Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IS this Crash
I got this game for christmas and my entire family was hoping for something that embodied the old crash spirit. We had played most of the crash games and although likeing twinsanity i had found that it wasnt really crash. Teaming up with cortex wasnt right and the lack of a hub to choose levels from was strange but overall it was good. The newest game confirmed my fears...
Published on 28 Dec. 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good
As a huge fan of the previous two Crash releases for the PS2, when I heard this was being released I pre-ordered it to make sure I got it straight away!

I'm so disappointed that I wish I hadn't bothered.

Firstly, the game control of movement which made the other two Crash releases (and the Ratchet and Clank series) so smooth and fantastically...
Published on 29 Oct. 2007 by Mr. P. A. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 29 Oct. 2007
By 
Mr. P. A. Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
As a huge fan of the previous two Crash releases for the PS2, when I heard this was being released I pre-ordered it to make sure I got it straight away!

I'm so disappointed that I wish I hadn't bothered.

Firstly, the game control of movement which made the other two Crash releases (and the Ratchet and Clank series) so smooth and fantastically playable isn't there. Game play feels a little "odd" and jerky to say the least compared to the others, and the perspective in some parts of the game is nothing short of bizarre. The only similarity I can find to previous Crash games is that the main character shares the same name, and that you also roam around. It's almost as though they wrote a generic "running around" type game, and then thought "who shall we have as the main character? Oh, Crash will do...we haven't released one of those for a while"

In this game, most of your time is spent "taking over" other creatures (i.e. punching them a few times so that you can sit on their shoulders and ride around on them) and combatting other creatures. Not what you'd expect for a Crash game.

The concept of "lives" also has been introduced in this game as well, which is absolutely infuriating. The game is split into levels which you need to complete in sequence (not very good ones at that, either) - what you'll find is that you'll spend 20 minutes battling (literally) through a level, only to be rushed by a group of monsters which will kill you without giving you any real chance to defend, and send you right back to the start.

I've had this game for a week now, and have persisted with it in the hope that I would start to like it. I haven't, and I don't think I'm going to return to it after this.

I've never felt compelled to write a review of a game before either, but in this case I'm making an exception as I'd like to share just how rubbish it is with the rest of Britain.

I've also noticed they're advertising it on TV at the moment - the brief shots of gameplay don't do justice to how poor this game actually is.

Summary : if you love Crash, you'll hate this - I do. Don't waste your money if you're expecting something along the lines of "The Wrath of Cortex" or "Crash Twinsanity". It's not even remotely similar, and not worthy of the Crash name!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 29 Dec. 2007
By 
Mrs. Thacker (corby uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
terrible, terrible. do not buy this if you are expecting it to be like crash 2 and three. its dreadful!you just spend every level fighting to get into monster bodies. there is no goal or fun in this at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some amusement for fans., 3 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
Evil Cortex family are back along with Uka Uka, the nastiest witch-doctor to ever inhabit a wooden feathery mask. They are stealing all the mojo (that's energy to you and me) in order to power huge mutant monsters. They've also kidnapped Crash's sister Coco and are forcing her to help them in their dastardly plan.

What this means in gaming terms is guiding Crash along a level until you find a monster (or 'titan'). Bash it about a bit and then 'jack' it (jump on its head and use Aku Aku (the nicest old boy ever to inhabit a wooden feathery mask) to control it. Work your way up the food chain by using monsters to hi-jack even bigger brutes.

This game looks and sounds great. There are amusing little comments from enemies during levels and the destruction-based gameplay and sledge sequences can be good fun. It should be understood that this is not so much a platform game as a fighting game with platform sequences used to reach the monsters. And there lies the problem. The titans can't be taken outside the monster areas and so the game feels more like two rather unconnected games. Difficulty in later levels is achieved by having mobs of titans to take on, and this soon becomes a complete chore. Many of the platform areas are dull. You can often go for long distances with very little to do and Crash himself is kind of awkward to control. The cut-scenes can't be bypassed and soon begin to grate on the nerves - there are only so many times you can endure whining little girls, a lisping Aku Aku and dialogue ripped straight from various sci-fi and fantasy films in rather sad fanboy fashion. The re-imagined Tiny Tiger is the only interesting character here, and the game manages to botch up by revealing his voice too soon.

If you're a fan of Crash you might find short-term amusement here. But you'd be better off with "Mind Over Mutant".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ., 12 April 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
Fans of earlier crash games beware, this is nothing compared to the first crash games. You seem to just roam around punching everything until they go away and when they've gone more monsters come. I find that it's a very bad story, nothing like how a true crash game should be. Maybe children around 11 would like it but even then they would find it very tedious just punching things and riding around on the shoulders of the monsters.

Bring back warp rooms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What have they done..., 2 Nov. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
If I were to rate this game as if it weren't a Crash Bandicoot game, it might have got a slightly higher rating. However, this just isn't Crash Bandicoot, it's terrible. Wumpa fruits, boxes, crystals, all have dsappeared to be replaced with 'mojo' and weird titan monsters you ride on and attack other monsters with. It's bad, and it's boring. In the old games, the levels were different, exciting and challenging. All the levels are the same and very easy on this one. Oh and to make it worse, the designs are painful; I mean Tiny the tiger is now uberly camp for gods sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IS this Crash, 28 Dec. 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
I got this game for christmas and my entire family was hoping for something that embodied the old crash spirit. We had played most of the crash games and although likeing twinsanity i had found that it wasnt really crash. Teaming up with cortex wasnt right and the lack of a hub to choose levels from was strange but overall it was good. The newest game confirmed my fears that when naughty dog handed over its control of crash to these new companies things really changed. The fact that you had to first unlock and then combo to get his spin attack not to mention that he got stunned after performing said attack confirmed it. Crash of the Titans was a good game and would have been awesome if it wasnt crash. It just wasnt really fun for me as it wasnt crash and as such was sort of empty. Of course the game had good points and jacking titans was fun. The multiplayer was a nice touch and well made aswell. Overall if it wasnt a crash game it would have been five star. I just hope that they wont give crash a gun next game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this game is now awesome! fight through ultimate baddies jack them BE THEM, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
this game is now awesome! fight through ultimate baddies jack them BE THEM!!! this game ,you really need to try it because you even you have HALLOWEEN SKIN !!! for completing 50 percent of the game. play it now!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good, but no cigar., 17 Nov. 2007
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
Crash of the Titans sees Crash return to his platforming roots: no kart racing or party-games are to be found, (thank goodness) Instead, the main selling point here is the ability to take control of (or "jack") some of the larger enemies in the game, and use them to rain destruction on the baddies. Now let me tell you something: I don't care who you are or what you do, but mind-controlling a giant monster and smashing things into tiny bits is fun. It's a universal truth. However, there are still some pretty large issues that keep this game from being the definitive Bandicoot return.

First of all, let's talk graphics. Sporting a brand new art design that's probably aimed at younger kids who've never heard of Crash before, Crash of the Titans is not a bad looking game in the least. The backgrounds have a clean, cartoony look to them.

In terms of presentation, the kooky humor of Crash and his gang is still there. The smaller minions actually say some pretty funny, if not dated, things.

For the most part, the game is as linear as past Crash games. In fact, it's probably more so - since the game is all about jacking mutants, combat is emphasized over everything else. So a typical level will be like this: run forward and punch normal guys, find a monster, jack said monster, use the monster to kill other monsters in a large circular arena, and then continue in a straight line. There really is no variation throughout the entire game, and that's where Crash starts to suffer. Repetition in a brawler isn't so bad if the actual gameplay is rock solid. Too bad that's not the case.

There aren't any real puzzles that go beyond the standard "shoot the target to open a door" sequences, and most of the unlockables or special items can be found just floating in plain sight: there's not much exploration at all.

Crash of the Titans is a good idea presented badly. This is a great shame too, because that good idea involves smashing small things with large monsters. Nonetheless, kids and die-hard Crash fans will still dig the game, and the co-op is perfect for two squabbling siblings who fight over the controller. It doesn't have the lasting power to make a spot in your collection, but it will make for a good rental. Let's hope that the monster-jacking idea is used better in a sequel someday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
This item Arrived in good timing, very pleased with this product and of a excellent quality,that's why i gave it 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breathe of Fresh Air Crash is Back, 5 Dec. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash of the Titans (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is a little gem of a game it seems to have been given alot of negative reviews.Everyone is entitled to there oppinion but i think this is a brilliant game for all ages.Fans of Crash Bandicoot on the Plasystaion 1 wont be familliar with the new gameplay but its easyily adaptable this would make a brilliant christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crash of the Titans (PS2)
Crash of the Titans (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
£29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews