Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Party DS
Mario Party DS is great fun and you only need 1 game cartridge to play with 4 Players!

There are many modes in Mario Party DS
Story
Party
Minigames
Puzzle
Gallery
Multiplayer

There are 5 boards and 70+ minigames to play.
Their is 8 characters:
Mario
Luigi
Peach
Daisy
Yoshi
Toad...
Published on 8 May 2010 by J. S. Hope

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars party pooper
I like board games but I do not want that format in my ds lite games. I found it too slow waiting for the other characters to take their turn. My mum loves it and will keep playing it.
Published on 9 Sept. 2009 by PS DIVA


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Party DS, 8 May 2010
By 
J. S. Hope (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Mario Party DS is great fun and you only need 1 game cartridge to play with 4 Players!

There are many modes in Mario Party DS
Story
Party
Minigames
Puzzle
Gallery
Multiplayer

There are 5 boards and 70+ minigames to play.
Their is 8 characters:
Mario
Luigi
Peach
Daisy
Yoshi
Toad
Wario
Waluigi

I recommend this game to mario fans and gamers who want to have fun!

:)

Graphics 9/10
Sound 9/10
Story 7/10
Minigames 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite games ever! Maybe even the best!, 8 May 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Mario party is a brilliant game. The board game isn't that good, however the mini games are the best! Some are really random like racing around on bar of soap(my speciality) or taking pictures of the other players. I played it with my friends on a 21 hour coach journey and it made time fly. The graphics are like most Mario games(in other words great) and all your favourite characters are there....Yoshi, Peach, Toady and of course Mario. I recomend it to good gamers age 9-50. So to sum up this game I'd say....BUY IT NOW!!!
*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 27 Mar. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Mario Party is the ideal game to play with friends, it has many interesting minigames and a board game, similar to the old Mario Party 5 on the Gamecube.
The one player game is generally good but a bit repetitive, especially after you have completed the game with one character and then are expected to complete it with the others!
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this game and feel that it was definitely worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mario Party DS, 3 Mar. 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is fun, and you can really get into it. but it does get very boring after a while. I've had this game for 3 months and i have found it good for the forst two, but now, it is just a bit boring. I would only reccomend for patient children, as there is a lot of waiting for the main game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Party Nintendo DS game, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
My 7 year old loves this game and anything mario (mario kart, etc.) These games are seriously good fun for the kids although it's a bit brain numbing to me. If she ever goes for a game it's always mario kart or mario party. I have yet to find a child who doesn't love these so recommend them highly. My 3 yr old loves to watch them too (but we don't let her play on the DS yet!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARIO PARTY IS GREAT, 17 Nov. 2008
By 
A. M. STICKLAND (Beds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
It's not just a board game on a nintendo. There's so much more inc. puzzles, minigames and boss matches. One of the best Mario games, not to be missed. Better than the wii version. You earn mario points to win badges to show how good you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy recommendation to fans of the series., 12 Jan. 2008
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Is the Mario Party franchise really ten years old? The series seems to have had its fair share of ups and downs, yet despite the mixed reaction from critics the games have generally been huge successes commercially. Mario Party game has been released on every Nintendo platform released and although it's taken a few years, the series has finally made its début on the Nintendo DS, and the fantastic mini-games easily make Mario Party DS one of the best titles in the franchise yet.

The set-up for Mario Party DS is much the same as in previous titles. Like a traditional board game, you choose a 'piece' (a character from the Mushroom Kingdom), and roll the dice to move along the board. While progressing you gain or lose coins, participate in mini-games and try to gain stars. so far so predictable right? It's the mini-games which make Mario Party DS stand out from the other titles in the series. Rather than recycle some of the mini-games from other Mario Party games Nintendo has gone back to the drawing board to take full advantage of the DS' abilities, so you'll be blowing into the microphone and using the stylus to full effect. (If you are out in public and don't want to make a fool of yourself, the good news is you can choose to exclude the microphone mini-games)

The sheer number of mini-games is also very impressive. There are over seventy, and for the most part the quality is very high. It really doesn't feel like Nintendo were just stringing together some by-the-numbers ideas just to say 'over seventy mini-games' on the box, Nintendo have come up with mini-games that utilise the Nintendo DS creatively and and are just genuinely fun. There is also a large amount of variety - you won't just be slamming A to win in half the games, you'll actually need to read the instructions for each game carefully. One moment you might be trying to tap the correct button on the touch screen, then moments later you will be trying to win a birthday candle-blowing race.

There are only a few minor problems which let Mario Party down. Because the game is so well suited to multiplayer it is disappointing there is no online support at all, especially considering most Nintendo titles feature Wi-Fi multiplayer these days. As has always been the case with the franchise, these games are much better when played with friends. Even though online play hasn't been included this doesn't mean that Nintendo has forgotten about the importance of multiplayer. The game includes multiplayer support for up to four players with just the one cartridge, so if you've got three friends with a Nintendo DS each, you can still play through the entire game with just the one cartridge, which is both a great technical achievement and a smart move by Nintendo. Obviously it does take a few minutes to get going, and their are occasionally some loading screens, but it's a great inclusion and one that is perfectly suited to the game.

One of the other problems that has plagued the franchise since its debut is the fact that a lot of the time it feels as if you are a spectator more than you are playing the game. Duels which don't include your character are automatically skipped this time, but there is still some waiting around to be done. There are also only five boards, and while they are all decent, a few more would have been appreciated. Overall though, anybody familiar with the Mario Party series will most likely be fully aware of these issues, and for the most part these few faults are forgiveable for the fantastic mini-games.

Overall Mario Party's début on the Nintendo DS is a successful one. While the formula hasn't been heavily modified and there are a few remaining issues, the quality of the seventy plus mini-games found in Mario Party DS makes the title a worthwhile investment for party game fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Minor Issues., 24 Aug. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
If you're a fan of the Mario Kart series, and happen to enjoy board games, then this is a perfect match for you.

The game itself is an incredible amount of fun, especially in multiplayer, with single-card download play for up to 4 people. Nothing better =D

However, the single player mode is very basic, as it would be since Mario Party is a game intended for multiplayer anyway. The downside to the game is, like Mario Kart, you depend upon good luck in it sometimes, as you can be winning away, but then in the last turn be completely overturned and find yourself the loser, which is no big deal in multiplayer, but on the single player story mode, the fact that you have to redo the board, is actually tedious.

So it's a great game, and I recommend it, just know it will probably annoy you to lose a stage and have to do it over multiple times, because the COM has slightly better luck than you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Party DS, 1 April 2009
By 
Ms. S. Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a superb game for the DS. Anyone who owns a DS should buy it.
Yes ok the board game gets a bit dull at times but it helps you to unlock all of the brilliant mini games which make this game a must play on your own or with friends. hours and hours of fun and you may even need a spare battery! This is a game for all ages and a must for the DS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *****MARIO PARTY***** FIVE STARS :D, 5 Jan. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Party (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is GREAT!!!!! I Love this game it's soooooo much fun!!! I can't see how anyone can give it a 1 star(but that's their opinion and I value that)I personally love this game as it gives you hours of entertainment. I have run out of battery playing this many of times!!! Go on if your thinking about buying this I hope I've helped you dilemma into buying it or not!! Buy IT!!! LOL :D xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mario Party (Nintendo DS)
Mario Party (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
£27.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews