a different amplifier, but the result was the same: the center speaker won't deliver sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 25 Sep 2011
By 
Robert Willington (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was very impressed with this seller due to the accurate description and the speed of dispatched. This should make a fantastic gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1* Harsh, but So Many Better Choices Available, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: Queen Rock Montreal & Live Aid (2DVD) [2007] (DVD)
1* is perhaps harsh for a below average concert from a superb live band, but this is poor by Queen stadards and there are a multitude of alternative options and any of the ones I've seen are infinitely better. If you're a collector this should not put you off - Sheer Heart Attack which is the last song of the main set is stupendous but was the only highlight for me. The main problem for me (and at least 4 other reviewers below) was an unresponsive crowd. 'Fans' in the front row looked bored perhaps leading to a lack of spontaneity from the band. Like at least one other, I'm also uncomfortable with this being sold with 20 (admittedly fabulous) minutes from Live Aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality sound - Rock Montreal & Live Aid [Blu-Ray] [2008] [2007], 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointing for Blu-Ray, the sound and Freddy's voice very low and flat - no depth. Do not recommend if choosing for quality volume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame on you Montreal!, 30 Dec 2010
Great gig, poor poor band when it comes to the audience. Was it at the Montreal Morgue? Superb footage, great fantastic sound. I really think Montreal as a whole should be ashamed and swear an oath in unison, never EVER to be soo stiff and drab for anyone or anyones who pour out there hearts in front of them. And to swear to raise their children to be dancers, and in the name of Freddie to SHAKE it if they HEAR it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen Rock Montreal & Live Aid (2DVD) [2007]
£17.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews