Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light-weight but fun.
I saw Learners when it was first broadcast, and liked it but not enough to buy it till the price had dropped a bit.

On second viewing it was better than I remembered. There are some great comedy moments, some touching scenes, and it is a good cast with no real weak links even down to the really rather small roles of the driving school's other learners and Bev's...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by tiggrie AKA Sarah

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, no brainer.
As someone trying to get through my test, I was looking forward to this as a bit of light entertainment. Bev has failed her test eight times and is hoping that her new instructor (David Tennant) can help her pass.

It started out well. Bev was likeable and her driving made for some real comedy moments. However, I did feel that the scriptwriter couldn't quite...
Published on 14 Nov 2007 by Bezerus Bezby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light-weight but fun., 2 Mar 2009
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Learners when it was first broadcast, and liked it but not enough to buy it till the price had dropped a bit.

On second viewing it was better than I remembered. There are some great comedy moments, some touching scenes, and it is a good cast with no real weak links even down to the really rather small roles of the driving school's other learners and Bev's workmates. ("Ukrainian Ivana" is fantastic!)

I was especially impressed with the two children: good performances from these two youngsters.

Anyone who has seen David Tennant in anything else will not be at all surprised to learn that he plays geeky-but-cute driving instructor ably, with his usual wonderful comic timing and also his ability to convey compassion, pathos and sadness seemingly at will.

Hynes is sometimes a touch shrill but often very funny as multi-failing learner driver Bev. This is not maybe quite as convincing a performance or writing as she has produced elsewhere (notably in Spaced with Simon Pegg); it's above average, just not quite to her usual high standards. She does have some lovely moments, both comic and serious, and she pulls off several scenes that are very important to her character with aplomb.

Shaun Dingwell is also good as her longsuffering husband, though his character seems to flip between a sympathetic man who we pity and a bit of a good for nothing grumbler who shouts at his wife for being no good at driving. Realistic to a certain extent, but the two sides of this role never really mesh; a common problem with several of the characters.

The script is a little uneven, and I think many of the rough edges are due to this. I would agree with a previous reviewer who remarked that it doesn't know what it wants to be - drama, comedy, love story, what? Some films manage to pull all these different genres off in one package, Learners never really manages it. It's funny, sweet, mostly quite light-hearted, with some good performances, and is certainly nice feel-good, above average telly, but it can't quite pull itself up into excellent.

The DVD is very plain and simple (the disc doesn't even have the right rating on it, or did I get a duff one?), with scene selection and optional subtitles. Great picture and sound, but it does seem an opportunity missed - am I the only one who longs for a set of bloopers and unintended improvs from this great comic cast? That alone would have been worth the purchase price!

Don't expect brilliance; overall, though, it's very enjoyable fluff, which I am sure I will watch again whenever I need a bit of feelgood comedy. Well worth a fiver, and 4 stars for a brilliant cast and a good if flawed script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really impressed., 17 Nov 2007
By 
Mrs. E. J. Rogerson "Em Rog" (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
My husband and I had heard about "Learners" and are big fans of Dr Who but hadn't planned to watch this. We caught the beginning by accident and ended up abandoning plans to watch a dvd as it was so good.

Wonderfully written characters who are quirky and real, a lovely story and something we will definitely watch again. My only complaint is that it didn't last longer!

I'd definitely watch anything else Jessica Hynes writes in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, no brainer., 14 Nov 2007
By 
Bezerus Bezby "Bez" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
As someone trying to get through my test, I was looking forward to this as a bit of light entertainment. Bev has failed her test eight times and is hoping that her new instructor (David Tennant) can help her pass.

It started out well. Bev was likeable and her driving made for some real comedy moments. However, I did feel that the scriptwriter couldn't quite decide if it was a comedy or a drama. At times, there were some genuinely touching moments, but on the whole, this is really only an average programme. There wasn't really enough of David Tennant's character and far too much of the Buddest driving school owner, who started out being horrible and then rapidly had a personality transplant.

I feel that this was a good effort, but there was something missing. Certainly enjoyable, but instantly forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet film, 26 April 2014
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this on the Beeb,then got the disc a while back It is all very low-key, ,but It has a certain charm,and actually improves with each viewing David Tennant is playing 'plain', but still has something about him! He couldn't do ' ugly',if he tried! If you take it for what it is, a low budget film where not-a- lot happens,it is a truly charming little film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not great, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I wasnt really impressed with the story. The dvd is good condition but i cannot recommend the film at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Film and Great Fun!, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
David Tennant plays a conscientious, asthmatic driving instructor who works with his learners' eccentricities to put them through their test - successfully whenever possible.

Fab film and great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Learners, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
A bit lame! something to watch on a rainy afternoon. Where did the script writers come from - childrens' TV?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Few funny bits, enjoyed this because could relate to her driving, love David Tennant, especially in single father. Worth a watch but maybe not one of my top ten favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but a movie not a series, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was a series not a movie. it was pretty funny but overpriced for a short movie, but i did enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't enjoy this as much as I wanted to. It was too shallow. There wasn't enough of anything to feel things for the characters. Had the series been longer, we probably would have had the chance to love all the characters, but by the end of it, I just felt a bit...nothing. It'll make you smile but not laugh out loud. It's also like a Dr.Who Reunion with The Doctor (DT), Nurse thingy from The Family of Blood and Pete Tyler. Mostly enjoyable for that, and for Stevie from Miranda. Wanted more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD]
Learners (BBC) [2007] [DVD] by Francesca Joseph (DVD - 2007)
£14.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews