Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video Poetry
This isn't really a Sci-Fi movie. It's more like a bit of video poetry. There isn't even a 'story' in the conventional sense of the word. There's a story, alright, but it's meant more to make you wonder and dream about what you're seeing.

In very simple terms, and without wanting to spoil it, a planet in the Andromeda Galaxy was dying - the atmosphere was...
Published on 18 Feb 2007 by Miguel Lopes

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm...what were you on Werner?
Ever since I saw Nosferatu decades ago I have been spellbound by most of Hertzog's films,and his 'documentaries' are in a class of their own ('Little Deiter needs to Fly' is so jaw droppingly good it stays with you for weeks afterwards) but' The Wild Blue Yonder'? Oh dear,what were you on Werner,when you made this?.It looks like it was thrown together on a wet Wednesday...
Published on 29 Dec 2011 by Russ Tattersall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm...what were you on Werner?, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] (DVD)
Ever since I saw Nosferatu decades ago I have been spellbound by most of Hertzog's films,and his 'documentaries' are in a class of their own ('Little Deiter needs to Fly' is so jaw droppingly good it stays with you for weeks afterwards) but' The Wild Blue Yonder'? Oh dear,what were you on Werner,when you made this?.It looks like it was thrown together on a wet Wednesday afternoon.At no point was I ever convinced I was watching anything other than some old NASA footage of astronauts floating round their spaceship and deep sea divers floating around under the polar ice cap.Herzogs brilliant use of haunting music ( he's partial to the Cello I think,which is no bad thing) almosts saves the day,but even this fails to lift the images from the mildly interesting.
Any of the recent BBC/Attenborough series on planet earth have set the standard when it comes image quality,particulary under sea ice footage (Frozen Planet) so even though Hertzogs footage may have looked good ten years ago it now appears dull,fuzzy and over long.
If you are a die hard Hertzog fan as I am then it is probably worth buying just for the curiosity value,but if you are looking for a really good representative film of Herzog's then this one should be near the bottom of your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video Poetry, 18 Feb 2007
By 
Miguel Lopes (Portugal, Europe) - See all my reviews
This isn't really a Sci-Fi movie. It's more like a bit of video poetry. There isn't even a 'story' in the conventional sense of the word. There's a story, alright, but it's meant more to make you wonder and dream about what you're seeing.

In very simple terms, and without wanting to spoil it, a planet in the Andromeda Galaxy was dying - the atmosphere was freezing - so the inhabitants fled in hundreds of spaceships. One ended up on Earth, one or two centuries ago. The Roswell incident was also one of their probes. But when examining the probe, people on Earth got infected, and the infection spread all over the planet. So Earth sent a manned probe to find another planet. And using advanced navigation techniques, they find a frozen planet, the 'Wild Blue Yonder'.

Now, this is not a real plot. It's a narrative, told while we are treated to great footage of an actual Space Shuttle mission - the one that launched the Galileo probe to Jupiter - and of divers beneath the Arctic ice sheet. All of these would be amazing per se, but with this narrative inviting us to dream 'what if...' and a haunting soundtrack, it becomes dreamlike.

Added to this are interviews with actual scientists describing how all of it could actually be done, adding to the actual 'plot'. A bit of a stretch, I would say, but there's where you'll have to suspend your disbelief for it to work. And it DOES work.

I particularly liked the end. But I won't spoil that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film top director, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] (DVD)
I love whacky films and this one of the best. Any film by this director worth a try, the music is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well done Werner, 4 May 2008
This review is from: Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] (DVD)
I am a Werner Herzog fan having only seen his collaborations with Klaus Kinski. This film was unlike any of those. I was was eventually won over after initially thinking the film must be some sort of joke. The soundtrack music was for me spellbinding and coupled with the images (whether they or the storyline were coherent or not seemed irrevelant)led me into a state of wondering what hidden message was here. maybe i was hoodwinked but the film touched me in a deep inexplicable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open your eyes, 7 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] (DVD)
How often do we see beneath the ice cap, floating in a world of shimmering, glittering ice? How often do we see the earth from space? If you answer 'too often', you will (a) be bored by this film, and (b) need to shake off the anaesthetic of familiarity.
Herzog's tale is of people leaving earth only to retun to it and see it as though for the first time. It is also the story of people who treat the new and wonderful as commonplace and dull. The lesson to be taken away from this is : open you eyes. Look around you as though you were an alien newly arrived on Earth.
This is a rewarding film, but NOT for those who want to be spoon-fed images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in my humble opinion..., 20 April 2009
This review is from: Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really beautiful film, it is haunting and imaginative. It is a great experiment in cinema that works wonderfully, it's rather slow but the mood it wives is fantastic. It has some really smart and deep comments on the world and how we perceive it. The lead (only) performance is really good and the music is inspired. If you believe in cinema as art you must watch this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Fantasy too far, 3 Jan 2008
By 
P. C. Reynell (Bradford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] (DVD)
Werner Herzog is one of the world's most interesting directors. Everything he does is unusual, but here he has really gone over the top. This is an intergalactic journey eventually returning to a lifeless earth. To raucous atmospheric music we are treated to scenes of weightless life in the space ship and views of the blue yonder outside. Grave academics explain the pseudoscience on which the adventure is based. The visual effects are at first striking, then bewildering and ultimately, let us admit, boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful world of Werner Herzog, 16 July 2009
By 
Tiago Batista (Portugal, Lisbon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] (DVD)
There are no words to describe the vision and insight that Wener Herzog has. A good and lastable film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poetry, 4 July 2009
By 
Room For A View - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] (DVD)
In contrast to the science fiction blockbusters of the mainstream movie industry, Herzog offers something different: in essence an inquisitive (often humorous) quasi-documentary film style that, as a whole, is made up of footage from unconnected sources, such as NASA'a archives (principally astronauts on a space shuttle mission but also the "Roswell" secret footage) and the breathtaking cinematography of Henry Kaiser underneath the Antarctic ice, which, seen as part of the central theme of the story of an alien (brilliantly portrayed by Brad Dourif), creates a film that, like Kubrick's 2001, transcends the science fiction film genre. For me Dourif's performance is outstanding as he is able to convincingly capture the intense despondency felt by the alien who is angry, sad and seemingly alone on an alien planet. The alien's diatribes (e.g. domesticated pigs and English mountaineers) and "I told you so" attitude towards humanity occasionally give way to moments of introspection and desolation. And this is the point, I think, Herzog seems to want to make, that the prospect of deep space travel is a delusion because the distances between habitable planets are so vast and the prospects for travellers is grim. I found the documentary style footage of mathematicians explaining gravitational sling shots and chaotic transport absorbing but incomprehensible. Herzog's eclectic music adds a great deal to the mood of this film particularly the "dissolving into pure light" scene which I found haunting and hypnotic as well as the last scene which brings to a close the extraordinary story of the alien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect Koyaanisqatsi, 27 Jan 2008
This review is from: Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] (DVD)
Take an hour's worth of unwanted space and undersea footage and mix with a soundtrack composed entirely of annoying arabic/balkan wailing. Add a pinch of weak sci-fi storyline and a good measure of Brad Dourif. Finally stir in a couple of scientists together with some interesting theories for flavour before releasing as a piece of art.

I like wacky, weird films and I make every effort to investigate world cinema and 'off the beaten track' movies but this was just plain boring. I've seen better efforts by film students with no budget.

My opinion? Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9d30624)

This product

Wild Blue Yonder [DVD]
Wild Blue Yonder [DVD] by Werner Herzog (DVD - 2007)
7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews