Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive, Thoughtful & Informative DVD,, 7 Jan 2008
By 
David Fitzgerald "David Fitzgerald" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this with a certain measure of expectation that I would be disappointed. Thankfully I was not, in fact I have to say that this is one of the most carefully assembled tributes to an artist that I have seen. Friends & fellow musicians (such as Ralph McTell, John Renbourn, Robin Williamson & Ashley Hutchings) bring to this project a creative & personal insight into the life and the music of Nick Drake, who remains one of England's most treasured & profoundly influential of artists. This carefully assembled DVD gives to us (who have appreciated Nick Drake from the release of his very first album - 'Five Leaves Left', which I still listen to on Vinyl) a deeper understanding & appreciation of the man & of the music. Thank you to all who made this project a possibility. This is a worthy tribute to Nick Drake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad attempt..., 23 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
There is precious little about the wonderful singer songwriter about, so this has been an appreciated offering. It is actually not bad either. It has nothing by Nick's sister Gabrielle (this is an unauthorised release and thus, not been givenb the green light by Nick's estate; this is however a respectful and balanced documentary and there is nothing to offend them) or by Joe Boyd, but there have been at least two documentaries previously done on Nick Drake and (in the nicest possible way) one tires of Joe Boyd's opinions after these two. It would be nice to have some imput from John Wood, Nick's engineer, but I can over look this as there is plenty from Trevor Dann, the writer of Nick's most recent and frankly excellent biography. His thoughts are entertaining and of interest, as one would expect.

This release will no doubt divide fans, as Nick's albums are so venerated, but I have enjoyed this dvd and would recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A portrait of a pure genius, 9 Mar 2009
By 
A. Jones (Bangor, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I discovered Nick Drake only recently, but am so glad I did. His music and his songs are truly magical, taking you off to another world entirely.

It is very sad that Nick Drake lived for so short a time, but in the time that he was with us he produced some of the most amazing work you will ever hear.

This is a great film of his life and works that I think does justice to him, and is well worth buying. I have watched it already and will watch it again and again as there is so much in here baout the man, his music and his life.

A must for Nick Drake fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I agree.., 27 Sep 2007
This review is from: Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
With the reviewer below me, there is precious little work reviewing Nick Drakes life and work for sale. This is a great dvd which is easy to watch and is presented in a way that keeps you interested. Some of the interviews on the DVD are very insightful. I learnt things about Nick I hadn't heard elsewhere previously, and i'm a big Nick fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but...., 4 Dec 2009
By 
Ste Greenall "Jethro" (Huntingdon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
...I'd have liked a few more interviews with those who worked closest with Nick. That said, ANY product that promotes what a fabulous, yet unappreciated artist he was, is good by me. I'd urge purchase of his cds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good documentary with a comprehensive view of Nick Drake's life, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Very good documentary with a comprehensive view of Nick Drake's life, would have been nice to have seen footage of Nick performing his own songs, though that is probably a rarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly well-done documentary on Nick Drake, 26 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Nick Drake's music and background analyzed and discussed by fellow musicians and biographers. This is a truly amazing feature, so intelligent, competent and revealing it feels as if every single word uttered in it could not be more relevant or precise, yet also highly emotional. A documentary that you can and probably will watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD]
Nick Drake - Under Review [2007] [DVD] by Nick Drake (DVD - 2007)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews