Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light-weight but fun.
I saw Learners when it was first broadcast, and liked it but not enough to buy it till the price had dropped a bit.

On second viewing it was better than I remembered. There are some great comedy moments, some touching scenes, and it is a good cast with no real weak links even down to the really rather small roles of the driving school's other learners and Bev's...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by tiggrie AKA Sarah

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, no brainer.
As someone trying to get through my test, I was looking forward to this as a bit of light entertainment. Bev has failed her test eight times and is hoping that her new instructor (David Tennant) can help her pass.

It started out well. Bev was likeable and her driving made for some real comedy moments. However, I did feel that the scriptwriter couldn't quite...
Published on 14 Nov 2007 by Bezerus Bezby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Learners, 5 April 2012
By 
E. Lombard "Lizasaurus" (Melbourne, Victoria, AU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Although not a brilliant film we thoroughly enjoyed it mainly because of David Tennant. He is such a good actor and in this film he plays the nerd to perfection. Any David Tennant fan will enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Above-average drama; nice little curiosity for Doctor Who viewers, 16 July 2010
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good, solid, above-average drama which veers - rather like Bev's driving - between drama and comedy. For Doctor Who aficionados it is something of a cast reunion, Shaun Dingwall and Jessica Hynes both having appeared with Tennant in that show; and while Dingwall performs the down-on-his-luck wheeler-dealer in both, Hynes and Tennant get to play very different characters from those in their sci-fi outings.

All of the cast give it their all, although Tennant - despite his image being used to promote the programme - is actually not in it very much. This is very much about Hynes's Bev, and Tennant's Chris gets very little character development. It is worth watching the short scenes of Tennant as Chris more than once to see how the actor puts in little gestures and movements that provide more depth to the character's emotions than the script alone; and, as in ITV's 2005 drama 'Secret Smile', his character is a world away from the Time Lord. Hynes too shows off her range as an actor; watch this, then see her performances in Doctor Who as an Edwardian nurse and a little cameo as that character's descendant in Tennant's Who swan-song. Also worth appreciating are the actors playing the other driving school clients, who all have their own idiosyncrasies.

Otherwise, the story suffers from not being very funny; it would have been better-sold as a light drama. Worth watching if you admire the cast and in particular if you have ever been a learner driver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learners - a gentle comedy drama, 4 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
We were lucky enough to go to the premiere of Learners at BAFTA in London on 3rd October.
Written by, as well as starring, Jessica Hynes, Learners has the feel of a fictional - and much funnier - version of 'Driving School'. Bev (Jessica Hynes) having failed 8 driving tests with her partner's help (Shaun Dingwall) and desperate to pass, turns to a professional instructor Chris (David Tennant)for help. Chris' endless patience seems to result in him being surrounded by all the driving school's no-hopers (a wonderful set of characters!) none of which he will give up on. The result is a gentle comedy drama that is suitable for the whole family but no less enjoyable for it.

Jessica Hynes had to pass her test to do the driving scenes in Learners and did so, at the 3rd attempt, not long before filming started - so no difficulty getting into character then!

Of course the fact that my Doctor Who mad daughter found herself surrounded by very kindly Doctor Who stars who had come along to the premiere certainly didn't detract from the experience ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learners, 13 April 2009
By 
Maria Fischer (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Being a David Tennant fan anyway, not because he is Dr. Who but because he is a versatile actor, my heart was warmed by yet another example of him bringing a character to life in such a manner that one cannot be but moved and - in this case - smiling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gentle Comedy with Likeable Characters, 18 Mar 2009
By 
Ruth Fanshaw "Happy Odd Girl" (Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Although I believe this didn't get wide critical acclaim, I find it very enjoyable - and that's not just because of the presence of David Tennant, although obviously that's a plus... :)

I very much like the fact that the 'hero' is just an ordinary nice bloke. Also, as a Christian myself, I found it quite refreshing to see one of us portrayed as neither a raving "fundamentalist" nor a hypocrite. Personally, I would have liked to have seen the stories of the other driving school pupils developed a bit more, but I suppose that would have taken a whole series to do properly - there just wasn't room in a one-off.

It's not high drama, and it's not laugh-a-minute, but then it's not meant to be. However, if you like a gentle comedy with likeable people in it, I definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 24 Nov 2008
By 
L. Lambourne (Wirral, Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to this being on the TV so much, as at the time I was trying to pass my driving test. As a big David Tennant fan I knew it would be good. I loved it, it was such a feel good show. Everyone wants a driving instructor like Chris - mine was actually like him! It had the wonderful Con O'Neill in it as well which just made the show even better. I passed my test 4th time not long after watching this. Definitely a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 8 Mar 2008
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
i thought learners was great. Being a big fan of david tennant i just had to watch it. the characters jessica hynes has created are brilliant. the geeky instructor, the buddhist business owner, another driving instructor (a small part but absolutley genius!) definitley a good buy for anybody whether a david tennant or jessica hynes fan or not you will love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geeks r Us, 2 April 2009
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
It stars DT, he's brilliant, what else do you need to know? If you are an avid fan this is a great addition to your collection.It's about as different from the doctor as you can get ( the hair especially !!) ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learners, 11 Feb 2009
By 
L. Uhrig (On, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Learners is such a sweet and funny movie. All the actors did their best to make that movie a real *feel good* movie. It also shows that David Tennant can do so much more then *just* the Doctor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Harry Fan "CEG" (Louisville, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for David Tennant's appearance, but the entire cast was very good. The movie is a sweet story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD]
Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] by Francesca Joseph (DVD - 2007)
14.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews