Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value
Excellent value for money. great historical footage considering the age .. Would recommended to buyers..
Good research has gone into the making
Published 11 months ago by Paul Bostock

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Great War on 8 DVD discs
The sender of this DVD was exemplary in their service and deserves a five star commendation but this DVD named The Great War 1914-1918(8 Discs) is poor and does not even rank one star. Please Note. This set of DVDs is not the famous BBC series from the 60's with the wonderful music of Wilfred Josephs. The BBC DVD set has Sir Michael Redgrave and Sir Ralph Richardson in...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. I. Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Great War on 8 DVD discs, 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] (DVD)
The sender of this DVD was exemplary in their service and deserves a five star commendation but this DVD named The Great War 1914-1918(8 Discs) is poor and does not even rank one star. Please Note. This set of DVDs is not the famous BBC series from the 60's with the wonderful music of Wilfred Josephs. The BBC DVD set has Sir Michael Redgrave and Sir Ralph Richardson in the lead roles with many other august actors on the narrative, these components together make the BBC DVD set very special. This particular DVD set is a very pale imitation of the BBC DVD set with a poor over-dubbed narrative, obtrusive and over-dubbed repetitive gunfire and other over-dubbed ordnance sounds. It also has weak music over-dubbed on the sound track too that in many places completely obliterates the narrative. If you are a parent or grandparent buying something for the kids or a serious scholar of the various causes of the second world war, take my advice don't waste your money! Wait until the BBC one becomes more economical to buy. It is the 100th Anniversary of start of The Great War in 2014 so if current BBC executives have any business sense they should arrange that the BBC or others, re-issue this whole 18 hour series again but at price that will make it available to all?
n.b. The BBC series The Great War. One can see them all for free on Youtube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not that good, 12 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Christopher Johnson (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] (DVD)
the naration is very good ,The only thing i got fed up with was the repeating of the same pices of film through out the whole set of dvd, it,s that noticeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Great War, 26 Aug 2009
By 
B. M. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps not as 'Great' as it says !

Soundtrack swamps the narrator's voice at times

Repetitive use of same pieces of film

Script goes off at too many tangents instead of sticking to the really significant events of the War

Doesn't explain the course the War is taking sufficiently.

Back to the drawing board, Watson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed Customer, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] (DVD)
The quality of the DVD was not good. The content was poor with many of the film clips being constantly repeated. It was not up to the standard I had expected.
However, I cannot fault Amazon for their service or "on time " delivery.
I would not recommend this DVD for educational purposes, which was the reason I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent value for money. great historical footage considering the age .. Would recommended to buyers..
Good research has gone into the making
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 12 Jan 2014
By 
R. P. Newman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] (DVD)
Great overview of ww1 with amazing footage. Highly recommended. A perfect gift for the commemoration of the centenary of the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVDs, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Neil (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] (DVD)
Great price. Description as expected. Delivery came as requested. DVDs ithemselves are easy to watch brilliant with illustrations and maps. Overall very please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Great War 1914-1918, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Wa Ecock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] (DVD)
The box set came with the 8 DVD's, but with only one cover, meaning the DVD's were in only one half of a box, in otherwords the they were loose.
I also thought that I would get a booklet explaining the contents of the DVD's.

William Ecock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service!, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. John G. W. Keir "- John Keir" (Lerwick, Shetland Isles, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this box set for my Step-Grand father as he is very interested in The Two World wars. I bought it on Monday and it arrived Today (Thursday) i was very impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD]
The Great War - 1914 - 18 [DVD] by The Great War (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: 21.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews