Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Dont forget you can get off the conveyor"
While virtually everyone's been wetting themselves about the Artic Monkeys second album Reverend And The Makers have snuck up on the rails and produced an album that's roughly about fifty times as enjoyable as the Sheffield moppets effort. RATM may not have the snaky post punk or maybe its now punk edge of the Artic Monkeys but they know how to write songs that sink...
Published on 15 Oct 2007 by russell clarke

versus
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please let me off this conveyer..........
I was really looking forward to this album, there was the Arctic Monkeys links, the hype, the bravado etc and god was I disappointed. It starts well enough with The State of Things, The Machine and then the storming single Heavyweight Champion....but it all goes a bit wrong from there. Samey tunes, more lyrics about going out, getting girls, having an argument with 'yer...
Published on 5 Dec 2007 by D. Fickling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Dont forget you can get off the conveyor", 15 Oct 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The State Of Things (Audio CD)
While virtually everyone's been wetting themselves about the Artic Monkeys second album Reverend And The Makers have snuck up on the rails and produced an album that's roughly about fifty times as enjoyable as the Sheffield moppets effort. RATM may not have the snaky post punk or maybe its now punk edge of the Artic Monkeys but they know how to write songs that sink irresistibly into the grey stuff rather than skitter annoyingly round the cranium before disappearing forgettabley into the ether.
There is a link between the two bands of course. The Reverend John McClure has previously been in two other bands, the first named Judan Suki along with Alex Turner. The Second - 1984 is referred to in the famous Monkeys lyrics "dancing to electro-pop like a robot from 1984" and "I bet you look good on the dance floor". Alex Turner even plays and co-writes "The Machine" and provides guitar on "Sex With The Ex" Thankfully that's all they have in common .RATM are a far more playful , engaging and esoteric experience. There are elements of ska, pop, punk and even electonica in the 12 songs here. Funky fluid bass lines vie with steely glowering keyboards and razor wire guitars and blimey there is even a violin on the sky scrapingly melodious "Armchair Detective".
There are some great songs sung with a slight sneer but never in an over affected manner that can rapidly becomes as irritating as a blue bottle in a light fitting. "Heavyweight Champion Of the World" is anthemic but don't let that put you off and it s by no means the only track on The State Of Things that could qualify in the anthem stakes. The title track like..... well any song on the album is centred around some societal or everyday event but has a towering epic quality that belies its kitchen sink origins." Bandits" even has the audacity to have an internal dialogue going on round a steaming carousel of a tune.
The delicate tingling guitar refrain of "Sex With The Ex" provides pretty contrast as do the vocals of Jon's girlfriend, Laura Manuel, who provides occasional balanced purity to McClure's severe constructive diatribes. This particularly applies to excellent latest single He Said He Loved Me with a caustic duet telling the story of a heartbroken teenager who's been dumped by an older man.
Only occasionally does it pall -"What The Milkman Saw" is energetic enough but lacks the sing-a- long impact of the albums strongest songs and while the dub influenced "Sundown On The Empire" is a laudable attempt to shoe horn a dissimilar genre into the mix it's a rather mundane attempt. The ska -influenced "Miss Brown" shows it how its done. Overall this is a sneeringly confident debut album with depth , essence and most importantly tunes that could thaw a concrete golem. As the zippy almost techno based "The Machine " says "Don't, forget you can get off the conveyor" .Time to take that leap of faith now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant surprise, 13 Jan 2008
This review is from: The State Of Things (Audio CD)
I bought this cd after hearing "heavyweight champion of the world" while shopping in HMV, never heard of them before and not really my type of music either. After listening to it a few times i am pleasantly surprised!! The first 3 tracks are really great but then it seems to go down hill a bit but they are all great tracks. Reminds me of Preston from the ordinary boys but better!! Well can't be worse can it?? I've got heavyweight champ as my ringtone now which has people asking" who's that mate" when my phone rings in pubs etc so I'm spreading the word folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top album., 15 Sep 2007
This review is from: The State Of Things (Audio CD)
Don't listen to M. Pullman "clown" who's quite obviously a someone with what seem's a very large chip on their shoulder this is a great debut album 'warts and all' from a young man (and his band) who's shot to stardom in a little over 5 months while ruffling a few feathers along the way, and good on him.

In the words of The Guardian's review of the album 'Jon McClure is the self-aggrandising, Sheffield-bred Reverend, and with his backing group, the Makers, he works through the same poetry of beers, blokes and birds as the Arctic Monkeys (Alex Turner even contributes vocals to the chorus of The Machine). Yet McClure has also tapped into the Steeel City's hard-edged electro heritage, filling the album with the kind of gritty electric pulses that make the swaggering Heavyweight Champion Of The World, The State Of Things and the laid-back strut of Sundown On The Empire so vital. Things may go awry on He Said He Loved Me, where comedy Essex girls cheep-cheep the grating refrain, but as an updated take on the Specials' equal disgust and infatuation with urban life, it's impressive' 4/5 Leonie Cooper.

It's an album that demands your attention and one you should hear so you can form your own opinion - there'll always be detractors but in most cases I reckon people will rate this album highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it it's worth a listen, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The State Of Things (Audio CD)
They ought to be better know the music is fun and revealing of modern society it is humourous and poinient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class debut!, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first album by Jon "The Reverend" McClure's Reverend and the makers is one of the great debut albums of all time, giving a critical and comprehensive view of English society and in particular Sheffield, The State Of Things is just that, a view of the state of everyday life in the north.
An album not to be missed, a true Indie/alternative classic including the popular songs Open Your Window and HeavyWeight Champion of The World.
Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great band, great sound and great live., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The State Of Things (MP3 Download)
I have seen the band twice and each time they electrify the hall. Lets not start over analysing the lyrics and comparing this band and others. Great tunes with banging bass lines and lyrics that reflect the thoughts, opinions and actions of normal people. I can't wait until they come to the south coast again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Great, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The State Of Things (Audio CD)
Think Arctic Monkeys with electronic synthesisers.

It's catchy, cynical and original.

You will have this on repeat and going round your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 16 Feb 2013
This review is from: The State Of Things (Audio CD)
Amazing album, this is Jon Mclure at his most eloquent. Great live band, go see if you get the chance. Cd arrived earlier than stated. Great service yet again from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The State Of Things (Audio CD)
Amazing Sheffield Band! I'll probably buy their new album. Well worth it. . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The state of things, 16 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. D. Lever (Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The State Of Things (Audio CD)
I play this album and their second album often. Both are excellent - I enjoy the music and the lyrics. Reverend and the Makers deserve much more success.
I look forward to their third album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The State Of Things
The State Of Things by Reverend and the Makers (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews