Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Singer....New Album, 9 May 2008
By 
B. Pilling (Wigan , North West , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full Circle (Audio CD)
This is the first Album since Drowning Pool got a new singer (Ryan McCombs) to be honest his voice is really different to Dave's and
Jason's so it was a little bit harder to get into this album on the first listen.

Once listened to a couple more times you start to get the old Drowning Pool feeling back. I weren't so keen on their first single "Solders" it just seemed like it was trying to hard to be the new "Bodies". Their second single "Enemy" is properly one of the best songs I've heard in my life, It is pretty clear that Ryan made this song for his old band-mates in SoIL and that he didn't want make any enemies when leaving the band. This is truly one good metal track. Other songs that are worth mentioning are Full Circle , Shame , Reborn ,Reason I'm Alive ,Paralyzed , Upside Down and 37 Stitches.

All in all this is a good album from Drowning Pool. Just the first time you listen to it, it seems very odd. But after a good couple of listens its gets better every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good but no better., 26 July 2007
By 
Christopher Hann (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Full Circle [Us Import] (Audio CD)
New singer and it also seems a new direction. Their third album moves away from where their second album lead. The song Soldiers is the obvious mosh pit radio song (as bodies and step up were from their previous albums) and it's a good song. Catchy with simple lyrics. The other songs vary greatly but none touch on the heavyness of desenstized. Songs like Love x2, Full Circle, Enemy, Shame, Upside Down, Duet & the Billy Idol cover Rebel Yell are good songs. The rest are too.... soft. I think this is a good album and I will listen to it for a while but I believe it to be a step backwards from Desensitized. Buy it for the above songs and it's worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not more of the same, 30 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full Circle (Audio CD)
I used to like Drowning Pool as just another cool band and I expected more of the same with this album, but for my surprise it isn't.

There's no denying that there is a massive jump in musical quality between the previous albums and Full Circle. It keeps a good tempo and as the previous reviewer said, the tracks will hook you. The more I listen to it the more I feel compelled to do it again.

I'm afraid that the old Drowning Pool (a medium-level metal band with the odd good songs) is gone, but I'm happy to see that the new one is a massive jump in quality. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pop Shock, 7 Nov 2007
This review is from: Full Circle (Audio CD)
This is a CD that will grab you immediately. The tracks are taut and have a hook. There is a depth to the tracks and the majority of them sound both original and something else that you just can't place. This is not a bad thing. It sits firmly in my car CD for the home time drive at night on a winding road through the woods, bass up full pumping out some very well produced anthems.

This really is worth a purchase if you like good quality metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full Circle (Audio CD)
Good lp and excellent group . I would highly recommend this and all drowning pool LPs . the price is spot on. And delivery as usual was speedy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reborn a 3rd time!, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full Circle (Audio CD)
This is a superb album! I like the band SOIL and was pleased when Drowning Pool chose Ryan McCombs as there new lead singer for this record. This album sees the band mature musically and features acoustic guitars and solos that adds greatly to the sound of the band. The acoustic driven songs 'Reborn' and 'Paralysed' are good examples of this new direction the band took as this listener really enjoys the sound. But fear not as the usual Drowning Pool guitar riff heavy tracks are present on this album like album opener 'Full Circle', the single 'Enemy' the riff tastic 'Shame' the angsty 'No More' and the heavy rockers 'Love' and 'Duet'.

The Alice In Chains influences are also present on this album such as on the album highlight 'Up Side Down', the acoustic driven 'Paralysed' and the ballad 'Reason im Alive'. The power ballad '37 stitches' (released as a single) is another track that this listener also enjoyed. The only track i'm a bit indifferent too is 'Soldiers' although I appreciate the sentiment and it is an excellent tribute to the bravery that the armed forces go through every day to protect our freedom etc. The album closes with a cover of 'Rebel yell' which, while a good track, is a slightly dissapointing close to the album.

Lyrically its good too, mostly dealing with relationships, standing up against others and standing strong in the face of adversity, all inspiring themes especially if you have had a bad day etc. Ryan McCombs is a fantastic vocalist and he adds much more range and depth than on past Soil releases and is superb fronting Drowning Pool, and C.J Piece (an underated guitarist) provides some subtle guitar solos, great riffs and nice acoustic sounds on this record.

So overall, a much more mature sounding album from this band, gone are the days of Nu- metal and less post-grunge then previous releases, this is a solid hard rock album that should be listened to by all rock lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nu-Soil?, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full Circle (Audio CD)
This drowning pool album picks up pretty much where Soil left off with 'Redefine'. Although I listen to drowning pools earlier work, I bought this album solely because it contains Soils ex front man Ryan Mccombs, and it was well worth the investment!

If you ever liked 'soil' but were disappointed with their choice of new front man then BUY THIS ALBUM! It is a great nu-metal high energy affair. Stand out track is probably the cover of Billy Idols 'Rebel Yell'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Sinner, 27 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Full Circle (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant, and to be honest I think that Ryan McCombs voice is better than Dave's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal at it's best, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full Circle (Audio CD)
Explosive metal by an underrated band who never fail to deliver.
Great vocals, riffs and a rawness that not many groups can muster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Full Circle
Full Circle by Drowning Pool (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews