Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty damn good. Buy it!
As a former pool lifeguard there's no way I would let anyone in the pool with something like that dangling round their neck. The cord is big enough to go round the waist though, which is a little safer. If your local pool would let you wear it then buy it. It really is fully waterproof and you can just about work the MP3 .... if you know where all the buttons are. It's...
Published on 30 Mar. 2008 by D. Bates

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's the thing... and a later bad thing
This product is a complete bargain, but could do with a little advice on how to use it.

1/ I wouldn't go swimming with a new Nano in it. However, for my old shuffle, it is perfect.

2/ Remove the lanyard, unless you are just paddling, or walking on rainy days. For swimming it gets in the way and is potentially dangerous.

3/ Put the pouch...
Published on 6 Dec. 2009 by D. V. Glasgow


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty damn good. Buy it!, 30 Mar. 2008
By 
D. Bates (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
As a former pool lifeguard there's no way I would let anyone in the pool with something like that dangling round their neck. The cord is big enough to go round the waist though, which is a little safer. If your local pool would let you wear it then buy it. It really is fully waterproof and you can just about work the MP3 .... if you know where all the buttons are. It's really difficult to see the screen but I just select my album before getting in.
It's better to use with an armband than using the cord. In fact it would be better if it was easier to secure the bottom of the pack with an armband but there's no real effective way to do that. A small armband fits in the top OK though. However, these really are small gripes and I would definitely recommend this rather than really crap waterproof MP3s that are out there as, no one really has anything good to say about them, and they cost the earth whereas this is only 4 pound something.
It is important to buy a good set of earphones though. But that's another story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, shame its not stronger, 11 Mar. 2010
By 
Louise Goodridge (Amersham, Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
This is the second of these bags I have bought and I have now bought another one. The reason? It is absolutely fantastic at keeping your MP3 player waterproof provided you don't make a hole in the bag with your keys! It has 3 grip closures (like a zip-lock bag#, a lip at the end of the opening and then you roll the top section up and fasten it with velcro. All this stops the water from entering. As long as you make sure you do all that, it is completely waterproof.

It does not come with waterproof earphones so you either need to have some #as I had) or you need to purchase them seperately.
The plastic looks like it is going to be hard to see through as it is opaque, but actually it is not a problem. However, it is very delicate and just the tiniest hole will let water in and destroy your MP3 player. Make sure you check it every time you use it and just to be on the safe side don't use an expensive iPod, just a cheap MP3 will do.

It is great value for money. I have seen others much more expensive and they are of no better quality.

The cord is long enough to be able to put the pouch around your waist which works well when your swimming as it doesn't get in the way or try to strangle you.

I swim for between 1 - 2 hours and it copes really well with no water coming in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's the thing... and a later bad thing, 6 Dec. 2009
By 
D. V. Glasgow "DVG" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
This product is a complete bargain, but could do with a little advice on how to use it.

1/ I wouldn't go swimming with a new Nano in it. However, for my old shuffle, it is perfect.

2/ Remove the lanyard, unless you are just paddling, or walking on rainy days. For swimming it gets in the way and is potentially dangerous.

3/ Put the pouch on a lightweight nylon belt like the sort supplied with walking trousers

4/Put your MP3 player in the pouch backed by a little folded kitchen roll. If a couple of drops get in (happens occasionally after long immersion, or nylon zips not properly closed), the tissue will absorb them, and they won't destroy your MP3 player. (Make sure the controls face outward!)

5/ Gently push air out of the pouch and press along the innermost nylon ziplock seal. Make sure it is engaged along the whole length. Repeat for other two seals, and fold over top until tightly held by velcro.

6/ Clean your ears before use! The headphones go in a long way, and .... well you know...

7/ Once you're ready to swim, clip the belt on with the pouch over your outer right bum cheek (if right handed), and route the headphones up your back and into your ears from behind (sounds weird, but it works)

8/ Tuck excess headphone lead under your belt at the back. You want enough free to let you move your head (especially if you are breathing at the side), but don't want loops to drag and snag.

Swim!

The sound isn't fantastic, and of course the water makes a lot of noise around your head, but I found I could swim longer and harder listening to my favourite sounds.

If I hadn't had to work out the above, I would have given this product 5 stars. However, for the price, and the banishment of boredom whilst swimming, it definitely earns 4.

David Glasgow

**UPDATE**
Damned thing let in water and killed my iPod. I have now invested in a proper waterproof case from H20 audio

H2O Audio Surge Interval 4 Waterproof Headphone System

Reviewed it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Mar. 2009
By 
C. Etherson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
No more boring lengths of the pool. Be careful where you put it tho' as it floats! I tuck it into my goggles or hat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective cheap option but doesn't last forever, 26 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
I have now bought three of these. They are cheap, convenient and work well - although you might want to order a better pair of headphones than the ones that come bundled. However, I have found that after repeated use the seals begin to go - perhaps it's the chlorine in the pool that gradually rots them. Fortunately I have always spotted this before they leaked badly, so no lasting damage to my iPod, but you do need to keep an eye on the seals and be prepared to replace the pouch every six months or so. Also, I would advise putting a little bit of tissue in under your iPod to mop up any drops that leak through - this has saved my iPod from getting wet on a couple of occasions. Overall, a decent and useful product - and about £70 cheaper than buying a proper underwater mp3 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite, 24 Aug. 2009
By 
Flaco "flacolito" (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
As a product for keeping your player dry (which is it's prime purpose), it scores 100%. There's no way the water will get in as the sealing mechanism is really robust, albeit a little bit fiddly. And it floats, too, so no problems there.

Where it falls down completely for me is that the type of plastic used is the equivalent of frosted glass - I can't see what's on the player's screen! Annoyingly for me too, is that the type of player I have has a mechanical rotary dial so that if I want to do any list navigation, volume control, etc., then I have to open the pouch and reseal it all over again (assuming I could see what was on the screen in the first place). If you're going near water, you'd be silly not to have this or something similar, but with certain players you'll need to make playlists in advance, set your volume and equaliser as best you can and make do.

3 stars seems a bit harsh for a product that performs it's main purpose brilliantly, but not being able to read what's on the screen because they didn't use clear plastic is just plain stupid. Also, because of the thick grade of the plastic, if your player has any small and fiddly buttons (especially side mounted), you won't be able to activate them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more boring swimming, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
I was dubious about putting my nice MP3 player into a plastic bag and going swimming but the GO DRY has been excellent, not a single drop of water has got in and I go swimming, including being fully immersed under the water, every day.The bag has 3 ziplocs and a velcro strip which keeps it airtight. The MP3 player is connected to a built-in jack plug and your ear-pieces plug into a watertight socket on the outside of the bag (I bought waterproof earpieces separately). There is a carry-cord that allows you to wear the bag over your shoulder, but I prefer to strap mine to my arm (using one of those stretchy joint bandages) as it is otherwise possible to catch your hands on the earpiece wire while you are swimming. Superb service and communication from Amazon and Gadgets4Travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little bulky, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
Great product for iphone/ipod etc
Gifted to sister and a friend who have either trashed their ipods previously whilst doing cleaning about the house with water or playing with children by the pool or in art rooms - easy to hang around your neck and connect your head phones to the pouch. Waterproof and seems to work well from them. However a little bulky for the ipod as the opening and closing part has to be rolled over three times and has three parts to seal before closing the pouch - but guess that is what makes it water proof!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and Cheerful, 13 Feb. 2013
By 
Timothy P. Dawson (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
You get what you pay for... Yep works great at keeping the water out. Bit fiddly to get the plug located and the plastic is stiff. There are 3 snap "sandwich bag" seals which wrap over with velcro. this works OK but after a couple of months 2 seals have split at the edge seam due to usage. Wouldn't risk it with an expensive MP3 now but worked well when new.
Connector has been OK.
Love the idea of having the MP3 with me in the pool/sauna etc so will try a different make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Fat Surveyor (N. Yorkshire. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch (Electronics)
It is a well made and worth the cost of buying when balance against the cost of a replacement MP3 or other. The only problem I have is the stiffness of the material it is constructed from. I have two MP3's and both have side mounted On/Off buttons, the material makes it hard to use the switch also the seals are stiff and are suffering damage due to this. But as I said its cheap so when the time comes to replace I may look to buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Design Go DRY Sounds Waterproof MP3 Pouch
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews