Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robyn the dance crown from her pretenders.
The chances are that most of you are here due to the massive success of With every Heartbeat, the single getting rotation play on Radio. But don't be fooled. This is no dance/trance lite album as the etheral single suggests.
Robyn isn't afraid to break out the dirty side, and most of this album is an example of just what Fergie from the Black Eyed Peas wished she...
Published on 19 Aug 2007 by Popbloke

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Robyn
Got CD because I liked some of the tracks from the charts..
but not the nice surprise of: wow all the rest is fab too...
plus, not good if you have small children in the car, lyric alert..
Published on 29 May 2009 by Nina


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robyn the dance crown from her pretenders., 19 Aug 2007
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
The chances are that most of you are here due to the massive success of With every Heartbeat, the single getting rotation play on Radio. But don't be fooled. This is no dance/trance lite album as the etheral single suggests.
Robyn isn't afraid to break out the dirty side, and most of this album is an example of just what Fergie from the Black Eyed Peas wished she was. With an Electro Rap tinge to many of the tracks this comes as a refreshing surprise. The single sits well within the album, and it is nice to see that she didn't repeat the same formula ad nauseum throughout.
Overall this is a nicely paced album, she obviously has a good voice but can also cut her tempo down to a rap/talk. This suits the bouncy beats that run throughout the record and ensure you will be moving in some way regardless.
This will doubtless be a massively successful venture if the people into the single buy this release. Deservedly so, a great dance album from a considerible talent. Just don't be fooled by the tender single, the bonus track is Chas and Dave meets the White Stripes singing about the joys of giving hand pleasure to someone in a variety of venues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Version of Robyn's latest album so far..., 26 Aug 2007
By 
Roderick D. Escue "radiorod.com" (Indianapolis, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
I've been wanting this CD for a while. I had trouble finding one even after this 3rd version of it's release (The Island Records Group, with U.K. bonus track "Jack U Off"). If you can find one, GET IT! I love it. I've been a fan of Robyn since her U.S. debut "do you know what it takes" aired on R&B & Hip Hop Radio. Only one criticism: "Handle Me" is cencored. I didn't expect that, since "Should Have Known" contains the "F" word. I do know that "Handle Me" will be the next single released, so HOPEFULLY they will include the ORIGINAL unedited version on there for people that are not offended easily. I'll be sure to get it too, because it's a great song as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elfin Achievement, 23 Feb 2008
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
The plaudits are already stacked high and Robyn has every right to be both pleased and proud. Her new album is a veritable jewel box of slick, accomplished, 21st century synth pop. She wears her influences affectionately on her sleeve - 80's Madonna rubs shoulders with vintage Kylie - without ever losing her own ground.
Her collaborations with writer/producer Klas Ahlund and sundry talented others has resulted in a collection of catchy, witty, laugh out loud, sing-along, dance-along gems. Indeed it's hard to have favorites with material as strong as this.
"Be Mine", "Crash and Burn Girl", "Robotboy" and "Should Have Known" will all have your toes twitching; the anthemic "With Every Heartbeat" is broken gloriously apart by the string quartet at its' pulsing centre and the gorgeous "Eclipse" gives a small glimpse of something more vulnerable in this beautiful woman's elfin heart.
A fine achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The closest to perfect I've encountered in a while., 14 Feb 2008
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
I wasn't expecting much from this album to be honest, I bought it because of how much I loved "Be Mine". However, the rest of the album is AMAZING. Curriculum Vitae is just the introduction to the album, but there are some witty lyrics in there, it's just a guy talking about how amazing Robyn is and comparing her to other famous people. Konichiwa Bitches and Cobrastyle really surprised me, I'd never heard Konichiwa Bitches before and I love the style and sound of the song, it's Robyn rapping over a fantastic futuristic beat. Cobrastyle is pretty much in the same vein as Konichiwa Bitches with the fact that there isn't really any singing but the beat is amazing! I don't normally like electro-pop but these two songs blew me away.

Next is "Handle Me" and you pretty much know the deal with that. A good song, has actually grown on me a lot, still don't see why that one word is still censored though. Next is my personal favourite on the album - "Bum Like You". Once again an AMAZING beat, and I absolutely love the chorus. I never realised how beautiful Robyn's voice is until I heard this song.

The rest of the album is also fantastic, I have nothing but praise for it so I'll just focus on the two tiny downsides on this album - "Eclipse" and "Anytime You Like". Earlier I stated that Robyn had a beautiful voice, and this is very true, but unfortunately in my eyes she doesn't really carry off "Eclipse". It's pretty much the only ballad on the album, and I'm glad because the track is actually quite bland. Nothing groundbreaking at all, even though I could listen to the song, I just find it boring. "Anytime You Like" doesn't really progress throughout the song, Robyn's voice doesn't really change pitch much, I got bored after a minute of it, but all in all an absolutely amazing album. Definitely worth buying the UK version for the cheeky, witty "Jack U Off" - it's short but it's still brilliant and the lyrics put a smile on my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 13 Aug 2007
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
Robyn opens the album with her charm and wit in the ridiculous album intro in which outlandish claims galore are made about the singer and serve to put a smile on your face and gear you up for the equally fun and infectious `Konichiwa Bitches' and "Cobrastyle". It is in these tracks that you will hear Robyn rapping against an assortment of synths and soundbites, tongue firmly in cheek, yet giving most rappers a run for their money. On follows "Handle Me" which is a string laden, electro take on an R&B slow jam with fitting slang, but still maintaining a distinct, sharp lyrical style. "Bum Like You" is a lo-funk affair, with a consistent set of bleeps and beats and is a song about a bloke who is a bit of a bum and yet Robyn cannot resist loving him.

"Be Mine" is an absolutely stunning track and showcases Robyn's emotive voice to perfection. The lyrics are incredibly poignant and I imagine this track will speak to people in the same way "With Every Heartbeat" has captured the hearts (and ears) of the record buying nation. Not a bad word can be uttered for either track, as together they are the pinnacle point of the album. Both combine strings, beats and perfectly crafted lyrical hooks to produce pop perfection.

"Who's That Girl" has a thumping beat and crashing synths that grab you as soon as it begins and a chorus which soon becomes lodged in your head and wills you to sing along. "Crash & Burn Girl" has a pulsating rhythm that Robyn's vocals soar above to deliver the razor-sharp lyrics about a girl who is seemingly a bit of a mess. To me, "Robotboy" is the only lull in the album as it fails to excite me, but I can appreciate that some people would enjoy its delicate sound and caring sentiment. "Eclipse" and album closer "Anytime You Like" bring it down a notch, with stripped down production showcasing Robyn's voice in a near acapella style. The lyrics in both songs are incredibly touching. The emotion definitely comes through in the bittersweet "Should Have Known" and is yet another stand out on the album. The bonus track "Jack U Off" is a Prince cover version that Robyn delivers with sass and style that I'm sure would impress the man himself.

And so, if you are looking to find an album of songs sounding similar to `With Every Heartbeat' you may be disappointed. However, if you are hoping to find a collection of tracks that equal the quality and originality of `With Every Heartbeat' then you have many to choose from here. This album is definitely a contender for album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Thomas Hikin "tomhikin101" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
this is an amazing album. have it on constantly and still nto bored of it. there is a few songs that are not as good as others but they are still good. 'Be Mine!' and 'Handle Me' have potential to be singles. they have videos but its if she will release them over here. an amzing album filled with fun, sorrow and just really good songs. really worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime pop, 15 Aug 2007
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
Robyn's self-titled album is one of the strongest releases of the past five years. The album was originally released in Sweden in 2005, two years later, the album has lost none of the unique sparkle that made it such an interesting, compelling and innovative record. The UK release benefits from the addition of the beautiful "With Every Heartbeat" - the most deserving number one in years - as well as the quirky "Cobrastyle" and Robyn's brilliant cover of Prince's "Jack U Off".

"Robyn" covers all styles, from the shimmering dance of "With Every Heartbeat", the R&B sounds of "Handle Me", the cartoon rap of the hillarious "Konichiwa Bitches" and the straight up pop of album highlight "Be Mine". I defy you not to love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ~Robyn~, 17 Jan 2009
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
Recently purchased Robyn's amazingly successful self titled album from Amazon and i have been nothing but bewildered with her magic.
i love albums with sound and you can tell with my reviews i have a range, and the majority of sounds that i do actually love have been encaptured by Robyn here on this amazing dance epic yet personal album by Robyn.
her self titled album has defined her as a person and reflects how she has reinvented herself as an artist, she was part of Jive records beforehand but she had to compete with fellow famous members Britney Spears, Christina Agguilera,Justin Timberlake etc. so with this album she returned to her roots and became something of an icon entirely different from any of her previous three albums and all the greater for it.
this album has brought her worldwide fame and became the intro to Eupropean legs of Madonna's Sticky and Sweet tour.
this album has been nominated for a Grammy award this year for best dance/electronic album of the year; she is competing against, Cyndi Lauper-Bring Ya To The Brink, Moby-Last Night,Kylie-X and Daft Punk-Alive 2007...it is tough competition(especially with Moby and Cyndi Lauper's efforts this year they are also amazin albums),but i have a feeling that Robyn may reign supreme.
but if not this album is a must have for lovers of music in general and love the unusual and the surreal attitude to music.
Robyn delivers to a bewildering effect here.

stand out tracks-Konichiwa Bitches,Cobrastyle,Handle me, Bum Like You, Be Mine, Every Heartbeat(produced by Kleerup also on Bring Ya To The Brink by Cyndi Lauper),Who's That Girl, Crash and Burn, Robotboy, Eclipse and Should Have Known...so the majority!
extremely recommended for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a totally brilliant suprise, 1 Jan 2008
By 
Miis R. E. Gardner "Rooby" (Essex, uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
I have only listened to this album once the whole way through so far and a few times just to the first few songs. I bought it as a christmas present to myself. I loved her hits heartbeat and you cant handle me. So thought id give the album a pop. And i must say im totally impressed. Its great getting ready music. or feel good songs. Kinda dancy, but singable to. I recomend it if you liked her recent singles. its been put straight onto my mp3 player and will be wat im listening to on the way to uni for a long time!!
Highly recomended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Stop The Music, 12 Aug 2007
By 
K. Gallacher "Th@s MAJOR!" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
This is Robyn's 4th studio album and is her second UK album release, including the singles 'Konichiwa Bitches', 'Be Mine' & 'With Every Heartbeat'. It is the soundtrack to your summer and is the first album in a long time that can finally remind us that 'Pop' is no longer a dirty word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track)
Robyn (UK Edition Bonus Track) by Robyn (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews