Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Furry Belter........
At first, I was a bit underwhelmed by this effort. Im a massive SFA fan, and on first rotation, it seemed a bit of a let down. But I really should have known better. I shouldnt have doubted them. Its a cracker. Fairly short by their standards, but still delivers everything you'd expect from the furries.

Its actually a lot more closer in style to their early...
Published on 31 Aug 2007 by Mr. MJ Spitty

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed bag, mostly good
This is another decent album from SFA, and overall it has a much more robust, 'Fuzzy Logic' type sound to it than the predominantly acoustic nature of their previous few albums. Having said that, the best song here - "The Gift That Keeps Giving" - is right up there with the most serene moments on 'Rings Around The World'. A beautiful slow song with great harmonies, it...
Published on 12 Oct 2007 by black-syrup


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Furry Belter........, 31 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. MJ Spitty "pinkmoon74" (Wallsend, near Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
At first, I was a bit underwhelmed by this effort. Im a massive SFA fan, and on first rotation, it seemed a bit of a let down. But I really should have known better. I shouldnt have doubted them. Its a cracker. Fairly short by their standards, but still delivers everything you'd expect from the furries.

Its actually a lot more closer in style to their early albums as opposed to the layered lushness of Love Kraft, or the phsycadelic oddessy of Rings Around the World. The songs are main priority. 'Gateway Song', to quote the lyrics, "takes us up nicely to the harder stuff", 'Run Away' has that lovely sweeping melody were all in love with and 'Show Your Hand' is just a classic pop song. Other highlights include the singlong shout of 'Neo Consumer (very Fuzzy Logic) and the impossibly catchy 'Baby Ate My Eightball'.

I disagree with the review by Boris Vita below. Whats the problem with a slow song? Have you never heard 'Fire In My Heart', 'Hello Sunshine' and 'Gwreiddiau Dwfn/Mawrth Oer Ar Y Blaned Neifion'? Theyre all classics and slow as you like. The slower songs on here, like 'The Gift That Keeps Giving', 'Carbon Dating' and 'Let The Wolves Howl At The Moon' are top notch, and offer a pleasant meander through SFA lovliness.

Overall, this album offers everything you'd expect from the furries; top quality songs, catchy hooks and gorgeous melody. If youre an SFA fan, you probably already got the album and know what im talking about. I just cant see a decline in quality in 8 albums. If youre an SFA virgin, this would be a good place to start. Once theyre in your life will be so much better with that Super Furry glow!

SFA OK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply F'ing Amazing, 23 Sep 2007
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
Super Furry Animals return (have they ever been away?) with their eighth studio album, Hey Venus! and - let me cut straight to the case - it's wonderful. This is probably one of their least experimental albums and, although there have been dissenting murmurs amongst serious SFA fans that they're 'playing it too safe', I think this approach has paid dividends on one of their most consistent albums to date.

They are on top of their psychedelic form with this album chock-full of instant catchy melodies and close-knit Beach Boys-style harmonies and genuinely original songs which sound as if you've known them your whole life. It probably has more in common to their earlier efforts than their last couple of albums, but still has a slightly different and distinctly softer edge than anything they've done before.

This album isn't likely to make headlines, win the Mercury Music Prize or feature in many 'album of the year' lists in a couple of months, but it probably deserves all those things, but because of their longevity, this release will probably pass all but the long-time SFA fan and the person dedicated to seeking out new, great music by. Their loss, I say. This is a brilliant album, full of warmth, love, fun, strangeness and eccentricity and one of the best I've heard this year.

Highlights: The magnificent Run Away (one of the best songs they've ever released), the immensely catchy Show Your Hand and the gorgeous The Gift That Keeps Giving.

Although those are my highlights, there isn't a bad song on this album. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oh yeah..., 23 Aug 2007
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
After the last 2 albums, Phantom Power and Love Kraft, I had pretty much accepted that SFA were moving irretrievably into mellower, less catchy/commercial sounding music. While the aforementioned LP's had some undeniably brilliant tunes on them I tend to prefer the brighter, more colourful material from their earlier days. So I'm made up with Hey Venus! To me it seems to be a real nod towards the experimental sounds of Guerilla and Radiator-era SFA, with a slightly more mature feel.

Obviously everyone has their own tastes and the Super furries seem to divide opinion among their own following (in terms of best albums etc) more than anyone, but I'd say this album only has a couple of weak tracks and these are more than made up for by the sheer fun and bouyancy of the majority. Indeed, from the idiosyncratic intro and (possible future single?) Runaway, I don't think the album stumbles until track 6 - Into the Night (which some people cite as a high-point so each to their own!). Then the brilliant, pulsating Baby Ate my 8 Ball kicks in and everything is great again.

After this Carbon Dating and Suckers are slower, the former being a wistful atmospheric arrangement. Both tunes soar around your speakers and show SFA at their mature musical best. I don't particularly rate the 2 closing tunes (Battersey Odyssey + Let the Wolves Howl at the Moon) but I'd personally disagree with the reviewer that considers the second half of the album to be a snooze-fest. The pace does drop but I think the melodies are strong enough to prevent it becoming tired or repetitive.

Anyway, it's all a matter of opinion but I don't think any fan of SFA will be disappointed with this offering. It's also accessible and "pop" enough that I would recommend to any casual browsers looking to buy their first Superfurry album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Furry Vision, 22 July 2007
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
I've listened to a promo of the full album and The Furries have produced yet another class album.

Baby Ate My Eight Ball, Carbon Dating, The Gift That Keeps on Giving, Run Away, Suckers, Into The Night and Neo Consumer are all top tunes. The rest is highly rated as well.

My only fault would be that it's not long enough but apparently they've got more albums on the way.

All other bands should take a good look at what SFA have done during their long illustrious career. Who else could claim to have such a fantastic varied array of albums.

The vision for the future is bright and Furry!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Under rated SFA continue to excite the ears....., 6 Nov 2007
By 
G. Hathorn "NTFH" (Sunny Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
It seems that every super furries fan has a different favourite, but for me Slow life on Phantom Power is the track that captures their brilliance best. Whether it is for the rockier crowd pleaser or the beautifully crafted ballad I don't think there is a band in the world that is as underrated as the sublime Welsh Wizards.

Hey Venus! seems to me to have been rushed out compared to some of their other work as the quality of the first 4 tracks isn't quite carried through to the second half (Baby ate my eight ball being the exception). Every album has a track or two that doesn't quite fit, Valet Parking, Mario man, Oi Frango and Psyclone! and about half of Guerilla, and for that Hey Venus! has Neo-consumer. The delciously crafted journey through invention and melody is interrupted by Neo-Consumer and Into the night, however into the night is good where neo-consumer could have been written by one of their also ran contemporaries, a little too mindless by SFA standards.

The album is good but not their best, however as songbook kind of proves if you want to mix and match between the albums it doesn't quite work, so I'd recommend treating yourself to the full back catalog and just skip those tracks that don't work. I'll give it 5/5 because every SFA album is better than the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, 2 May 2009
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
A lot of people seem to regard this album as subpar because the songs are simple and the band took a back to basics approach with it. I'm not really sure why that is, since the band's intent was to make a simple pop record and when measured against that you've got to say this record was a big success. Personally I think it is even better than their new one which just came out a few weeks back.

What you get is 11 short and sweet pop postcards, many of them framed as homages to the pop greats of the past (the Spector aping Run-Away or the classic soul of The Gift That Keeps Giving) while others take their cue from more exotic fare (Carbon Dating sounds like it could be a long lost Italian spy movie theme).

The record has been sequenced in a way that tells a story, but it's one that can easily be ignored since none of the songs explicity link up with the others. A song about running away from a relationship is followed by one about settling down with someone new, which is then in turn followed by a song about birth. At this point the album takes a turn for the hedonistic, the tempo increases and Gruff turns his attention to consumerism, partying and a tragic drug-related infant death (yeah, really). The final act is again slower and the mood becomes bitter and self-reflective before the redemptive and soulful finale of Let The Wolves Howl At The Moon.

The production is fantastic and all of the songs sound absolutely amazing. The instrumentation, arrangements and mood all perfectly match up to the lyrical content. Show Your Hand goes from summery to autumnal, fitting with lyrics that appear to be about settling down with someone and making a commitment. Run-Away deals with heartache by lifting the classic Spector girl group formula, while Baby Ate By Eightball (can you guess what this is about?) is frantic and hysterical with Bunf's ambulance siren vocals.

There are people on here selling this for new for under 2 quid, and you can probably get it in Fopp for a fiver these days. Buy this record! Just don't expect it to be something it is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutly brilliant, 29 Dec 2007
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
I will come clean and state that I am a big fan of this band, but I must admit that I was a little disappointed with this album when I first heard it back in the summer. It did not have any of those rock/techno/dub hybrids that this amazing band have produced in the past (slow life, piccalo snare, Receptacle For The Respectable etc). However after months of listening it has become clear that this is the most perfectly concise album that they have yet produced. There are no tracks that you will want to skip and it flows perfectly. I cannot understand people who complain about the ballads. The band have always written fantastic slow, lush songs so why would they write an album of fast paced rockers?

Anyhow, this for me is the best album of 2007 and everybody should buy it and make this much over looked band more well known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best band in the world, 24 Aug 2007
By 
T. Milner (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
I couldn't disagree more with Boris' review. "Slow junk"??!! Mellow is what Furries do best, from time immerorial ('If You Don't Want Me To Destroy You' through to 'Mountain People', 'Demons', 'Run Christian Run'), and this has their pure, warm AM sound down to perfection. What was 'Mwng' if not the mellowest moment of their career?? This is a band so on form its painful. I have been listening to a promo of this for two months now; its not even officially out and I can't wait for the next one. I have never hammered an SFA album this much in such a short space of time. I have been with The Furries since their first releases on Ankst, and they haven't put a foot wrong so far. Even their inconsitencies are consistent.

Quite simply, this is a must-have for old and new fans. There is no band currently around anywhere who are given the free rein the Furries have to experiment, and the beauty is that they never take advantage of this and over-indulge themselves, and with this side tied to Gruff's eye for a heartbreaking melody, they have made their best album since the last one!

The album is definitely a grower, but once it hooks you on the third listen, there's no getting out of its grip. 'Gateway Song' is a great opening, which lasts about 30 seconds, and echoes the opener of 'Mwng' ('Drygioni'), which also lasts just over a minute. Trust me - it sounds nothing like Bob Seger or "some '70s stuff like Huey Lewis" (apart from the fact that Huey Lewis was an '80s artist). 'Suckers' is the classic here, very closely followed by 'Carbon Dating','The Gift That Keeps Giving', and 'Show Your Hand' (this record's 'Hello Sunshine'), and the whole album is again surrounded by the spirit of The Beach Boys during their most creative period ('66-'71, but specifically the latter part of that period, where 'Surf's Up' followed 'Sunflower' and their pop nous gelled perfectly with their desire to make serious social comment).

But I'm getting carried away, because this is SFA's own sound, and unmistakeably so, and I feel sorry for Boris because by saying he's not going to listen again, he's going to miss out on what will be this year's finest album by a country mile. They just get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Super Furries Go Pop!, 16 July 2007
By 
B.A.S. (watford, herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
Love Kraft was a great album. Slightly proggy, slightly contemplative and full of mellow lengthy tunes. Like a fine, er, Welsh wine, vintage SF from 2006. The acoustic Gruff solo album was just as good.

Hey Venus! is as different as you could get. Shiny, new, bright, funny, uplifting. The "!" in the title says it all.
Most of the tracks are fast paced space-pop/rock. Gruff's spoken Intros to the first - and the second track! - giving it all a wonderful irony.

Baby Ate My Eightball, Neo Consumer and Carbon Dating are their best pop moments since who knows when.
But the slow tracks are just as memorable. The gospel like Gift That Keeps Giving, Let the Wolves howl at the Moon and most of all Suckers, possibly the best, and simplest and LOL funny, social commentary SFA have ever done. "Suckers on the Tennis Courts." Genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comeback of the year, 26 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. J. Milton "jambo234" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hey Venus! (Audio CD)
If a new, enthralling band you’ve followed for what seemed like an eternity finally make it big - introducing themselves to a wider audience and a glorious future, apart from feeling the odd bit of jealousy, it’s a somewhat satisfying experience. But it can lead you to forget quite how great you can feel when your old favourites return with all matches burning, on their finest form. That can be an even better feeling. It’s been a year in which those priceless comebacks have kept us waiting and waiting. They’ve either been hiding in the corners or they’re just not coming out to play. But if you’ve been refreshing Radiohead’s Dead Air Space for months on end only to find a blog post from Mr.Yorke riddled with….riddles every now and again, here’s a tip: Forget all and just listen to this.

For this is a comeback. Super Furry Animals have, purposely or not, shied away from the mainstream side of our endless musical world for the last decade or so. Album after album, this being their eighth, despite the hundreds of thousands of fans who climb on board each time, they’re still unknown to many. Things aren’t going to change – new single ‘Show Your Hand’ didn’t reach the top 40 in its first week, not that the band would care. But the concerning thing is, how can this happen? Despite the psychedelic influences still making themselves obnoxiously clear, each project the band works on comes out perkier and more poppy. But it’s not reaching the conscience of your everyday British citizen who likes to get all the best new music via the helping hand of Jo Whiley every afternoon.

The band simply won’t care though and this is the most important thing. They’re having fun, and no matter what comes out through their music and no matter what they get back, their smiles won’t fade. So the substance inside the record contains SFA’s unique technique of being weird yet danceable, obvious drug references and a song to match its title, ‘Baby Ate My Eightball’. The album moves carefully through a cycle of a couple of in-your-face anthems into a couple of slower numbers, and the cycle repeats until near the end, introducing us to an excess of sleepiness, which is the only true letdown of the record. Nothing here is too unpredictable, and perhaps the most surprising thing you’ll discover here is the fact that these Welshmen are still making damn good music. With experience comes a lack of ideas unfortunately for some bands, but that curse hasn’t decided to strike this band yet.

The opener ‘Gateway Song’ spans 43 seconds, enough time for you to put on your seatbelt and just about realise that you could be in for a ride. It’s fitting, an ideal introduction that probably describes the album better than I will in these several hundred words. The single, with its soothingly bright chorus, fills you with glee and leaves you swaying graciously with the nearest musical instrument you can find. As for the edgier moments, they make the quieter songs seem insignificant. ‘Noo Consumer’ is bonkers, makes no sense but will get you off your seat, eventually. Leading you towards ‘Into The Night’, sitars at hand, widening their influences. It’s another ambitious pop song that works. The highlight of the record quite possibly, and where the background sounds of the verse could be mistaken for the better days of Morcheeba, the chorus wipes away all your doubts with powerful, poignant guitars.

So there’s only one thing left to explain, those stoner references. It’s obvious that the members of SFA did not talk to Frank - instead going a bit gung-ho, but it’s lazy to call ‘Hey Venus!’ a drug-fuelled, drug-based record. ‘Let The Wolves Howl At Moon’ has the lyrics ‘Took the train to the city/ Packed a gram of this beauty’ which all but confirms those influences, but all credit to Gruff Rhys here, whose voice soars like a husky angel, finishing the record with a touch of beauty and sensitivity. So maybe the drugs do work for this band, because it’ll be a toughie for anyone to beat this for a sensual album closer, drugged-up or not.

The only serious weakness that lies above the rest is the odd tracklisting. Despite it starting well with an all-out-attack approach, the final four songs are all slow movers. So don’t get too carried away when the jubilant and racey ‘Baby Ate My Eightball’ finishes, hoping for just that bit more action. Every single song has its moment though, and you don’t have to search for it. You won’t find an easier album to get into this year, whether you’re a loyal fan to SFA or not. Call it a comeback – a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hey Venus!
Hey Venus! by Super Furry Animals (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews