Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nuff said
This is pretty much the best strategy game on Wii you can get. If you really love JRPGs and turn based strategy games, this one is must-have!

As a person who grew up on Heroes of Might and Magic and Warlords (oldschool pc turn based strategy games), I instantly fell in love with this title. It has everything I could ever ask for, great gameplay, interesting...
Published on 31 May 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same as Previous game, but more armies
If you like Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance, you'll like this.

The graphics have not changed since gamecube version, new tier of promotions available, however most units you'll end up using are already promoted, the story makes raises certain units pretty hard, and the game has a heavy focus on using Canto units, meaning most of the foot soldiers are useless end...
Published on 30 May 2012 by Sketch T


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 1 Sep 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
This was the first Fire Emblem game that I played. I liked it so much that I sought out the GameCube prequel too. The big improvement over the older game is the Battle Save option which allows you to redo a round when things go pear shaped rather than your having to start the whole battle again from the beginning.

It's a big game. The story is OK but rather complicated and drawn out but that's fine because, if you like the game, you'll want to try it again and it'll start to make more sense. Playing for a second (or third) time will help you to get the hang of what the various items do as sometimes the manual and in-game explainations fall short. It is very important that you understand the Support system for example.

There are a few problems however.
*Some of the characters are useless (Fiona springs to mind) and are hardly worth including. In fact, you probably won't bother using around a quarter of them once you get farther into the game. Then you'll find, towards the end, you'll need them again and they'll be rubbish. So you'll use up valuable XP on them and that'll be OK. But then, for the last few hours, you can only use about 14 characters! It would have been nice if the others could have gone on some sub-quests or whatever. Of course, you're meant to let them die but I couldn't. I was brought up on Shining Force.
*For each battle, there are always two or three characters whose inclusion is mandatory. Sometimes half your party are pre-selected which again makes it difficult to level up the others.
*Some of the environment penalties are baffling. Horses are useless in the desert! But they're fine indoors!
*Some of the maps are quite dull.
*Others are thinly disguised rehashes from Path of Radiance.

Niggles aside, if you are a fan of turn-based, grid RPGs, then you will love this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nuff said, 31 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
This is pretty much the best strategy game on Wii you can get. If you really love JRPGs and turn based strategy games, this one is must-have!

As a person who grew up on Heroes of Might and Magic and Warlords (oldschool pc turn based strategy games), I instantly fell in love with this title. It has everything I could ever ask for, great gameplay, interesting story, well done characters. After a long time, this was a game which I had to finish no matter what, as fast as possible. I haven't felt such strong passion for gaming in years. Hours flew by, from 7 pm was 5 am without me noticing it.

This game is hard, even on easy it's hard, but for me it was a challenge, one of the reasons why this game was so interesting. But if you play on easy, you can save during fights (some of those can drag on to 1+ hour!). This is very important, because when one of your characters dies in combat, you've lost him for good. And it will happened a lot, unless you are master tactician.

Story and characters were great, you really felt for them. You can pick your favorite characters and spend your abilities and experience on those, but beware, during the game, you will be playing for pretty much all of them (at least for one battle), so favoring only few will make the game a bit harder.

I love this game, after I finished it, I bought the pre-quel in the series (FE: Path of Radiance), because the story of Radiant Dawn follows Path of Radiance pretty much 1:1. Tho beware, Path of Radiance was a gamecube game and in europe (where I'm from) it's almost impossible to get (in english and PAL) so I've spent over 120 american dollars on it (worth it!).

Even tho I've wrote 4 paragraphs about how great this game is, there are flaws. First of all, the graphic and sound is on gamecube level, not Wii. Also the amount of cinematographic sequences is pretty low, for a Nintendo title. And last but not least, when you have to restart the game and you're in combat (someone died...) you have to reset it and start it all over from Wii Home. Which can get really annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game but could have been so much better, 12 May 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
'Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn' is the latest game in the series, and this time it's on the Nintendo Wii.

GAMEPLAY - 4/5
The style is exactly the same as the excellent GBA and Gamecube versions where you have a group of warriors, magicians and other skilled fighters and must take turns with the enemy to move around the map until your objective is complete. Sadly there is no new way of playing this using the Wii's innovative remote and nunchuck, instead you simply turn the remote side ways to use it as a NES pad and use the directional pad and the 1 and 2 buttons to control it. A bit of a wasted opportunity there and a lazy move by Nintendo in my opinion as the motion sensor would have worked perfectly by pointing the remote at the characters and moving them about, but not this time. The difficulty goes from fairly straightforward and easy to a real thinking man's game later on, as one wrong move could be a fatal mistake. And as once a character dies in the game, they are dead forever, this could make it extremely hard later on if a specially skilled character has been killed but is needed for a particular task.

GRAPHICS - 3/5
Although they aren't the best graphics on the Wii by a long shot the map is very clear to recognise your characters and see where everything is clearly. The cut scenes have very impressive cartoon animations with really sharp images and are great to look at.

SOUND - 4/5
Atmospheric tunes that are very similar to the ones from the old GBA and Gamecube games andt all fits very nicely with the setting.

LIFESPAN - 4/5
Some of the maps are really big and the enemies do get tougher as the games goes on. There's plenty of tactics to learn but I imagine once you've finished the game theres not much that will make you want to play it through again. Still, it is an amazing game while it lasts.

OVERALL- 4/5
Although this is a great fun game I really feel like this is a completely missed opportunity as it could have been so much better. The lack of Wii controls as I mentioned before, no multiplayer or online modes and the so-so graphics made me feel quite let down with the whole game as my fondness of it is overshadowed by it's faults. The dialogue between levels will also have you pressing the + button to skip it in no time as it does seem to go on and on. It is still an excellent and involving game that will take a while to get through and is without a doubt the best strategy game out on the Wii so far. Lets just hope they make a sequel and sort the other issues out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for Fire Emblem fans and Wii owners alike!, 12 Mar 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
In case you don't know the history of this gaming gem, Fire Emblem began in the 1990's with the release of Fire Emblem 1 on the NES. This tactical role-playing experience has developed through Nintendo's history into a true prize in the Wii's extensive treasure chest. The gameplay mechanics follow a turn-based tactical role, where you manage a group of characters through a map grid in order to defeat the enemy and ultimately complete the chapter objective. Created by the same team which brought us Advanced Wars, Fire Emblem follows suit in the strategic gameplay style. However, in my opinion, with a more broad character development setup than in any game I have ever played, Fire emblem surpasses her sister game in almost every aspect.

However, onto what you're all here for. As always in Fire Emblem games, Radiant Dawn takes place in the mediaeval period. Following from the Gamecube great `Path of Radiance,' Radiant Dawn tracks the tale of two intertwining characters from the previous game. Three years on from the defeat of "Mad King Ashnard" Tellius has once again erupted in war. I don't want to go very in depth with the plot so much so that I spoil the story for you, however what I will say is that this game features one of the most enjoyable and intense storylines of any game I've ever played!

"Why is this game value for money?" you ask yourself. Well along with a healthy 42 chapters to accomplish, this game takes the average gamer well over 40 hours to complete on the medium setting. As I've only just started my outing on hard, I can't say exactly how long it takes to complete in this mode, but judging by the medium mode I would think it takes roughly 50 hours+. Additionally, this game has brilliant replay value. Once you have completed it once you want play it through again to train characters you couldn't do the first time round.

Of the game's few negative points, the limited use of the Wii's motion sensing capabilities ranks as the most disappointing. Essentially, the controls reflect those of the Gamecube outing almost exactly; they have not created a control method which utilises the wii-mote at all. In fact, when playing, I found it easier to simply plug in my old Gamecube controller and use that instead. This kind of made it feel like a Gamecube game again, (albeit one with a more substancial feel and story than what the Gamecube was capable of). This did detract from the experience, however it did not ruin it. What I have always liked about Fire Emblem - the immersive character development, the cunning strategy, and the forgotten blend of mediaeval warefare, (that of which has been replaced with constant shooter games in recent times) - is not affected by the control's. Whilst it most certainly would have advanced the game further, I can forgive the developers for not changing what is, essentially, not broken. This was the reason that I gave the game four, as opposed to five, stars.

"Why should I buy this game?" you ask yourself. This game does not exactly push the Wii's capabilities to the limit, however much like the previous games, they are enjoyable, immersive and entertaining to play. Moreover, the addition of 'full-motion-video cut scenes' (that separate key chapters) make the game play more like a movie in parts, entrancing the people watching, as well as those playing.

As well as this, Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn allows you to transfer data from the pre-instalment `Path of Radiance.' This means that statistics, items, coins and support conversations are transmitted to the Wii to give you subtle advantages during the game. If you haven't played the prologue game to this - Path of Radience - then don't worry; at the start of this one we are introduced to the characters again and we receive background information on every character.

One thing I should mention is that this game can be extremely difficult. Luckily, it includes three difficulty settings - Easy, Medium and Hard. If you're new to the series I would recommend starting out on easy because it incorporates a tutorial mode as you play. But once you understand the basics everything falls into place easily.

To summarise, I believe that this game includes all the originality and flair that any good game must have and is most definitely the best RPG/Strategy game on the Wii so far. Whilst it failed to utilise the capabilities of the Wii to the full - missing out on the motion sensing aspect - it does incorporate a richer, more substancial, and more developed story than the Gamecube could provide. Well worth the money, go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible game, 16 Feb 2010
By 
J. Lovegrove (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
This was my first venture into the Fire Emblem series and I have to say... wow.
For those of you who (like me) are new to the series, picture Baldur's Gate or Neverwinter Nights, only turn-based. Now make your party about 15-20 people and you've got a fair idea.
Details like weapons only having a fixed number of uses and particular weapons being more/less effective against different types of units make strategy the main emphasis of the game.

I'd recommend this to anyone with the patience for turn-based combat. Also great value - good to see a game with 40 hours of play time on a single play through. Those are getting pretty rare lately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Turn Based Strategy, challenging and fun., 16 Sep 2009
By 
Andrew Riley (Reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
Some of the other reviews are a tad lengthy, so I'll try to keep this sort and sweet.

If you've played and enjoyed Fire Emblem path of radiance - GameCube - PAL, then all you need to know is that this is a direct sequal using the same mechanics. If you like Path of Radience and are looking for more, you've come to the right place.

For newcomers, the Fire Emblem series is a turn based RPG strategy game. Each level involves you moving your group around and fighting to achieve some objective, such as killing all the enemies or escaping from the board. The gameplay revolves around moving your units to engage the enemy so that you can kill them and they can't kill you. Despite several of the screen shots above showing Street Fighter style face offs, the outcome of battles is determined by the statistics of the attacking and defending characters. The Street Fighter screens are simply fight animations and you'll likely turn them off before level 3. The game is closer to Civilization (in terms of how the fights work) than it is to X-Men Legends (GameCube).

So now that you know what you're in for, let me say this is a great game. It requires a large degree of planning, hack and slash and hope tactics will see your team being slaughtered and unlike most games there's no coming back from the dead for these guys, character that don't make it gone for good.

Radient Dawn fails to get a five star rating simply because it hasn't taken advantage of the new machine. This game could have been released on the gamecube being practically identical in terms of graphic and gameplay to the previous release. The Wii-mote doesn't even get a look in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Never played a fire emblem game before, until this one, and its great!, 11 Aug 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
I've never played a fire emblem game before, this is the first. Its a great stategy
game.
When i first got this game i thought it was going to be another ok, dull strategy game, and maybe, for people who have played the one on gamecube before, it is, but for me it was brill.
First the good stuff. The graphics are pretty good for the wii's standards, especially the little fight cutscenes. Then, in terms of strategic gameplay, this is awesome, its not too easy, but not too hard that you'll stop playing the game after you get beaten on a level a couple of times. Also, the storyline is split into three parts so theres a good 25 or so hrs of gameplay in there, plus the storyline is ok, not great, but good enough.
Bad bits. The difficulty sometimes gets annoying. Such as, when you've just completed a pretty easy level, suddenly the next level is brain-boggelingly difficult, now this isn't too bad, but it gets quite annoying when the difficulty isn't getting steadily harder, its all over the place.
Also, some levels are very difficult that it may put you off playing much longer if you dont like it when it gets too hard.
So, to round up:
Graphics:7 an a half/10
Gameplay:9/10
Storyline:6/10
Overall: 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 22 Mar 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
The fire emblem series consists of some of the best games in the market and this one is not an exception. Although you will find the difficulty considerably high if you are not a veteran, this is where easy mode comes in. Overall, it's a fantastic strategy experience on the wii and I recommend it to every gamer that wants to play a hardcore game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Hardest Strategy game I have ever played!, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
The challenge is pretty brutal, but I enjoyed the game for what it was.

Fire Emblem fans will of course love it, but for any SRPG fans beware, this game will tear you limb from limb from the get go and on Easy Mode!

I got a great deal on this years ago £5.96, and don't regret it since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 15 April 2012
By 
Felix Jeffs (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) (Video Game)
Having played its predecessor on the gamecube, I really enjoyed radian dawn on the wii and found it had much to offer while keeping the same gameplay. Radian Dawn has been overlooked and is sure to be a collectors item in the future as it is part of a strong series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii)
Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
Used & New from: £49.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews