Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the biggest war in history
very informative history, well put together, some of the most dramatic filmed images ever recorded, to watch the very history of the world hang in the balance , on such a staggering scale. today it seems unbelievable the whole world at war. highly recommend this most important filmed document.
Published 10 months ago by chad

versus
57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not the best
This is watchable DVD set with some interesting footage and informative but somewhat dry commentary. It's a tough call trying to cover the entire war, but it does a half reasonable job. This would be a good set for a student beginning a study of this period or someone with a casual curiousity, but otherwise it doesn't have enough depth. Also some of the footage is not...
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by Tony Scribble


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a good watch, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Gw Hunt "Just George" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
saw it on TV a while ago and liked it, so had to buy the whole thing. Not disappointed. Highly recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
exelent product bought it for my grandfather he liked it nicley packaged and deliered safe and securely and very quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Trevor B. Thomas (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best put together docos on W.W.2 that i have seen, its a pity that the commantury was spoilt by having a yank do it. still well werth buying. 99 percent of the film i have not seen before. lets have more like it the britts make the best war docos that i have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh Look, 22 Aug 2012
By 
John Perry (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
I wonder if there might be more than one issue of this series, because I found it fascinating? Good crisp narration, by Nick McArdle, a Scotsman, not a Yank; and a refreshing well-balanced commentary offering a new look at many aspects of the conflict, including the interesting idea that its origins at least partly lay in the Far East in 1931 with the aggression of Japan in Manchuria. By not suggesting Churchill is sacrosanct, the script makes it abundantly clear that in the 1930s, Churchill was considered a dangerous warmonger. He was, and needed to be, & was ultimately exonerated, but the first program makes it clear, with no hint of criticism, that in the context of the time, that this attitude was feared. Enjoy it more by watching with a open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as TV version, 3 April 2010
By 
A. M. Adams (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent and comprehensive. Purchased this set as saw it on TV. The only let down is that the narration on the DVD is by an American unlike the TV version which had a British narrator. This is the only reason for 4 stars and not 5!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Objective History of World War 2, 3 April 2013
By 
John Lewis "widescreenfan" (Aldwincle, Northamptonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
Having read some of the previous reviewers comments, I am compelled to add my own. This series is one of the most objective of its kind ever produced. The whole point is to 'tell it like it is', not to insert personal conclusions.

I found it to be fairly balanced between the British and Amaican perspective; not extolling one over the other, or being hyper-critical of each other either. I lived through WW2, and know most of the history, however the naration reminded me of some of the 'facts' that I had forgotten over the years.

I would highly recommend this DVD set to any serious history student, and also to any one who would appreciate an honest objective observation of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very factual!, 22 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD boxset on World War 2 is a very good buy, throughout all the episodes the narrator goes into great detail about how the war unfolded on all sides. My only critcisim of the boxset is the main box holding the DVD's which was a bit flimsy, however you get what you pay for. Plus for anyone who wathed the series on Discovery in the UK its an American who narrates on the boxset not a Brit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent overview, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
Was quite impressed with this collection. Basically a step by step of the run up, during and aftermath of World War 2. Learned a lot from the set, was interesting and provided a look at the story from all sides, not just a yanks turn up and win everything DVD. Decent if you want to learn a little bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lest we forget, 7 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
The horrors of the second world war are without a shadow of a doubt brought to your mind when you watch these DVD`s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Buy!, 7 May 2010
By 
Mr. R. Mun Gavin (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent narration and loads of footage that I've never seen before. A very good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8f865d0)

This product

World War 2: The Complete History [DVD]
World War 2: The Complete History [DVD] by World War 2 (DVD - 2007)
14.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews