Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TWO PEAS IN A POD
I have to say I quite enjoyed this double bill, having watched both movies in one sitting. They make a good pairing, as both were written for the screen by Pat Fielder, produced by Jules V.Levy and Arthur Gardner and directed by Paul Landres. Gerald Fried also composed the music for them. Having been released in 1958 and 1957 respectively, they are not full of blood and...
Published on 10 Oct 2009 by C. Kingswell

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent print.
It really is one of the best monochrome transfers from films of this period (the mid-late 50's) that I've seen. It is very sharp throughout on both these films. Subtitles are also provided. They both have the same writer/director/producer team.

The Return Of Dracula had, or has, a certain cachet, not quite cult, but a fond respect ffrom horror movie fans...
Published on 13 Sep 2008 by Ian Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TWO PEAS IN A POD, 10 Oct 2009
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of Dracula & Vampire [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have to say I quite enjoyed this double bill, having watched both movies in one sitting. They make a good pairing, as both were written for the screen by Pat Fielder, produced by Jules V.Levy and Arthur Gardner and directed by Paul Landres. Gerald Fried also composed the music for them. Having been released in 1958 and 1957 respectively, they are not full of blood and gore, but rely more on characterisation and a well-told story.
'The Return Of Dracula' ( aka 'The Curse Of Dracula' ) stars Francis Lederer in the title role, who comes to stay with a family in a small American town, posing as their European cousin. His intention , of course, is to make vampires of them. Francis Lederer certainly looks the part and he has the right accent, having been born in Czechoslovakia.
'The Vampire' ( aka 'Mark Of The Vampire' ) stars John Beal as a small-town American physician who rather stupidly swallows some pills entrusted to him by a scientist who has just died in mysterious circumstances. The effect of the pills is to turn him into a blood-sucking vampire who kills his victims at night. The storyline is really more Dr.Jekyll and Mr.Hyde than Dracula. The excellent Kenneth Tobey plays the town sheriff.
These movies are in black and white and in widescreen. The quality is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent print., 13 Sep 2008
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of Dracula & Vampire [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It really is one of the best monochrome transfers from films of this period (the mid-late 50's) that I've seen. It is very sharp throughout on both these films. Subtitles are also provided. They both have the same writer/director/producer team.

The Return Of Dracula had, or has, a certain cachet, not quite cult, but a fond respect ffrom horror movie fans. Unfortunately it hasn't worn very well and, while for the period it was moderately chilling, it now seems stiff and mannered. I've also come to hate (the portrayal of) 50's teens in these horror movies with a vengeance. I'm surprised the kids at the time didn't burn down the cinema for the patronising way in which they were presented (unless American teens really were like that).

The Vampire is pretty tame and everyone in the cast behaves with remarkable stupidity when it's blatantly obvious who the killer is.

Still, what a great transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two good old spookies for the price of one., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of Dracula & Vampire [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you are into the old black and white horror's you should enjoy watching these two films.
They are not scary as such but good little films to curl up in bed with the lights out. They are not as good as the best of the old Hammer films or the great Universal's but still worth a watch and to add to your collection. They are both very clear prints with no scratches or sound loss, Good acting performances and different slants on the Dracula and Vampire films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Curiosity with Atmosphere, 14 Nov 2014
This review is from: Return of Dracula & Vampire [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I need to say that I have only seen 'Return of Dracula' elsewhere but maybe my review of the film will help someone. It's quite interesting and part of a US response to Hammer's success I guess. It is much less bloody (black and white) and we have a 'toothless' vampire (Francis Lederer, who was in Pandora's Box in 1929 with Louise Brooks). It quite impressively builds up a weird tension on a very low budget.There are two or three impressive shocks and a brooding atmosphere. Not painful to watch at all. Clearly (I think) saying something (rather late in the cycle) about an alien ideology potentially threatening 'the American way'. Decent performances with Lederer (a bit like Joseph Cotten in 'Shadow of a Doubt') fixing on his niece as his prey.Short and efficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of Dracula & Vampire [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid little "shockers"!, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of Dracula & Vampire [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Two surprisingly good low budget horror movies receive excellent transfers in this double bill dvd release. The acting and direction is rather better than what we have come to expect from "schlock" of this period and although certainly not "classics" both movies are entertaining and recommended for horror fans who were just too young to catch them when they were first screened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FAIRLY GOOD VALUE, 1 July 2013
By 
John Kennedy "Tracks Galore" (Drogheda, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of Dracula & Vampire [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
TWO VAMPIRE FILMS IN THIS PACKAGE. RETURN OF DRACULA CAN STILL CHILL YOU AFTER ALL THESE YEARS. VAMPIRE IS ALSO GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed Time long ago, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of Dracula & Vampire [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
They don't make em like this anymore Good thing or Bad? you choice no what you like and Hell to the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Return of Dracula & Vampire [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£3.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews