Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
16
3.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Normal|Change
Price:£11.04 - £37.91
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2007
Crash of the Titans sees Crash return to his platforming roots: no kart racing or party-games are to be found, (thank goodness) Instead, the main selling point here is the ability to take control of (or "jack") some of the larger enemies in the game, and use them to rain destruction on the baddies. Now let me tell you something: I don't care who you are or what you do, but mind-controlling a giant monster and smashing things into tiny bits is fun. It's a universal truth. However, there are still some pretty large issues that keep this game from being the definitive Bandicoot return.

First of all, let's talk graphics. Sporting a brand new art design that's probably aimed at younger kids who've never heard of Crash before, Crash of the Titans is not a bad looking game in the least. The backgrounds have a clean, cartoony look to them.

In terms of presentation, the kooky humor of Crash and his gang is still there. The smaller minions actually say some pretty funny, if not dated, things.

For the most part, the game is as linear as past Crash games. In fact, it's probably more so - since the game is all about jacking mutants, combat is emphasized over everything else. So a typical level will be like this: run forward and punch normal guys, find a monster, jack said monster, use the monster to kill other monsters in a large circular arena, and then continue in a straight line. There really is no variation throughout the entire game, and that's where Crash starts to suffer. Repetition in a brawler isn't so bad if the actual gameplay is rock solid. Too bad that's not the case.

There aren't any real puzzles that go beyond the standard "shoot the target to open a door" sequences, and most of the unlockables or special items can be found just floating in plain sight: there's not much exploration at all.

Crash of the Titans is a good idea presented badly. This is a great shame too, because that good idea involves smashing small things with large monsters. Nonetheless, kids and die-hard Crash fans will still dig the game, and the co-op is perfect for two squabbling siblings who fight over the controller. It doesn't have the lasting power to make a spot in your collection, but it will make for a good rental. Let's hope that the monster-jacking idea is used better in a sequel someday.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
Very underated game - My young son really enjoyed playing this one and me too! G8 fun ! Game is not you typical crash game as many encounters are based on you gaining control of bigger and badder characters that once you gain control of you can have a awesome time crushing your smaller enemies. MANY TITANIC CHARACTERS TO CONTROL IN THIS ONE FOR HOURS AND HOURS OF PLAYIME
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
I loved this game. It can get frustrating at times - namly when i get stuck :-) , but it is lots of fun, not to many buttons to remember either which is great for me. Some say its boring, but its just right for me as im not a big gamer..... and the cuter the better
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2008
I'm a big fan of the olde Bandicoot from the PS1 days so seeing this on sale for a good price I decided on buying it.

This is most likely the best platformer on the 360, Sadly with 80% of them being kids games - surfs up/shrek etc this isnt saying much. However it is a good game, a bit samey in places but you could do worse than investing a few hours in this game.

The usual story - Crash's family gets kidnapped by Cortex etc etc.... you've got to rescue them - Queue 20 levels of madness, But this time you can 'Jack' larger monsters.
By beating up the larger creatures you can ride them through the level and use their talents. You must learn what ones are easy to 'Jack' as you'll need them to work your way through the 'Jack chain' to have a hope of beating any main bosses that appear.

Graphically this is a very nice clean crisp game, sound wise - ok. but a nice refreshing change to bloody FPS, or car games etc - A nice innocent game that any teenager or fan would love - Or possibly a link between all the rubbish kids games for your young'uns

I have completed this 100% on hardest setting with a 1000 achievement points - roughly 15-20 hours for you achievement wh0res.
Some of the achievements are extremely hard and tiring to get, I.e Unlock all creature skins - which is fine untill you find out you've got to 'Jack' 30 types of 1 monster when theres only a few on certain levels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
Seems like all is fine, just a bit annoyed that the cover for the game is dirty. Could have been cleansed, and it would have been a nicer way to receive it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2007
I HAVE ALWAYZ LOVED THE CRASH GAMES, BUT THIS HAS GOT TO BE THE BEST EVER!! THE GAMEPLAY IS BRILLIANT, THE GRAPHICS ARE TOP CLASS FOR IT BEING AN ANIMATION GAME, YOU CAN NOW FIGHT WITH MULTI FIGHTING SYSTEM, EG PUNCHING, FLY KICKING, COMBO MOVES ETC. THE ENEMIES ONCE CONTROLLED BY YOU ARE FUN TO USE, HAVING 3 ATTACKS PER ENEMY YOU CAN'T GO WRONG. SO IF YOU LOVE YOUR CRASH GAMES THEN YOU WILL DOUBLE LOVE THIS!!! 5/5
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
not like playstaion 1 and 2-you collect your apples not diamonds / gems---graphics are ok though-so not too bad i suppose
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Game is perfect for my just turned 8 year old, he loves it. Very quick delivery too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2008
This game is far from perfect, but it does what it sets out to do. It is not meant to be revolutionary or to be fair even original. Crash of the Titans is just an extension of the previous incarnations. Now you may think this all sounds pretty negative, but it does the most important thing when creating a cartoony platformer aimed at a younger market it is fun and easy to play, it will not stretch your mind and it is exceptionally linear but it makes you smile and it is infinately playable.

If you have younger family members or loved ones whose idea of fun is not completing Halo 3 on Legendary then this is probably a good place to get them involved, and to be honest there are not a lot of games that nayone can play and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
game i bought is broken! i would like a refund
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)