Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cult fan's delight!
SPACED is a show you hear word of mouth. Therefore when you discover it, its like nothing on earth before. The show is amazingly shot (Edgar Wright living out his fantasy of trying every camera shot and angle, plus the added bonus of recreating some of cinema's finest moments) and the script from Simon Pegg and Jessica Stevenson is delightful. Pegg is brilliant as...
Published on 17 Jan 2006 by Amy

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Struggling to see why the cult status
Despite its cult status and warm recommendations, I struggle to see the attraction and quality.

Although comedy is meant to be exaggerated and less realistic, the amusement is greater when juxtaposed with stronger characters and moments of poignancy - and their dog Colin, rescued from the pound, is never a case in point. The jokes are very easy to see coming,...
Published 2 months ago by Elspeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Issues, 1 Feb 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the epitome of the late 90s, early millenium comedy. The Office was just around the corner and the sitcom had evolved, via Black Books by way of I'm Alan Partridge, into a self-effacing, postmodern, self-referential medium of pretension and cheeky asides. But it was, at heart, still the same beast as Fawlty Towers, Only Fools and Horses and Porridge (all the decent sitcoms)just brushed off a bit for a modern audience. Ironically these days (2012 at time of writing) Spaced itself seems a little dated for the same reasons. But it's still one of the best comedies ever created.

As with all the (British)greats it is slight yet full of talent. I won't go into every episode as they are all both excellent and throwaway. But its the homages to cinema (Tarantino, Romero, Warchowski Bros etc) that stick in the mind most. Frost and Pegg may have come from humble beginnings but it's no wonder they are where they are now on this evidence. And Jessica Stevenson is just a magnificent actress.

Could watch it over and over and over and...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Brilliance!!!!! *****, 25 April 2008
By 
colesy (london, Kent) - See all my reviews
To make things simple and not write an essay like most reviewers, if you like Simon Pegg, like Nick Frost and Shaun Of The Dead then you might aswell just buy the Spaced boxset, just pure hillarious the whole way through and only ten quid. Bargain !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise for something that I missed first time., 7 July 2004
By 
S. Conrad "Steve C" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd not seen this on TV and a work colleague prompted me to see it next time it was on. However, I spotted this box set so I took the plunge.
The box set is actually just a box for the two original DVDs which arrive in their own separate DVD cases!
As for the actual series - I liked it immensely. The crazy and sometimes touching antics of this group of oddballs hit just the right chord with me.
I'm not a sitcom lover really, although some (Scrubs for instance) are better than most. The Spaced team, however, kept my interest up mainly through the Sci-Fi aspect (of which I'm a fan). I always like those little references. If you're keen on that side of things then the DVD has a special feature just for you! I only discovered the feature on the second disk! Doh.
Basically, as well as the normal subtitles, there is a second subtitle selection that points out the pop-culture references as they appear on screen. It's a big help when you sometimes hear a reference and it leave you thinking 'There's a joke there somewhere but I've no idea where'.
I watched each episode again with the commentaries - all were worth listening to, more for the comedy than for the factual side of things I suppose.
All in all - I enjoyed both disks (I did think there'd be more easter eggs though) and will be tuning in for the third series (if or when it appears). Tivo is set ready!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, bizzare comedy. Hurrah!, 2 Nov 2004
By A Customer
After seeing a few episodes of Spaced when it was broadcast and really liking it, I recently thought that the box set sounded like a good idea! I really, really love this show, and it is the kind that improves every time you watch it. A sit-com like no other, its relaxed, sureal attitude is wonderful, and offering, as in shaun of the dead, a wonderful array of guest stars of british comedy. See stars from The Office, League of Gentlemen, and Black Books pop up, as well as others. The characters themselves are wonderfully constructed, totally believable despite of (or perhaps because of!) their quirkness and weirdness! you will find yourself loving them, especially Tim and Daisy. The influence of Science fiction and the like is wonderfuly integrated, its wonderful if you get the references but totally OK if you don't.
The extras are pretty damn good as well, so the box set is worth buying just for them! The end of the documentary was wonderful, and without giving anything away, made me pathetically excited!
In short, one of my new favourite shows, and if you like much British comedy at the moment you will probably like this. If you like Shaun of the Dead you will probably like this too, as it is easy to see how much Spaced influenced the film. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever boys..., 6 May 2006
By 
Poor Napoleon (TX United States) - See all my reviews
I finally sought out Spaced after hearing how wonderful it was in reviews for Shaun of the Dead. I'm so glad I picked it up. It is by far one of the best britcoms you won't see stateside. Spaced works on so many levels. It is chock full of cult and pop culture references, catering to the slacker twenty-somethings the show represents.

I love the show because as outrageous as it is at times, the characters are genuine. Instead of US show ala Friends, or Seinfeld (love the latter, hate the former), the characters here aren't residing in NYC with successful careers, milking up a seemingly picture perfect high life, while canned laughter roars in the background. Instead, we are garnered with characters who just struggle to keep work, spend time making cult references, playing paintball, and languishing over an artistic career that may not come to be. In other words, a show about much of us.

In between the lovable characters are the numerous references. Movies like Star Wars, the Shining, and Manhattan are spoofed while a number of british shows that I have not had the pleasure to watch are also referenceced. That you don't get every gag is OK. The series has so much original wit and likeable characters (and Twist), that there is much for everyone.

The actors in this show are hilarious, namely for their spot on deadpan delivery. Again, despite the hilarity of the situations, Simon Pegg and co have a dry kind of humor about them. The writing is very direct in-your-face humor mixed with plenty of subtle nuances that make you have to watch the show at least twice to catch every single little gag.

The side players are great too. My favorite would have to be Mark Heap, as the kind of freakish artist type. He is a holdover with Simon Pegg from Big Train and does a wonderful job here. The album is also chock full of guests like comedian Bill Bailey and the Office's Ricky Gervais also make appearances. It's a must see that I hope also gets its way to the US!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spaced is the best sit com ever, 20 April 2004
By 
mixedcasesspaces (Ealing, London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Spaced series 1 and 2 in one box. If you've seen Shaun of The Dead thenyou'll like Spaced as it's co-written by Simon Pegg and directed by EdgarWright (the writers of Shaun Of The Dead). This is a superbly written sitcom... every shot, every line and every joke has been thought about a lotand honed to perfection. It's more of a work of art than a sit com.
Actually that's a bit over the top, but it really is well made and veryvery funny. It's funny because the characters feel like they could beyour mates - it's not just a load of one liners fitted around a situation,it's a bunch of funny guys and girls who are funny in their own right.
Also it's spectacularly well directed: shot like a film would be, which isunusual for a sit com but works very well.
So, it's excellent, and the extras on the DVDs make it even better. It'sworth re-watching the whole series with the comentary track turned on, asthis in itself is pretty funny. The two DVDs in the box set are the sameas the DVDs you can buy individually.
By this now!
Mark. (mixedcasesspaces)
PS: if you can't work out how to get the 'homage-o-meter' to work, thesecret is that you have to switch on subtitles track 2 (it's not very wellexplained on the DVD case)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DVD Boxset for the XY/MTV/Why(?) Generation., 14 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm actually just 3 months older than Tim in Spaced (Simon Pegg's actually 4 years older according to Wikipedia!) so I totally relate to the slacker don't-know-what-I-want-and-can't-really-be-arsed-when-I-get-it generation characters in this most excellent Ultimate Spaced DVD boxset.

Even bought the 3 DVD boxset after buying the original 2 DVDs. (Gave the original 2 DVDs away to a friend, but sneakily kept the inlay sheets for the 3 DVD boxset ;-)!)

Also bought an old Playstation just so I could play games featured in Spaced like Tomb Raider or Resident Evil 2. (Which I'm still rubbish at as I've never really been able to move on from a ZipStick Pro on an Amstrad CPC 464!)

The flat hunting, the job hunting, the language of Pop Culture they speak, the I-still-like-kids-stuff-even-though-I'm-way-too-old thing, and the characters being ordinary, everyday, real, directionless screwed up misfits, the endless Star Wars/Evil Dead references, it's all there! And that's before the most excellent deadpan humour utilized with Robocop like precision throughout.

I especially relate to Tim's dissapointment with 'The Phantom Menace' along with probably the rest of the Prequal trilogy. (Thank god for the novelizations, they really fill in the gaps!)

Anyway, Spaced is THE British Comedy Boxset to get if you're budget is a bit tight on JSA. Also great for showing the older generation who don't understand our generation or the younger generation who haven't had decent kids TV since Jamie Oliver's anti-junkfood advertising campaign and the 'Dick And Dom In Da Bungalow' baby birthing target practice episode (which I sadly missed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bizarre Spaced - one to watch again and again, 14 Sep 2004
By A Customer
An eclectic mix of film genre styles and multiple references to classic and well known flicks, this is a genuinely funny and watchable comedy with a sharp wit mixed amongst classic silly and sight gags seemingly aimed at the 18-35 market who will get all the references from robot wars, star wars and many others.
The sharp editing and quick verbal battles mix well with the romantic comedy aspect as well as the eccentric tortured artist and drunken lonely land lady sub-plots. If you liked Shaun of the Dead you will be pleased to know that the spaced series format is similar using sharp camera switches and intelligent banter(if you like spaced please watch Shaun of the Dead it is hilarious!!) and features Simon, Jessica and others. The 'resident evil' homage episode is where they got the inspiration to make the film.
The first series IMHO is better than the second, but the value for the amounts of hours viewing can't be argued with - there are a hell of a lot of features and they show that most of the cast and especially the leads seem like funny and mad characters, there are trailers, outakes, commentaries and more
Weird yes, entertaining yes, understandable...mostly - more that your normal sitcom - definately. (but if you already have the series' this doesn't add that much new to buy it again - but if you haven't got it this is the one to buy!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spaced, the funniest frontier, 13 Jan 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, where to start? Tim (Simon Pegg) and Daisy (Jessica Stevenson) meet up in a cafe having got nowhere to live. After ceaseless searching they find a flat but it's for a professional couple only. What to do? Pretend to be a professional couple and get the flat. And it works, the only trouble is, they have to keep up the pretence that there a couple. Cue holding hands in the corridor and fake sex noises. This is no ordinary sitcom, and all the better for it; it's quite simply brilliant! The whole show is crammed with film references, most of them to do with Star Wars, but the great thing about it is that even if you don't get the film references it's still a great show in it's own right. Everyone can watch this show because there's something that everyone can relate to; a group of 20 something people struggling through life, falling out and making up with each other on the way though a number of jobs that they don't want wondering when things will get better. It's so much like my life that it's quite scary! Apart from the fantastic writing, the other thing about this show are the characters. You've got Tim and Daisy and the whole will they, won't they senario, alcoholic landlady Marsha, played brilliantly by Julia Deakin, flirting with modern artist Brian (Mark Heap) who lives downstairs in filth and squalor. However, he finds happiness in the shape of Daisys best friend Twist (Katy Carmicheal) who works in fashion, or the local dry cleaning shop. Lastly but by no means least, in fact in someways he's the star of the show, you've got Tims best friend Mike (Nick Frost). Mikes a gentle guns obbsessed member of the TA who would have joined the regular army if he hadn't jumped out of a tree when he was younger and detatched both of his retinas. Infact, at the start of the series he's not even in the TA, as he was thrown out for stealing a tank and trying to invade Paris so he has to make do with combat canoeing and all terrain rambling in the rough ramblers.Even the minor characters who only pop up every so often are brilliantly crafted and complete, you feel as if you know all of them and have done all your life. A lot of the credit also has to go to the fantastic direction of Edgar Wright. The camera work and use of flash backs and montages' set's this sitcom apart from all the others. While it deals with ordinary issues, it's always teetering on the edge of reality and you expect it to go crashing over at any minute which is why it's so brilliant.
The boxset it's self is tremendous.3 DVDs, both series, a bonus disc of material including a documentry "Skip to the end" where they visit the places where they filmed. You've got commentry, deleted scenes, biographies, out takes, trailers and much more; it's very good value for money.
So in conclusion, buy this DVD, get some Jaffa Cakes and watch it all in one go while sitting on a bean bag wearing a beanie. If you don't know what I'm talking about, watch Spaced and you will. Oi Oi, you lucky people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a 90s TV gem, 25 Nov 2011
really funny, and a piece of pure 90s TV. Simon and Nick will one day be seen as the saviours of the British sci-fi sitcom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spaced - Definitive Collectors' Edition [DVD]
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews