Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on an amazing person
Damn Right is an extremely good book about Charlie Munger. Munger, as the number 2 at Berkshire Hathaway, is somewhat overlooked in the shadow of Warren Buffett. Munger himself has had a fascinating and hugely successful business life, an eminent attorney, successful real estate developer, and is also a strong and interesting character. Less risk averse than Buffett,...
Published on 3 May 2009 by Tim500

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ol charlie.
After some pondering I decided to get this on kindle and quickly worked my way through.

Having read Poor Charlie's almanach I didn't know what I might gleam from this, all in all it was worth the money. The are some interesting insights into the way the market operated in Charlie's early days. Significant opportunities were to be found in real estate in the...
Published 12 months ago by Mr Graham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on an amazing person, 3 May 2009
By 
Tim500 "tim500" (Koh Samui, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Damn Right is an extremely good book about Charlie Munger. Munger, as the number 2 at Berkshire Hathaway, is somewhat overlooked in the shadow of Warren Buffett. Munger himself has had a fascinating and hugely successful business life, an eminent attorney, successful real estate developer, and is also a strong and interesting character. Less risk averse than Buffett, Munger has made some huge bets during his business career, sometimes risking all (on what he considers a racing certainty). Munger is deep thinking and philosophical, and has great advice. This book is well worth reading, and if you get the chance go to the Wesco Financial AGM in Pasadena CA whilst Munger is still around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffett's right hand man reveals all!, 4 Nov 2010
Charlie Munger, right hand man to Warren Buffett, is studied, quoted and explored in this fascinating read. He led/leads an interesting life and this biography rates amongst my all time faviourites. Would suit those that have an interest in business/investing as well as biographies. Overall a truly great biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undervalued . Just as Charlie predicted, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Arthur L. Vice "Photoz" (London , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If like me , you are curious about the financial world and more particularly investment , this book might just be one of those books you will treasure and refer to for a very long time to come .

I came across this book when I started delving deeper into Berkshire Hathaway's partnership and I was already sold on buying this book anyway without looking at the few reviews I did find . Charlie rightly said that he couldn't see that many of this particular book will sell , but that he'd hoped that people learned out of the mistakes that he had made in the past .

His life story appealed to me straight away because it struck a similar cord with me regarding the hardships that Charlie had to endure during life . Although Charlie has a great lineage , he isn't your typical gold spoon fed billionaire . It is also evident that Charlie has a fair amount of intellect and more importantly a perseverance to hold on to his convictions even if no one else sees it his way . Eventually allot of investors do come around to his ideas in the end . Allot of other useful wisdom abounds in this book too and Charlie has no lack in humor either as illustrated in most chapters .

The book is generally very enjoyable to read and adds great weight to any investors book 'portfolio' .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not much new in this, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read like a collation of known facts than some new insight. Left me wondering how much Munger put in to this, especially given the reluctance that the author expressed early in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Kitty (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Intelligent guy - trying to assimilate some of his knowledge after getting hooked on his youtube videos! A must have for any business person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good ol charlie., 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn Right!: Behind the Scenes with Berkshire Hathaway Billionaire Charlie Munger (Kindle Edition)
After some pondering I decided to get this on kindle and quickly worked my way through.

Having read Poor Charlie's almanach I didn't know what I might gleam from this, all in all it was worth the money. The are some interesting insights into the way the market operated in Charlie's early days. Significant opportunities were to be found in real estate in the early 70s which Mr Munger was able to take advantage of in scale and proportion. What I will say is that the first half of the book was superb with some comic relief in places. The reader will appreciate the challenges he faced on a business and personal level.

Why 3 stars then?. The original premise of this book is what holds it back in my opinion. Much is said about his family and personal dealings which all though some may be able to leverage into practical information, never the less is some what obtrusive. The later part of the book is much better known from a public perspective.

As a value investor I found areas I could relate to, the section explaining how blue chip stamps was reversed into Berkshire was excellent and gave good info on how Charlie and Warren moved from being mainly owners of securitys to private business owners within the market listing of Berkshire. Along the way many people became affluent through minor holdings in their subsiderys. Caught in the wake of their success as such.

In some ways I was left optimistic and saddened after reading through. For those glorious and golden inefficient market days are many years behind us but opportunitys for honest and hardworking people with integrity are still around if not for every year it becomes harder.

As a foot note here, I would have liked to read more about his views on investing.

Robert w Johns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews