Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing
I kept hearing Wogan playing his single When Will I See Your Face Again and felt the need to get this CD as soon as it is released. The album is easy listening, almost melancholic with lots of acoustic guitar and piano at the background. It is definitely a class of its own with pretty genuine tunes and certainly a lot of credit is given to this talent for such a superb...
Published on 26 Sept. 2007 by Anistitis

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pleasant
If you like Ray Lamontagne like me, you may find this a bit tame in comparison.He has a pleasant voice and a talent to write a pleasant song. Try Stephen fretwell and Tom Mcrae if you like this album.
Published on 26 April 2010 by M. Spooner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 26 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Park Bench Theories (Audio CD)
I kept hearing Wogan playing his single When Will I See Your Face Again and felt the need to get this CD as soon as it is released. The album is easy listening, almost melancholic with lots of acoustic guitar and piano at the background. It is definitely a class of its own with pretty genuine tunes and certainly a lot of credit is given to this talent for such a superb album. I have never heard his stuff before but I understood it's quite different from his previous ones. Somehow he reminds me of a more cheerful Beth Orton.

Get this, close your eyes and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so underrated for so long, 27 Aug. 2007
By 
Em! (Southampton, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Park Bench Theories (Audio CD)
Jamie Scott has the most beautiful voice and his songs are amazing! thats a FACT! i downloaded some of his solo tunes a couple of years ago and have listened to them pretty much non-stop since then! so this album is like a gift of pure joy! his earlier stuff was, in my opinion, more RnB/Soul...now its guitar driven acoustic greatness. i'm listening to the album right now and its so great, i think everyone who like James Blunt or James Morrison should buy Park Bench Theories as soon as they humanly can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new voice that is a joy to listen to, 28 July 2008
This review is from: Park Bench Theories (Audio CD)
This album has all that a great piece of music needs. Jamie's songs are heartfelt, melodic and uplifting. His voice has a beautiful tembre and combining it with the jazzy/bluesy feel in some songs like a "Love song to remember" provides a knockout performance and as a rsult a solid 'must have' album.

Also having seen him sing live I have to mention that a live performance by Jamie surpasses the recording by at least a factor of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is worth reading the reviews, 27 July 2010
By 
Sheumais (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read about Jamie in one of the Sunday supplements or a magazine a few years ago and the article was so enthusiastic I thought I should keep an eye open for him. Nothing much seemed to happen, except the release of an unremarkable single (which, thankfully, isn't on this album). Quite what brought him to mind recently I couldn't tell you, but I had a look on Amazon to see if he had released an album and what the general consensus on it was. The almost unanimous approval suggested Jamie was being wrongly ignored, so I bought the album on the basis of these reviews and have to say thank you to everyone who recommended it.

I have never regretted buying this album and listen to it often, with the last track, Untitled, a particular favourite. I have heard a great deal worse rapturously greeted by the music media and hope Jamie is not too disheartened by their ignorance. This album strongly deserves to be much more widely heard and I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where has this album been all my life??, 15 Feb. 2012
By 
valleygull78 (Merthyr Tydfil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Park Bench Theories (Audio CD)
10/10. Amazing album.
I fortunately came across this album whilst browsing on itunes and sampled a few tracks. After 3 songs I was smitten so ordered it straight away..
If ur a lover of the James crowd (Blunt, Morrison) then buy this!! It's mixed with subtle tunes, catchy chorus's and heartwarming lyrics that get you right from track one.
I'm a massive singer/songwriter fan and this guy ranks up there with the best... like I mentioned earlier, there are soft hints of Morrison and Blunt, with a twist of Ray Lamontagne, mixed in with the writing qualities of Glen Hansard.
With these ingredients, the mixture is a cocktail of pure bliss to the ears, so I recommend you to buy the cd, sit down, put your feet up with your headphones on and forget the world for a moment because Jamie Scott will take you to music's very own Wonderland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jamie Scott, 19 Sept. 2007
By 
Bj Lucas "saculnamron" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Bench Theories (Audio CD)
with his briilaint smooth as honey voice he's a breath of fresh air. Not often a voice makes me sit up and take notice on the very forst listen, but, his certainly did. I bought his album and listened to it straight away, I couldn't wait. My park bench Theory is that young /jamie is going to be one of the brightest young stars of this year. with his honey voice and face to match . Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jamie Scott a little known Excellent Singer, 24 April 2010
By 
Michael Lacy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
BRILLIANT ! Jamie is a little known artist who (in my opinion) should have done a lot more music and should be recognised for his true brilliance.

Go buy it buy it buy it if your kind of music is the likes of Paulo Nutini, James Taylor, James Blunt or Morrison...... You'll luv Jamie Scott

My partner Rita introduced me to Jamie Scott "Now I would like to introduce YOU"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 14 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Park Bench Theories (Audio CD)
There's not a lot else to be said really. I first heard the track Standing In The Rain at my hairdressers and loved it so looked for the CD. From the first play it is amazing and gets better the more you listen to it. Do not even compare this to James Blunt, Jamie is by far the better of the two, more original, entertaining, the depth is amazing. Can't wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Debut Album!, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
This review is from: Park Bench Theories (Audio CD)
Took a chance on buying this album...after hearing his rendition of Bleeding love on YouTube.
I have to say that I've listened to the album a few times now and I think it's great! Just love his soulful voice, and the mellow tunes.
I've heard him be compared to James Blunt...but I actually think Jamie Scott is better!
So was it worth buying this album...definetely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 8 Feb. 2008
By 
Mrs. D. A. Waterhouse (BRADFORD, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Park Bench Theories (Audio CD)
Jamie Scott is definatly better than James Blunt, there's no comparison!
What a superb album, played it more than once a day ever since I bought it.
Done a copy for my car too.
You won't be disappointed if you buy this, I Promise.
Can't wait to see him live.
Well done Jamie xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Park Bench Theories
Park Bench Theories by Jamie Scott (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews