Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars319
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2012
I'm not going to do a traditional review for this set: it looks great, it sounds great, it's dirt-cheap, and that's pretty much all you need to know. Other reviews will go into more detail about these things.

What I AM going to do here is clear up a bit of confustion regarding the special features and whatnot. While the backs of the individual Blu-ray cases seem to list all of the extras, they are NOT complete and do not mention several of the extras that are actually on the discs. The reviews on here listing the features are just taken from the backs of the boxes, so hopefully this will make everything clear. So, without further ado, here's the full list. (All special features are from the original 2-disc DVDs unless stated otherwise.)

SPIDER-MAN

Spider Sense Trivia Challenge (Blu-ray exclusive)
Spider-Man Cutting Room (Blu-ray exclusive)
Commentary by Filmmakers and Cast
Commentary by Visual Effects Designer and Crew
Commentary by Tobey Maguire and J.K. Simmons (previously only available on the Region 1 "Superbit" DVD release, making it the first time this commentary has been released in Europe)
Spider-Man: The Mythology of the 21st Century documentary
HBO Making of Spider-Man
"Spider-Mania" - an E! Entertainment Special
Director & Composer Profiles
Behind the Scenes of Spider-Man (7 featurettes previously only available on the 3-disc Deluxe Edition DVD from 2004)
Webisodes (previously only available via multi-angle branching on the original DVD; they are presented here as separate features)
Screen Tests
Gags & Outtakes
Music Videos
TV Spots
Original Theatrical Trailer

SPIDER-MAN 2 / SPIDER-MAN 2.1 (original availability of extras in parenthesis)

Commentary by Cast & Crew (2)
Technical Commentary (2)
Commentary by Laura Ziskin & Alvin Sargent (2.1)
Blooper Reels (2)
Hero in Crisis featurette (2)
Ock-Umentary - 8 Arms to Hold You featurette (2)
Making the Amazing - A 12 Part Documentary (2)
VFX Breakdowns (2.1)

SPIDER-MAN 3

Commentary with Director & Cast
Filmmakers' Commentary
Bloopers
Photo Galleries
Music Video "Signal Fire" by Snow Patrol
Trailers

SO WHAT'S MISSING?

Even though this set contains more extras than at first glance, it still doesn't contain everything from the DVDs, so you may want to hang on to those if you already have them.

SPIDER-MAN

The first film by far fares the best in terms of retention of extras, and both of the features it loses are pretty disposeable:

"Weaving the Web" Trivia Track
Peter Parker's Darkroom: Photo Gallery

SPIDER-MAN 2 / SPIDER-MAN 2.1

Spider-Man 2.1 takes a big hit in the extras department, with most of its features MIA, plus a few strange omissions from the original Spider-Man 2 release:

Interwoven: The Women of Spider-Man featurette (2) [considering the other two featurettes from SM2 were included, this is a particularly glaring omission]
Spidey Sense 2 Trivia Track (2 and 2.1)
Webisodes (2)
"Enter the Web" multi-angle feature (2)
Theatrical Trailer (2)
Photo Gallery (2)
Inside 2.1 documentary (2.1)
With Great Effort Comes Great Recognition featurette (2.1)
Villains of Spider-Man 3 Featurette (2.1)
Multi-Angle Score (2.1)
Spider-Man 3 Sneak Peek featurette (2.1)

SPIDER-MAN 3

The biggest loss from the DVDs and the previous Blu-ray trilogy set from 2007 is the bonus disc of Spider-Man 3, which contains the majority of that film's extras, which leaves the one in this set pretty sparse in the bonuses department (though this is sort-of made up for by the inclusion of extras on the other 2 films unlike the 2007 trilogy). I'm not going to list all of the features that aren't on here, since I'd just be listing the contents of the second disc; suffice to say it's a lot. The first disc even says "Feature Disc" when you boot it up, and the disc itself reads "Feature Film"; obviously Disc 1 of the 2-disc set has just been stuck in a new case without its other half.

However, if you're desperate to have all of the special features on Blu-ray, you can now get the original release of SM3 for around 2 quid used, so it's really not a big deal. You can even physically place the "hinge" from the old case in the new one so that your shiny new Spider-Man 3 Blu-ray is a complete 2-disc set once again and give the spare movie disc/case to a friend, like I did.

IN THE END...

I was tempted to knock a star off of this review for the pointless exclusion of the Spider-Man 3 bonus disc, but for this price, and the host of new-to-Blu extras for the first two films, it's hard to complain. If you're an extras nut then it'll literally cost you pennies to get that disc separately if you so desire.

Three great films, one great price, if you have a Blu-ray player and you like Spider-Man then this is a no-brainer. I hope you found this review helpful.

'Nuff said!
33 comments|82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2007
Coded for all regions (A, B and C)

Spider-Man
1080P 1.85:1 Widescreen
English Dolby True HD 5.1 Surround
English Audio Description Track 5.1
Czech, Hungarian and Russian DD5.1 Surround
Subtitles: English, English HOH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovene, Swedish, Turkish

Spider-Man 2 - Also includes Spider-Man 2.1 which features 8 minutes of additional footage.
1080P 2.40:1 Widescreen
English Dolby True HD 5.1 Surround
English Audio Description Track 2.0
Czech and Polish (VO) DD5.1 Surround
Subtitles: English, English HOH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Icelandic, Polish, Romanian, Slovene, Turkish

2-Disc Special Edition release of Spider-Man 3 include...

Disc 1: Main Feature
1080P Widescreen
English PCM 5.1 (Uncompressed)
English Dolby True HD 5.1 Surround (Lossless)
English Audio Description Track
Czech, Hungarian, Russian and Polish DD5.1 Surround
Subtitles (Main Feature): English, English HOH, Dutch, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Estonian, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovene, Swedish, Turkish
Subtitles (Extras): English and Dutch (including commentaries), Greek
Commentary with Director & Cast
Filmmakers Commentary
Blooper Reel
Photo Gallery: Sketches
Photo Gallery: Paintings
Photo Gallery: Sculptures
Photo Gallery: Special Effects
Photo Gallery: Director & Cast
Music Video: Snow Patrol - Signal Fire

Disc 2: Extra Features
Easter Egg: Scoring the Blooper Reel
Easter Egg 2: Grant Curtis ADR Session
Featurette: Grains of Sand - Building Sandman
Featurette: Re-imagining the Goblin
Featurette: Covered in Black - Creating Venom
Featurette: Hanging On... Gwen Stacy & the Collapsing Floor
Featurette: Fighting, Flying & Driving - The Stunts
Featurette: Tangled Web - The Love Triangles of Spider-Man 3
Featurette: Wall of Water: The Big Dump
Featurette: Inside the Editing Room
Featurette: The Science of Sound
Featurette: On Location New York - From Rooftops to Backstreets
Featurette: On Location Cleveland - The Chase on Euclid Avenue
TV Spots Around the World: Japan, Spain, Germany, Italy, Chile, Russia, Brazil, UK
Spider-Man 3 Trailers
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
1111 comments|198 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Features the adventures of the famous webslinger as he battles numerous adversaries in SPIDER-MAN, SPIDER-MAN 2, and SPIDER-MAN 3.
In SPIDER-MAN, high school student Peter Parker gets bitten by a genetically modified spider whilst on a school trip to a University laboratory. Overnight Peter develops supernatural powers and extreme strength. At first he uses his new talents for his own material gain but Peter eventually comes to the conclusion that he must use his new found abilities to fight evil as the super-hero Spider-Man.
In SPIDER-MAN 2, Peter Parker is having problems with his double life as the superhero Spider-Man and as things get worse he decides never to be Spider-Man again. It's only when the scientist Dr Otto Octavius becomes deformed in a freak accident into Dr Octopus that he realises that only Spider-Man can stop him.
In SPIDER-MAN 3, the webbed superhero and his girlfriend, Mary Jane, get embroiled in a love triangle while he is forced to confront a new slate of dastardly villains and a power that changes his very personality.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
I will start by saying these movies are great. They still hold up and owning them on Blu-ray is worth it. To me one of the signs of a great movie is the replay value you get from it and I’ve watched the Spiderman movies countless times. The story is brilliant and I think Peter Parker is the most relatable super hero in regards to that question we get asked, what would you do if you had super powers? Remember with great power comes great responsibility.

Spiderman: Spiderman was the spring board for all the Marvel movies we have today. The movie establishes everything in the beginning, it shows us why we should care and relate to the story of Peter Parker aka Spiderman and the difficult choices he has to make along his journey.

The best bites: A bit of dialogue between former pro wrestler Macho Man Randy Savage and Tobey Maguire in a cage match.

Bonesaw - What're ya doin' up there?
Spiderman - Staying away from you. That's a cute outfit. Did your husband give it to you?

- Aunt May tells Peter he’s not Superman

The Not best bit: Kirsten Dunston screaming.

Special features include: Gags, outtakes, webisodes, a documentary on the mythology of Spiderman, screen test with Tobey Maguire, director and composer profiles of Sam Raimi and Danny Elfman, and a behind the scenes of Spiderman Costume design.

Spiderman 2: What makes the next instalment so special is you get more emotional depth from the main characters. The movie goes into how Peter’s choices affects the people around him. He tries to protect his friends and family, even though he has these amazing powers he hates how powerless he feels in relation to the people he cares about. Considering he has powers you can still identify with him, he’s has a full time job while going to school, difficulties paying his bills, and trying support his Aunt. I even noticed a little Easter egg I never caught before where Doctor Strange is mentioned at one point.

Special features include: A director’s cut of about 10mins of unseen footage, commentaries for both theatrical and extended versions of the film. It also has Blooper reels, making the Amazing a documentary, Hero in Crisis Featurette, VFX Breakdowns, and Ock-Umentary: Eight Arms. The extra footage was a delight, please be careful though the next couple sentences include potential spoilers of the added footage. The bonus scenes include more conversations with Harry and Peter and how much Harry hates Spiderman. We get a longer elevator scene with Hal Sparks chatting with Spidey. Mary Jane talks with a friend about if she is really in love with John Jameson. The best was getting to see Jonah Jameson wearing the Spiderman outfit.

The Best Bit: There is scene where Tobey Maguire or his stunt double falls from atop of a building and harshly lands on a car. It looks so realistic it still makes me clench every time I watch Spiderman 2.

The Not Best Bit: Kirsten Dunston screaming. Endless and shrill

Spiderman 3: Most people will claim that the 3rd film is terrible, and it’s actually not an awful film. The characters and the plot are similar to the first two, the problem is it’s not paced and feels rushed in regards to the introduction of new characters. I still believe it’s an entertaining movie and rounds the trilogy out well enough.

The best bit: The opening credits that recap everything from the previous two films.

The Not best bits: Kirsten Dunston screaming. Endless and shrill. Endless. Also Tobey Maguire turns into a weird goth, dances awkwardly and wears eye make-up.

Special Features Include: Cast and crew commentaries with Sam Raimi, Tobey Maguire, Kirsten Dunst, and James Franco, and Blooper reels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Firstly bought this for a great price and in a nice set. With the new hit and miss Amazing Spiderman films these are the ones to own. The first Spiderman film was a great introduction to Peter Parker and Spiderman with Tobey Maguire doing a great job as both. Good storyline with some great action scenes and overall a good plot.

Spiderman 2 - now this is where things get even better. The story is top notch and one of my all time favourite superhero films. The story is great involving Spiderman and Doc Ock as well as following on nicely with what happened in the first Spiderman film. Great action scenes again and a brilliant story that has you gripped from beginning to end. Remeber seeing this at the cinema and have loved it ever since.

Spiderman 3 - now this is where things go wrong and even Sami Rami has admitted this film stinks. It falls into the same mistakes a lot of other superhero films do. Too many villans in one movie and a plot that struggles to fit it all in. Not to mention which makes a lot of fans cringe even now 'Emo Peter Parker'

Haven't gone into too much detail rather than a quick summary as you can read full reviews elsewhere.

All I can say is that for the price this is a great buy. 2 brilliant films and one dud isn't bad going. Any spiderman fan and any superhero fan would love these films and I fully recommend adding these to your movie collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
I expected this 3 part spiderman collection to be a dvd to blu ray port but how wrong i was. The quality is awesome and well worth the cash. The brightness is amazing and although some parts can be a little dark at times its not enough to complain about. This makes me wonder why spiderman is going for a reboot movie for next year when the first 3 movies cgi still look top notch. Awesome product.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
If you like the Marvel comics and are into Superheroes, this trilogy is for you. It is not an in depth series but good entertainment about "a loser comes good". Spiderman shows human frailties and some plot issues are not resolved but it is good clean fun. Not am trilogy to watch many times but a tale about why Superhroes are what they are and even they have some shortcomings. True to to the original Spiderman.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
I own the last Spider-Man box set but the second movie won't play. It did at first but eventually neither of my players would read it (despite firmware updates.) I looked online and discovered that other people had the same problem. I ordered the new set and this seems to have been corrected. Part two plays, hallelujah!

This set is value for money, three slip cases with new artwork. Both versions of Spider-Man 2 are included. The second disc (the extras) from Spider-Man 3 are missing, this doesn't bother me as I hardly ever watch extras. The Blu-ray menus are still the same.

Extras (that weren't on the old disc.)

Spider-Man has a DTS-Master Audio 5.1 soundtrack (instead of Dolby TrueHD 5.1) and two new features exclusive to Blu-ray: Spider Sense Trivia Challenge and The Spider-man Cutting Room.

Part two has DTS, three has no DTS. Part one and two now have some of the extras from the DVD's. Three is still the same. Cheap enough to buy again even if you have the old set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
This isn't a review of the movies as I'm pretty sure if your buying this box set then your probably a fan.

This is more to let you know what extra features are available on extra disc.

Spider-man:
Commentaries
Gags & Outtakes
Webisodes
Spider-man: The Mythology of the 21st Century Documentary
HBO Making of Spider-man featurette
Director and Composer profiles: Sam Raimi and Danny Elfman
Behind the scenes of Spider-man costume design
Screen test with Tobey Maguire

Spider-man 2
Theatrical & Directors Cuts of Movie
Commentaries
Blooper reels
Hero In Crisis - Featurette
Making the Amazing - A 12 part documentary
Ock-Umentary: Eight Arms to Hold You
VFX Breakdowns

Spider-man 3 (Not the 2-disc special edition)
Cast & Filmmaker Commentaries
Blooper Reels
Trailers
Gallery
Muisc Video

For the price you can't really complain about this set. The only missing piece is the 2nd features disc from the original release of Spiderman 3 blu ray.

I myself do like the extras and find it frustrating that websites don't do more to let us know exactly what we're purchasing.... I guess that's what we're for???

Enjoy!!
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Sure Tobey McGuire looks like a permanently emo Spidey and yes Andrew Garfield is much better but try to think back to when the movies were coming out. We DID love them and think that they were brilliant.
Don't compare the old and the new. Just pick this up because it was the best thing around when it came out :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.96

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)