Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shifty at times
OK, well the first thing i must say about this game is the slightly dodgy graphics (i do not know the technical term but when one pans the image kind of gets horizontally lacerated)
For those wondering im running it on my bravia 37 via hdmi and its the only game which does this.

Although there is this problem the graphics on the game are incredibly sharp...
Published on 3 Jan 2008 by Neyton Yawl

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very last gen, but still fun
Originally intended as an X Box release, Timeshift's been in development for years. During this time, its had a complete stylistic overhaul, and is now a shooter very much in the mould of Half Life 2 and Gears of War.
This is most obvious during the games opening hour; anyone who's played HL2 will immediately recognise the streets and propaganda screens. Everything...
Published on 5 April 2008 by Stevie G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shifty at times, 3 Jan 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
OK, well the first thing i must say about this game is the slightly dodgy graphics (i do not know the technical term but when one pans the image kind of gets horizontally lacerated)
For those wondering im running it on my bravia 37 via hdmi and its the only game which does this.

Although there is this problem the graphics on the game are incredibly sharp and detailed, one of the best i've seen on the ps3 so far.
I haven't finished the game so far but my initial thoughts are that it is indeed a great deal of fun. The ability to time shift is fun and it isn't entirely eye candy or a gimic.

the weapons are pretty sterile as far as fps goes, but they are functional which is ultimately what its all about.

The story is a little confusing at times, every now and then it seems to switch to a semi naked cgi women in bed, kind of like subliminal porn, very confusing but i figure in for a penny.

Overall i think this is a highly underrated game.

Don't be discouraged by the problems listed at the start of this review, it tends to be in areas of very heavy graphics/particle effects etc.

I give it 4.5/5 it would have been a solid 5 if the graphics fault wasn;t there but although it doesn't spoil the game it does distract a little at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very last gen, but still fun, 5 April 2008
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
Originally intended as an X Box release, Timeshift's been in development for years. During this time, its had a complete stylistic overhaul, and is now a shooter very much in the mould of Half Life 2 and Gears of War.
This is most obvious during the games opening hour; anyone who's played HL2 will immediately recognise the streets and propaganda screens. Everything feels a like an inferior City 17, the fact your character is a mute physicist really doesn't help the comparisons much.

In fact, it's only when the time-shifting abilities are available that Timeshift has an identity of its own. They're a lot of fun, and give the ability to slow, pause and rewind time. The carnage it creates never gets boring. The abilities are also well balanced against the player's health, and fire fights nearly always feel tense and challenging.

The levels have little interaction, the plot quickly becomes a confusing mess, and most weapons are pretty boring, so these powers really save the game. However, all puzzles or situations require is a press of the auto-button which selects the most suitable power.
This means levels are breezed through and there is no overall sense of achievement. This would have worked better as an optional feature, or just on the easy setting.

Timeshift isn't worthy of its RRP, as these are much better shoters out there.
Although this is fun, it is just a shooter with a gimmick, and poor graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent game, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
this game is a brilliant classic game, had it on xbox a while ago and when switched to ps3 i could not find it anywhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this game, 1 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
this game is awesome. proper. graphics r cool . wish i could find another game like this. completed twice over. buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, but not making the most of PS3 qualities, 16 May 2010
By 
B. Cousins "The Eternal Noob" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game from playing the demo and thought it looked kinda cool, it is a FPS and you can manipulate time to aid you in battles or to affect the area around you to get to other places in the level.

Here are some of the highs of the game:
You are in an advanced Beta suit capable of time travel and you travel back in time to stop a madman who has taken the Aplha suit and changed time.
There are a good selection of weapos as you progress through the game and some have a secondary fire, i.e. increased fire rate, grenades, etc...
With the suit's time control you cannot regain ammunition due to the dampening of time around your body so yu cannot waste clips shooting at people then just get them back if you change your mind
There are three ways you can affect time, you can slow down time, stop time and reverse time, the time stop and reverse use more suit energy than the slow down time but at some points they are cruical, be it rewinding a train hurtling towards you are using the time options to get through certain obstacles.
You can stop time when e.g. a missile is being fired at you and blow it out the air!
The time controls are what makes the game inovative, and you cannot use it all the time as you need to let the energy recharge in your suit to do it again.
There are no health bars, as you get shot up the screen will start to splatter with blood at the edges so you will need to find cover in the big fights.
With the reverse or time stop options, you can get past enemies without them knowing you were there so it isn't always just a case of going in guns blazing.
You have clutch grenades which when you throw at someone will cling to them when you have paused time run up and hurled one at someone it is gratifying to see them explode when time resumes.

Here are some of the lows:
The graphics are not next gen unfortunately, they are ok and it is to be remembered this is one of the earlier titles so developers weren't makig full use of the PS3.
The story line seems to start off ok but as you progress the game gives you snipits of the characters "mysterious past" but you cannot help but feel indifferent about your characters past. The main focus is the correcting of the time line.
There are ammo caches around the levels and when you get to these they refill all ammunition for you weapons, and this makes the game a bit too easy as you don't really need to manage your ammunition that much as you know somewhere there is a box of infinite ammo. When there are big battles going on you just need to stand near and it and fire away merrily.
The enemy AI isn't top par, you can find areas where you can sit and pick them off at times, and the enemies don't make enough use of grenades in my opinion.

Overall, for this price the game is worth it, it isn't the best FPS out there but it does have have one great element in that you can control time, and this is something that the developers have made great use, you cannot cause a paradox as the suit will not let you. This makes the game in my opinion, it is something I haven't seen before and really works well, as you will need to stop time, rewind time to get through areas and it is a great concept.
I would recommend you add it to your collection as there is also multiplayer mode, so you can go online and with the suits you can throw grenades that have the desired time effects, so e.g you can throw a time stop grenade and if it catches someone in it they are frozen there so you can empty clips into then and grenades so when the bubble pops they are suddenly spammed and usually die :P There is also armour bonuses that you can pick up to help keep you a live that bit longer and the red team vs blue time is an age old tactic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive, bad animation and weak storyline, 18 Jan 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
I think my title sums it up really. I have to agree with the reviewer who posted saying it was like a PS2 game. Not sure why it is receiving such rave reviews. The in game graphics are passable, but with no lip-synching. Which I find strange for a 'Next-gen' title.

Gameplay is fun, if a little fiddly at times. The timeshift button combinations sometimes don't work quite how you want them to, which is frustrating in the middle of a fire-fight as this can lead you to waste your ability.

The story. Well, I have to be honest, and say, you have to guess parts of it, as it is very disjointed. Occasionally you get a 5 - 10 second FMV cutscene (I thought nextgen games didn't do this anymore) that tries to explain what is going on. I was never really involved with the story. But maybe thats on purpose for the next installment.

On a plus though, blowing up the bad guys in slow-mo or time-freeze is great fun. But I don't think Sierra should have based a game around this alone.

Overall, I was confused, a bit bored and only finished it because I spent 50 on it. Your choice, but I wouldn't recommend it. Buy COD 4 or Uncharted instead. Both are more enjoyable and have a longer lifespan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
second time bying it lol don't ask it was that long ago I forgot I had played it but still playing it freeze time reverse time can be very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Game, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
I thought this would be a good buy but was sorely disappointed I would not even consider this game Never
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly good, 8 Oct 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
i got this game free when i first got my ps3 ages ago, but after a very short play i turned it off as i hated it, now months later i finally have some free time and i decided to give it another go and was surprised at how good it is, true the graphics in the cutscenes arent spectacular especially the prisone scene were almost every prisoner falls in the same way at the same place but during the actual levels the graphics ar ejust as good as any ps3 game, with the time shift abilities its much more fun than regular shooting games and the online mode still has a very active community and still very fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value For Money, 19 April 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeshift (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this Game around 3 Months Ago and have just begun to get into the Second Level,I play a LOT of FPS on the PS3 and i must admit i was pleasantly surprised by the Graphics and the ease of use of the Controls for this Game.The Time Shifting Effect is very ,Very,Good and certainly adds an extra "Something" to the Game,i was surprised to read some of the Customer Reviews that really Slate this Game.All i can say is that i found it Great Fun to Play and in My Opinion it was Money very well spent,and i would certainly reccomend it to those PS3 Gamers out there on a limited Budget (Self Included).The price of this Game wont Skint You,and neither will you feel that you have been ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timeshift (PS3)
Timeshift (PS3) by Activision (PlayStation 3)
14.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews