Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more addictive and BETTER than the last one!
Yes, we all were hoping this DOND DVD would be a very big improvement on last years slow, groggy, dull and cheap seeming version.

And guess what. It actually was!

This version is much MUCH more better than last years, the box opening is now much more quicker, you could get from box 1 to 22 in ORDER (not by going straight back to 22) in about 10...
Published on 22 Nov 2007 by Danny Briggs

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure if worth dealing
good product & version of the show. Noel acts just like on tv & show actual people opening boxes & not just box opening by screen. now the only problem which really ruins the game a bit. when showing you the boxes to pic there is only 5 on the screen, so for example it shows boxes 1 to 5 & to go next 5 you have to press up & sideways to see other boxes. you forget which...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by mikey


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure if worth dealing, 5 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
good product & version of the show. Noel acts just like on tv & show actual people opening boxes & not just box opening by screen. now the only problem which really ruins the game a bit. when showing you the boxes to pic there is only 5 on the screen, so for example it shows boxes 1 to 5 & to go next 5 you have to press up & sideways to see other boxes. you forget which boxes you've picked so your having to press remote several times just to see the box. it would have been perfect IF they had made it so you can see all the boxes on one screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more addictive and BETTER than the last one!, 22 Nov 2007
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Yes, we all were hoping this DOND DVD would be a very big improvement on last years slow, groggy, dull and cheap seeming version.

And guess what. It actually was!

This version is much MUCH more better than last years, the box opening is now much more quicker, you could get from box 1 to 22 in ORDER (not by going straight back to 22) in about 10 seconds.

The graphics, offers and interaction is much better aswell. Last years was pretty boring with the white background and long LONG intervals between box openings and reactions etc and yes it's still A LITTLE slow but it IS faster than last years, JUST about bearable.

The new options like lucky dip and ask the banker are just great.
Lucky Dip has over 30 different scenes filmed in the studio where one is picked at random and given to you, my first one was a bookmark from the banker saying "Next Member of the 1p Club", but other variations are available. Ask the Banker lets you choose a question such as "Where Do Babies Come From" and await the banker's reply. Banker's poems are also a new feature.

And of course the clips available! They are just hilarious.
5/5, much improved, don't be put off by last years AT ALL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 22 Feb 2008
By 
Yankeeeee (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Bit disappointed with this really ... seems quite disjointed and the game seems to "stick" quite a bit ... Ok for a bit of fun though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for die-hard fans (and maybe not even for them!), 29 Dec 2007
By 
J. Scott "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was surprised to find so many other reviewers rating this item highly. When I read their reviews, it became clear that they were rating it in comparison with a previous DVD version of the game, and considered this to be a vast improvement.

I didn't see the previous version, and can only assume that it must have been TRULY dire.

I suppose anyone who buys this will already know all about Deal or No Deal, but as an experiment, I first tried this disk on a few people who had never watched the program.

There are no written instructions with the game. I watched as this roomful of quite intelligent people watched the on-screen 'tutorials' several times. They learned the 'mechanics' of using the DVD, but were left totally clueless about the overall object of the game.

Then they played two games. At the end of this process, they were still unclear what had happened, whether they had won or lost, and what the overall object had been!!!

I guess that doesn't say much for the game instructions, but I then tried it on a couple of fanatical DOND fans.

As you might expect, they enjoyed it more than the previous crowd (because they already knew how to play the game), but they still found it overly slow and a bit clunky. Having played it once or twice, they showed no interest in ever playing it again (and proved it, by politely declining the disk when I offered it to them as a gift.)

Having watched others play the game, and having had a go myself, I have to say it leaves me unimpressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a surprise, 22 Dec 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Yet another interactive DVD game, you know the drill, slow loading times, jerky video clips and unresponsive controls. I had little hope of this being any different but my daughter really liked the idea so we got it. turns out she was right & I was wrong,this is fun, unbelievable! There are a few single player options here that should keep the lone player happy & the ability to play as the banker!
However where this really scores is in the multi-player option, up to 5 can play and what you do is take it in turns to choose a box. Sounds dull? Well you really don't want to be the one who blows 250k! Even better as the game gets halfway through you begin to doubt whether you're going to make it and those offers from the banker begin to sound attractive. It's here the developers have come up with a simple but effective idea, although you all play together to choose the boxes, when the bankers offer is made you individually get to decide whether to accept the deal or not. This eventually results in someone caving in & then starting to play against the rest who have stuck with their choice. As in the best tradition of family games it can all get a bit narky & there's no little pleasure to be had in accepting what looked like a low offer then watching the big money disappear & your opponents blow it all in the final swap/don't swap decision.
The video is surprisingly smooth & the picture very sharp. The controls are pretty smooth & easily mastered. As usual there's the usual collection of cross the street to avoid nutters unlatching the boxes,(in this case past winners from the programme), but it's all very swift & pretty slick so that a game does not outstay it's welcome & you're tempted to have another go.
The programmers have got this just about spot on and if you're after a game close to the telly programme but with a needed injection of humour then this is well worth your having a go at. Definatly a deal this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars deal or no deal, 2 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Found this game a little long winded. Doubt if it will be played very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deal or no deal family challenge, 4 Mar 2010
By 
James Brown (dalmellington scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
yes a great deal or no deal game also the right price as well prompt delivery as well they say what thay mean 5stars james brown dalmellington
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD game, 16 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic family fun for the Christmas period.Everything i wanted in a deal or no deal game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in theory, not slick enough in practice, 29 July 2008
By 
I don't have a pen name "the_metro_area" (West London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoy the show but I'm afraid I can't recommend this product unless you are very patient. The main frustration I have with this game is the slow speed with which the DVD plays, I've tried this on 2 DVD players and it was just as slow on each. You answer a question and then the DVD takes a good few seconds searching around before it gets to the next screen which can prove very tiresome and really spoilt my enjoyment. There also seemed to be quite a lot of question repetition, though I did play this for a couple of hours non stop. However, after a couple of hours I was ready to throw the DVD right out of the window as the slowness spoilt what was otherwise a good game for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better deal- especailly for the family, 28 Dec 2007
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I bought last years deal or no deal for our familys christmas game- and it was awful ! My family hated it and it really sunk the day as it was so unplayable. I wrote a review warning people not to waste their money on it. So it was with great hesitation that I introduced the new 2007 family deal or no deal addition to my family this christmas day.I had to deflect the moans and groans and plead with them to at least let me put it in the dvd player and have a go.
Firstly this is a suprisingily HUGE improvement on last years - in several ways. It is much more playable, faster and easier to understand plus has some good bonuses.This version doesnt have any of the blank screens and stilltedness that last years had.There is the odd one minute delay in playing the family version but this is fine.It has 3 games to play-
single player, player versus the banker and family game.
The single player and banker version are almost identical except on the banker version you choose one of 3 offers that the banker will make.Both these versions are quick and easy.
The family version is for 2 -5 players so should fit most family sizes. It is still a bit slow but now only the same as you get this with most dvd games but it follows the show well and goes at a good playable speed.
The big improvement on last years is that you have all the boxes in front of you- just press to the side to review them.Other reviewers said you need to write them down but I cant understand that as you just scroll to the side and they are visable in front of you ( just like on the seperate wings on the show.So its a lot easier to choose and remember them. You also have ask the audience, and personalised settings- like asking the banker questions.
The boxes are opened by past contestants which is good for fans of the show who will remember some of them- especailly bunny !Sometimes the acting is hammy but these games are never sohisticated RADA things !
The extras include -
Deal exposed- Brilliant as you get to see the making off and quash the rumours that is pre-fixed.
Cheers and tears- past losers and winners. There is one heartbreaking scene were you see Donna losing the 250,000.
Crazy contestants - there have been a few
noels funny clips- uhmmn should be cheezy bits.
The banker versus- rumours and expose on the notorious banker.You still dont see him !
Our family all enjoyed watching the extras too and it added to the fun.
Overall I would now definately recommend this game mainily because its easily playable by all ages- there are no fancy questions to answer - so every age group can enjoy.We had aged 9 -65 playing . It kept my family happy- no easy thing- and we had several games of it and are having another family game on new years day. Although you dont win money it still gets competitive and the new format means its far more enjoyable. Its easy to play and for fans of the show I would definately recommend you give it a try - you will especailly love the extras.Or for families looking for a fun dvd game that all ages can easily play this is great too .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deal Or No Deal Family Challenge [Interactive DVD]
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews