Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robyn the dance crown from her pretenders.
The chances are that most of you are here due to the massive success of With every Heartbeat, the single getting rotation play on Radio. But don't be fooled. This is no dance/trance lite album as the etheral single suggests.
Robyn isn't afraid to break out the dirty side, and most of this album is an example of just what Fergie from the Black Eyed Peas wished she...
Published on 19 Aug 2007 by Popbloke

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Robyn
Got CD because I liked some of the tracks from the charts..
but not the nice surprise of: wow all the rest is fab too...
plus, not good if you have small children in the car, lyric alert..
Published on 29 May 2009 by Nina


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love it, 16 Sep 2007
By 
B. Pugh (?) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
i love this single , the only bad point is that the tracks are shorter than i had expected.

anyway a amazing cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Robyn, 29 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
Got CD because I liked some of the tracks from the charts..
but not the nice surprise of: wow all the rest is fab too...
plus, not good if you have small children in the car, lyric alert..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Robyn!!, 18 Aug 2007
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
ive been a fan for 12 years...how she tops album after album i dont know but this is something you've never heard before and you wont hear it anywhere else....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very mixed bag - including a few good pop moments, 8 Oct 2007
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
Having read the majority of reviews of this release I was looking forward to hearing a real 'gem', but to be honest, although there are some great tracks on here, overall it was a little disappointing. The opening "CV" is dire and dated (but at least you can skip it easily), the sort of thing you listen to once and then avoid at all cost (just narrative and sound effects, to introduce Robyn). "K Bitches" and "Cobrastyle" kick off in 2-step/manga mode and although the instrumentation is often interesting, the lyrics and melodic weakness really show up. Things do improve by the time we get to "Bum Like You" (a lot better song than the title might imply) and the gorgeous "With Every Heartbeat". "Crash and Burn Girl", "Robotboy" are ok, whilst "Be Mine" and "Handle Me" are strong. To be fair this album improves as it goes on, maybe the opener just made a bad impression that took 2 or 3 tracks to wear off! The closing ballad is exceptional, albeit followed by the 'UK bonus (joke?) track', a hastily thrown-together cover of Prince's "Jack U Off". Why this wasn't truly a hidden track is anyone's guess, as it is also pretty poor (one for completists only, perhaps). You may therefore want to skip tracks 1 and the closer in future, and maybe "random play" might create a more varied listening experience (as the first few tracks are quite samey). When Robyn comes up with a good vocal melody then she really does shine in the pop arena, but the material is a bit like Gwen Stefani's first album (ie a hotch-potch of styles that almost tries too hard to appeal to all, even though there are some real high-points). Certainly one to watch, but I doubt any further singles will get even close to "Heartbeat's" chart-topping position. Not bad, but could've been much better, hence 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best all rounder since Savage Garden & Roxette, 9 Jan 2008
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
This is the best all-round perfectly balanced album I've heard since the Savage Garden albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Miss Direction, 29 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
I am very disappointed. With Every Heartbeat is a classic pop song. No matter how many times I've heard it, it can still bring a smile to my face. On this basis I bought the album and I'm not happy. I have read reviews in the various press liking her to Madonna in the "Like a Prayer" days. This is because a lot of the songs use the same lyrical and melodic pattern. They actually do sound like Madonna. I suppose that isn't a valid enough criticism but, this is, it's American mass produced music for the asses.

It could have been an important thematic and beautiful album. If the rest of the tracks had followed the theme of "With Every Heartbeat", it would have been a genuine classic. How do I know? That song will still be played and enjoyed in years to come but this album will not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible!!!, 5 Jan 2009
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
I had heard 'With Every Heartbeat' and thought it was an ok song. Then just before Woolworths shut this CD was at a fiver plus 50% discount. A bargain i thought, how wrong i was! The lyrics are so banal, you just know what's coming next. It really is the worst album i've bought in a long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track)
Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) by Robyn (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews