Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great double disc of the Fantastic Four Films
I liked the Fantastic Four films and thought they looked good on DVD.
But having got this DVD I was very impressed at just how much better the films look.
The level of detail is superb allowing you to see masses of detail that maybe was missed previously.
Sound quality is good too with good sound tracks present on both discs.
Published on 18 Aug 2009 by A. Davis

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less for you money than the DVD.
While I am not one to make a huge fuss over special features on movie discs, I do like some of the documentaries, music videos and outtakes etc that are often put on these things, so I was somewhat surprised to find that the Blu Ray version of the first FF film is missing nearly all the special features that were available on the DVD version.
Even the DVD version had...
Published on 27 Aug 2011 by C. C. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less for you money than the DVD., 27 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I am not one to make a huge fuss over special features on movie discs, I do like some of the documentaries, music videos and outtakes etc that are often put on these things, so I was somewhat surprised to find that the Blu Ray version of the first FF film is missing nearly all the special features that were available on the DVD version.
Even the DVD version had a featurette, music videos and an inside look at X3 on the main disc, but the Blu Ray has none of these, and certainly none of the features that appeared on disc 2 of the DVD release.
For some reason, the first FF film on the Blu Ray release has been put onto a single layer BD25 disc, where as the Rise of the Silver Surfer is on a dual layer BD50 disc, meaning it has (what looks like) all the special features that appeared on the 2 disc DVD release.
I am upgrading a lot of my DVD collection, so it annoys me somewhat that if I want to keep any of these special features, I now have no choice but to keep the older DVD version as well.

The films themselves look great, which is no surprise being that its a modern special effects driven pair of films.
The FF films certainly werent the most outstanding examples of the superhero genre, but like the comic books, they have a lighter, more family friendly tone than most.
Chris Evans steals most of the scenes he is in, and was absolutely perfectly cast as Johnny Storm, which is what made it so surprising that not only was he cast as Captain America later on, but also that he managed to pull that off as well. He is obviously a lot more versatile than most people give him credit for (although he does seem to like being in comic book based movies as Cap marks his 3rd different comic book character)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great double disc of the Fantastic Four Films, 18 Aug 2009
By 
A. Davis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the Fantastic Four films and thought they looked good on DVD.
But having got this DVD I was very impressed at just how much better the films look.
The level of detail is superb allowing you to see masses of detail that maybe was missed previously.
Sound quality is good too with good sound tracks present on both discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars both films excellent picture and special effects, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the 2 movie pack.no menus straight into the film.both films excellent picture and special effects.i do not know about the single disc blu ray editions of both films but the 2 movie pack has NO special features.i bought this 1 month ago i only just watched it now u can get both films single discs for 10 and maybe u get the special features on the 2 single discs better option I think i would send it back to amazon but do not have the mailing packaging anymore.then I would buy the 2 single discs for 10 and maybe get the special features that's why I only give 3 stars.buy the 2 discs 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Advantages and disadvatanges of this FF double package, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Advantages:
Less space on the shelf - two BR discs in one package.
Huge amount of special features in FF2 (even two trivia games!)
Price!
Quality of the package and both movies is amazing!
I confirm it's Region B as both discs play without problem and if I remember correctly, it could be Region Free...

Disadvantages:
FF1 contains only one special feature - commentary with the cast.
There is no main menu of both films - when you put the disc into the player - the movies start immediately.
2 or 3 deleted scenes are in poor quality and in black&white.

I'm giving only 4/5 stars because I was hoping for more special features on FF1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value - Films OK., 14 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Four/Fantastic Four - Rise Of The Silver Surfer [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
The kids love these films which might tell you something about the way they have been made. They aren't the gritty superhero films that are coming round at the moment they are more like comic books.

The Thing is a rubber suit, Doctor Doom is all wrong and Galactus is frankly rubbish. If you can get past these things they are fun popcorn movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Four/Fantastic Four - Rise of The Silver Surfer {2005} (DVD), 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Four/Fantastic Four - Rise Of The Silver Surfer [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic Four/Fantastic Four - Rise of The Silver Surfer {2005} (DVD) bought for myself love it i would recommend product and seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pleased, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Four/Fantastic Four - Rise Of The Silver Surfer [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
great film , great condition, great service, my son and his children are always watching it so this movie is worth every penny many thanks from a very satisfied customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the films are both amazing and great for all ages
in great definition and a great story line for both
I truly reccommend it to anyone who likes superheroes, romance, action, sci-fi and comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movies - but..., 23 Oct 2013
By 
Marc Comfort "britmarc" (Niigata City; Niigata-ken; Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Both movies have excellant picture quality and 5.1 sound - but are 'bare-boned' in the extras department.
These discs are Region 'B' ecoded so the few extras on 'F4-RotSS' could not be accessed - But well worth
the price for the movies only. 5 Stars for the movies PQ and 5.1 2 Stars for the extras - or lack of...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Four/Fantastic Four - Rise Of The Silver Surfer [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived within time and in good order. Thoroughly enjoyed the movie. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes this type of movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews