Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whole Lotta Love
Seal's recording career started with a Bang about 16 years ago with two terrific albums of music: startling, beautiful, stirringly sung Music. Music that touched you in places that Music seldom touches you...simultaneously on your mind, in your heart and in your soul.
Then there was a period of searching for a direction, "Human Being" and "Seal IV": both albums with...
Published on 2 Dec. 2007 by MICHAEL ACUNA

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come back Trevor.........
Seal, what a voice. A genuine artist that I have admired for his entire career. Unfortunately, I find Trevor's absence to be painfully apparent. We all have people in life that bring the best out in us and Trevor Horn certainly did this for Seal. This album doesn't have the subtle beauty and feeling of his last album and unfortunately does not conjure the groove or...
Published on 14 Nov. 2007 by Canuck's Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whole Lotta Love, 2 Dec. 2007
By 
MICHAEL ACUNA (Southern California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
Seal's recording career started with a Bang about 16 years ago with two terrific albums of music: startling, beautiful, stirringly sung Music. Music that touched you in places that Music seldom touches you...simultaneously on your mind, in your heart and in your soul.
Then there was a period of searching for a direction, "Human Being" and "Seal IV": both albums with several commendable songs but neither with the intense thought and musical follow-through of Seal's first two.
And now there is "System." From the very first sighs of "If it's in my mind, it's on my face," it is apparent that Seal is up to something different. His trademark voice, always perfectly in pitch, always big, always bold and masculine: "The time is now!..if I could fly I'd spread my wings and free you from these foolish things..." The arrangement is voluptuous with Bass and Strings and the beat dares you not to move out of your chair, whether that chair is in your dining room or in your car....and dance.
The signature song of "System" comes next and that is "Amazing" and indeed it is. In fact there are two versions of this song on this CD, one a remix by "The Thin White Duke" (Bowie maybe?) and there are two others that I know of: one by Kaskade and the other by Bill Hamel available elsewhere.
"Just Like Before," "The Right Life," "Loaded": all primo Seal...thoughtful, rough, truthful, one stronger than the former but all meshed together by the committed vocalizing by one of our premier singers.
"System" is in fact all about fun, about dancing, about Joy and mostly about shrugging off the BS of Life and moving your booty. Seal is obviously happy and wants to spread it around...and we're more than happy to accept his beneficence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 Nov. 2007
By 
Carole Berg (Chester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
After such a long wait for new album, it was definately worth the wait. Superb production, strong lyrics. This guys albums get better every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying!!!, 4 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
This is a great album! There's some fantastic tracks on here! Mostly dance tracks. Produced by the legendary Stuart Price who co-produced Madonna's mega hit "Confessions On A Dancefloor" album! The irony is that this is Seal's lowest selling album! Usually when critics say something is crap, it's actually good, and when something doesn't become too popular and mainstream, it's a secret gem.. For those of us clever enough to stumble across... This is one of those gems... Just buy it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 30 Nov. 2007
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
ok first of all, my complaint :) why is EVERYONE talking about a return to his danceroots???? Seal never had a dance album before! His debut album hardly had 3 songs you can dance to, and the follow up hardly had 2, so are these danceroots? c'mon! Anyway, THIS is a fun dance album, and it tottaly sounds like Stuart Price has worked on it! If you like Madonna's Confessions, then you will like this too :) Stuart as a producer has already start to repeat himself but thats fun to listen to (for the time being hehe).. The album is like... take Confessions on a dancefloor, remove madonna's voice and put Seal on it, you will get a similar result. Weirdly, thats a good thing, i didnt expect this from Seal, i wouldnt expect him to fit on this so well either, so it was a veeeery pleasant surprise. tracks 1,4 and 8 are my favourite, and of course the single "amazing" is one of the best, bit i like the original version (i hate it when artist put remixes into the regular album). Welcome back Seal! Lets Dance! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not ground breaking, 24 Nov. 2011
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
"System" is Seal's fifth studio album and follows the critically acclaimed and very successful "Seal IV" released four years prior. Although this album has some very good songs, it is not as interesting and varied as its predecessor and therefore is a little one dimensional. Once you reach the mid section of the album, you stop to wonder if you have heard the track you have just listened to 10 minutes earlier. Luckily, all the songs are good, so that is not a major problem.

"If It's In My Mind, It's On My Face", the single "Amazing" and "Just Like Before" are very uplifting, upbeat and have that typical Seal sound, halfway between dance and pop with powerful vocals and a strong melody, but they all sound very similar. The following track "Loaded" has the same vibe as the previous tracks with the addition of string arrangements. "Wedding Day" has a more laid back feel and is an effective blend of folk and pop, although his wife Heidi's breathy vocals do not add to the song at all. "System" has a very infectious chorus and has a rockier edge than the other songs making it the best song on here. "Dumb" has a great guitar riff which makes this song much better than it would have been without it. "The Right Life" is back to the club vibe from the start of the album and is just as good. "Rolling" is not his best ballad, but it is certainly pleasant and "Immaculate" is a powerful pop rock track.

"System" is a solid and strong album, but it is not ground breaking and it does not push the boundaries of music. Seal has released more accomplished and original work in the past and this one is possibly a little too safe. Nevertheless, it is very good, as are all of his albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come back Trevor........., 14 Nov. 2007
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
Seal, what a voice. A genuine artist that I have admired for his entire career. Unfortunately, I find Trevor's absence to be painfully apparent. We all have people in life that bring the best out in us and Trevor Horn certainly did this for Seal. This album doesn't have the subtle beauty and feeling of his last album and unfortunately does not conjure the groove or excitement of a good dance album. None the less it is a pleasant enough listen but not one you would wear out....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New Producer and New Focus, 13 Nov. 2007
By 
Martin Coyle (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
It is perhaps not surprising that Seal has turned to the boy wonder Stuart Price to produce his new album, 'System'. After all, Mr Price done a sterling job with Madonna's 'Confessions On A Dancefloor' and he repeats the job here, breathing new life into what could otherwise could have proven to be rather stale material. The album opens with a rather infectious groove and carries on in that vein, with the title track and the verisons of 'Amazing' being particular highlights. Seal certainly has been a consistent artist over the years and the wonderful work with Trevor Horn has certainly paid dividends, although it was time to move on, and he has chosen well with his collaborators yet again. This is a retrun to form for Seal and is his most optimisitic and up-beat record yet, after years of sullen angsty introspection. A very accomplished album from an artist who continues to excite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a grower!, 18 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
I was not too sure about this on first listen but after a few listens it's growing on me rapidly. Don't dismiss this at the first hurdle, it takes a few listens to get properly into it. Seal has definately still got it, it just took me a few listens to realise it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a grower, 14 Jun. 2008
By 
K. Tait (Moffat, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
I have been a huge fan of Seal since the beginning- in fact his first album is very possibly my favourite album of all time. However, listening to System at first, was a real disappointment and I was gutted to think that he had lost his song writing and musical integrity. But, and this is a huge "but", I've gone back to it recently and after a few more listens the melodies and hooks from every single track started to emerge out from under the dance beat and they have well and truly lodged themselves in my brain. I now love the album and I'm so glad that I gave it a second chance.
Seal, you are the genius that I always thought you were and I hope you keep on releasing music that you are proud of because that will be good enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic upbeat, high RPM music, Seal at his best, 7 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: System (Standard Version) (Audio CD)
I first heard part of this album at our local spinning classes. It was superb exercise music, but not the easily forgotten repetitive heavy bass music all too common at gymnasiums these days.

Upon searching out and receiving the album, I found it was better than expected, with a fantastic selection of memorable songs you'll be singing all day. Not only do I listen to it whilst at the gym, it's now my first choice for travelling!

You won't regret this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

System (Standard Version)
System (Standard Version) by Seal (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews