Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True greatness!.
How do you follow up a smashing cult low budget movie like Basket Case?, you take what worked in that film and try to make it even better. The result of course is Brain Damage, this is in my honest opinion one of Frank Hennenlotter's most absurd, outrageous, over the top, funny and best gory low budget film he's ever made. Brian (Rick Herbst) wakes up with his head...
Published on 21 July 2009 by Puzzle box

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dont take drugs!
This film is all about heroin! Don't do it. A guy meets a parasite ( who looks like a pepperami )and the more he begs off the parasite the more the parasite takes from him. He will give you the trip of your life but it'll cost you. There's even a 'Cold turkey' scene where he refuses to help/accept the parasite and suffers - but he's ok when he accepts the 'feed'. Best...
Published 1 month ago by c brookes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True greatness!., 21 July 2009
This review is from: Brain Damage [DVD] (DVD)
How do you follow up a smashing cult low budget movie like Basket Case?, you take what worked in that film and try to make it even better. The result of course is Brain Damage, this is in my honest opinion one of Frank Hennenlotter's most absurd, outrageous, over the top, funny and best gory low budget film he's ever made. Brian (Rick Herbst) wakes up with his head covered with blood and hallucinating about giant eyes and a weird blue fluid filling his room (great trippy sequence by the way!). As it turns out, while Brian was sleeping a snakelike creature named Aylmer injected him with a chemical that hooks it's victims, making them addicted slaves. Unfortunately the only free high is the first. If Brian wants more all subsequent injections come at a price - he must pay Aylmer with some human brains. Unbearably addicting, Brian begins collecting Aylmer's favorite food of choice. As Brian becomes more dependent on Aylmer's fluid his life starts slipping into oblivion and he also seems to ignore those people who are around him including his girlfriend and his brother. Hennenloter has written a great script filled with witty dialogue and strange characters and the film was obviously a commentary on the life of a drug addict, Brain Damage incorporates humor and gore with a disturbing depiction of the deterioration of the human spirit on drugs. This film also has some pretty sick stuff including the infamous scene where Brian pulls a nasty string of brain matter out of his ear and the other involving a club girl who gets more than she bargained for (you have to watch the film if you know what I mean). The film also has an amusing cameo by Kevin Van Hetenryck from the Basket Case trilogy in the subway scene. Overall this was a terrific film that should not be missed by cult horror fans. I highly recommend it as it was loads of fun and way better than Basket Case, which really is saying alot since both films were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good gory fun, 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: Brain Damage [DVD] (DVD)
Brain Damage, made by the people who did Basketcase. If that doesn't tell you everything you need to know about the film then nothing will. But I'll have a go anyway.

It's eighties `trash' horror at its best. A small, but very eloquent, blue parasite strikes up a conversation with a young man, then goes about attaching itself to the back of his neck, in order to give him mind-bending, euphoric hallucinations. However, the only drawback is that, in return, the parasite wants to feed of other people's brains.

If you like the sound of that, you're clearly as sick as I am. And the next question you'll probably ask is, how much gore is there? The answer is plenty! Back before computer generated effects ruled Hollywood, people had to make sick puppets out of animatronics. The parasite a well-made and amusing (in a sick kind of way) and gets up to all manner of unspeakably evil acts.

Okay, so no one in this film will ever get an Oscar (although the parasite himself was clearly overlooked in the Best Supporting Actor category), but if you're into eighties horror, then you're not expecting it.

What you get is a well-made gory little number with plenty of tongue-in-cheek horror.

Get the popcorn in, turn the lights down (watch out for the Basketcase cameo), remove brain, give it to a cheeky little worm and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dont take drugs!, 23 Jun 2014
This review is from: Brain Damage (DVD)
This film is all about heroin! Don't do it. A guy meets a parasite ( who looks like a pepperami )and the more he begs off the parasite the more the parasite takes from him. He will give you the trip of your life but it'll cost you. There's even a 'Cold turkey' scene where he refuses to help/accept the parasite and suffers - but he's ok when he accepts the 'feed'. Best part of the film is when he's on a train and a guy sits opposite him holding a padlocked 'basket' - Basket Case is next on my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The movie with the anti-drugs message? just say no!, 11 Jun 2013
By 
ymo1965 (Peterborough, Uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliantly classic surreal movie from the 80's. If you love movies like 'Frankenhooker' and 'Basket Case' then just get this now. Shocks, laughs and gross out scenes a plenty. This movie can't possibly be taken seriously. I have to say that this special edition (silver outer cover) version is in 1080 quality (says on the cover). Amazing from a regular DVD, but believe me when I say that the quality of this print is outstanding. I seriously doubt a blu-ray edition would render much more detail. Crazy but true!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..TOP 80'S WEIRD HORROR..", 21 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Damage [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very unusual horror movie from the 80s from the director of basket case and frankenhooker, lots of blood, ooze and gore in a bizarre story about a man who gets a parasite attached to him that makes him go out and get victims for the parasite to eat and it talks to him, if youre a big fan of basket case then you know how weird this director can be and brain damage is certainly now a cult classic and a must for any horror collection, its very tongue in cheek but brilliant non the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film,shame about the packaging!, 6 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Brain Damage [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolute classic film and one of a kind.
I haven't seen this release so can't comment on the transfer but I'm sad to see that they didn't use the original Graham Humphreys artwork-it was so good and the Palace horror VHS releases were beautiful!Maybe they are considered old-fashioned in the Photoshop era but there is so much skill involved in his works of art.

As for the film itself,it comes from an era when horror was still very imaginative and fun,unlike a lot of the derivative junk and poor remakes that get released these days.
Along with Basket Case and Frankenhooker,this is another Henenlotter classic-funny,sleazy and disturbing.You will want to wash your brain after watching...and that's a good thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just get it!, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: Brain Damage [DVD] (DVD)
This film is the best when it comes to this genre, doesnt take itself too seriosly, works on both levels as a comedy/horror, or drama/thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unique, gory and very silly., 29 Jan 2009
By 
Cub Tiger (Kwang Tung (UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brain Damage [DVD] (DVD)
This film is great! Violence and humour in equal amounts, but overall, very enjoyable. It's also got the most likeable brain munching, hallucination inducing, blue worm type creature of any film I've seen! I don't want to say too much otherwise I'll spoil the best bits, but rest assured this film is a real treat! If you like horror comedies then do yourself a favour and check this out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 4.3 to 16.9 and you loose one third of the image, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: Brain Damage [DVD] (DVD)
this film gets 1 star that's just for the quality its very nice picture, Now its meant to be an uncut version, so why did they crop away the 4.3 to make it 16.9 this has resulted in a destruction of this classic film that was never filmed in widescreen, buy it if you wish but you loose one third of the picture top and bottom.

this dumb behavior happens time and time again, check before you buy any old films that are as if by magic now a widescreen release, another one of note is the latest release of the world at war, destroyed buy cropping from 4.3 to 16.9

p.s i have checked this release against a 4.3 version and it has been cropped with no extra footage gained from widescreen, just a loss of a third of the picture, I have contacted the company that makes this release and I am still waiting for any reply, if they ever do reply with useful information i shall post it here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 28 Jun 2008
By 
M. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brain Damage [DVD] (DVD)
Briliant, after seeing basket case, this was everything I hoped for + more! Fans of black comedy should check this out, nothing else like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brain Damage [DVD]
Brain Damage [DVD] by Frank Henenlotter (DVD - 2007)
16.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews