Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2010
I only discovered this film very recently and I thought it was marvellous. Great cinematography for 1973 (it looked more like a 90's road movie!)
Gene Hackman steals the show in many respects as no-nonesense Max, a former drifter just out of jail. Pacino is also excellent and I love how they work together in the oneon one scenes.
There's a scene of them together having breakfast in a diner at the beginning of the film that is wonderful. It is shot in continuous time for the most part and the interaction, both verbally and physically, is memerising. I wonder how many takes it took to get the one they used?!
There is a very vague start and end to the movie but I don't thin it really matters because for me it's the individual circumstances that they find themselves in that provides the real interest.
If you're a Hackman or Pacino fan then this is a must. I had reservations about purchasing this at first because I'm not too impressed with some of Pacino's early films like Dog Day Afternoon for example, but this is more like the quality of things like Serpico to be honest and is well worth the money (it is also available as a Warner Brothers 2dvd release coupled with Hackmans Night Moves from 1975).
55 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2008
Saw this film in the mid seventies and loved it; was surprised to find how hard it was to obtain on DVD, what with Al Pacino and Gene Hackman starring.

Seeing it again, I can now sort of see that this Mice and Men-type buddy movie, although highly agreeable and certainly recommended and worthwhile viewing, is nevertheless several notches down from, say, Midnight Cowboy (or the original film of Mice and Men itself).

Is this the acting or the writing or both? Not sure - but perhaps it's simply that although we see Hackman battling and conquering his demons (sort of) by the end, his fatal flaw (a tendency to beat the cr*p out of those looking at him funny) is indulged perhaps too easily, so that even though (as in Mice and Men itself, of course) we know the characters are probably ultimately doomed, it may be a bit too clearly signalled in this film. But I'm not sure.

There is also an element of the two actors being given their head - you get lots of scenes, lots of locations (on the journey to Pittsburgh and the Hackman character's proposed Car Wash - shades of George and Lennie's farm) which captivate beat by beat but don't necessarily add up to a coherent whole. But again, I'm not sure about that. Try it. Maybe I'm being too harsh. Lots of memorable moments. But having watched Midnight Cowboy recently that story felt tighter, more specific, more painstakingly assembled.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2015
The copy I got from ___THE_BEST_ON_DVD____ via amazon did not have an English language inlay - the sleevenotes are, I think Dutch. But the DVD plays in English with subtitles available for other languages.
The movie itself is fabulous. I saw it on tv years ago and bought a copy on BetaMax video - so I haven't seen it for ages. It never seems to get showed on telly any more so I decided to buy this and enjoy it all over again.
Pacino plays the innocent Lionel beautifully. This was made long before he got all shouty.
And Hackman as always is sublime.
A special mention has to go to Richard Lynch who plays Riley, the nasty piece of work they meet at the prison Farm. He played his role brilliantly and once you've watched his scene with Pacino you will never forget it. I think its up there with the 'I can make you squeal like a little piggy' scene in Deliverance.
I'm glad I watched it again.
It's still as good as the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
An example of Holliwood distinctive production in the 1970s, the story of Max (Hackman) and Lion (Pacino) drifting across America in pursuit of their dream (building a carwash) is much more than a road movie. There is no real beginning, nor real end to the movie, which may bother someone, but in fact fits well the play, whose bottom line is, for these two guys, life is just happening to them.
All characters are acted very well, including those secondary roles e.g. Max's sister (Tristan) and her friend (Wedgeworth). It is a mixture of comedy, drama, and sentimentality.
The narrative style adopted by director Schatzberg is similar to that he used for "The panic in needle park", and deserved the Grand Prize at 1973 Cannes Film Festival.
It is a pity that movies like this are simply not made anymore.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
Super road movie heade by Genwe Hackman and Al Pacino. What's not to like?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Remember seeing this movie as a kid on the tv, couldn't quite remember what it was about, just that 2 of the greatest actors who ever lived where In it, long forgotten gem from the 70s when movies where at there best, the hero didn't always win and run off at the end with the girl of his dreams, 2actors at the peak of their abilities, French connection, dog day afternoon, godfather movies midnight cowboy etc. if you like these movies you will like scarecrow.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
I also first saw the movie in the 70's and found it amazing, a fabulous picture of a changing America the main characters are brilliant and their adventures often comical often tragic will have you on the edge of your seat. I ordered the US import a few years ago but was able to view it on a region free player. A real 70's classic along with Two Lane Blacktop and Harold and Maude - 5 stars
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
Excellent film I have waited a long time to view as it is not normally available in traditional outlets
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Very funny Pacino is brilliant in a role a million miles away from Michael Corleone or Tony Montana. Hackman is good too. Would recommend to anybody and everybody.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Great item despatched quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)