Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and different
Over-cooked, implausible plot, does not detract from an excellent script and acting job all around. Nice combination of formal/informal, fly-on-the-wall film technique.
A fun trip, especialy for Scorsese fans, who will enjoy noting supporting stars who made memorable appearances in other related films.
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by Philip L. Silverman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Thing of Ours
The Godfather this aint, however the scenario is very typical La Cosa Nostra background, lots of action, good actors,Vincent Pastore who to me personifies someone with connections.I thought the plot line was a little implausable but the film was enjoyable.
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by N. Eagling


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Thing of Ours, 22 Feb 2010
By 
N. Eagling "N. Eagling" (High Wycombe, Bucks. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Thing Of Ours [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The Godfather this aint, however the scenario is very typical La Cosa Nostra background, lots of action, good actors,Vincent Pastore who to me personifies someone with connections.I thought the plot line was a little implausable but the film was enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and different, 11 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: This Thing Of Ours [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Over-cooked, implausible plot, does not detract from an excellent script and acting job all around. Nice combination of formal/informal, fly-on-the-wall film technique.
A fun trip, especialy for Scorsese fans, who will enjoy noting supporting stars who made memorable appearances in other related films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mr vincent what you doing, 5 May 2009
This review is from: This Thing Of Ours [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
watched a documentry recently about the mafia and they had an interview with mr provenzano and the rest of the cast sorry buts its a poor excuse for a film and provenzano had his head so far up his you know. the rest were all over him sad sad mr vincent get better reviews playing the drums.sorry but this provenzano was a wannabe stay away from this film its poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: This Thing Of Ours [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie felt quite episodic in a good way to me, it left space for the viewer to fill in the blanks while at the same time making it clear what was going on. The acting is good, even strong in places, and the dialogue worked well. Plenty of action. I don't see the plot being that implausible, given that bank data security is so poor. I've seen a lot of other mafia movies, but that didn't take away from this one. This is the guy's first movie? Could have fooled me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars if u haven't seen any other gangster film, then you'd enjoy. !!, 17 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Thing Of Ours [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of gangster films my husband felt this was an amalgamation of a few gangster films out there. Watching it the once was enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I THINK WE NEED A BIGGER GUN, 1 Jan 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Thing Of Ours [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Old time mobsters, who can't spell M-O-B, are brought into the 21st century by Nicky (Danny Provenzano) who wants to skim money out of bank accounts to make a billion or more dollars. The scheme involves off shore accounts, Cuba, Castro, and a host of people we never see. Much of the film is consumed with tough guy talk while sitting around a table. There were many bad plot points. For instance the FBI gets a warrant for arrests, but can't arrest the guys because they are in Miami. Seriously? The mob is shown to be ignorant, as was the FBI. Their interrogation scene was lame. James Caan was wheeled in for a cameo. And BTW, $50 million in $100 dollar bills weighs 1100 pounds. It doesn't get carried around in a briefcase.

The film is stereotypically entertaining, except the fat Italian is named Wally and not Tony, however there were two guys named Anthony in the film. If you have seen a mafia film, you know what to expect. Easy on the torture. This film is currently available on a Walmart action 10 pack.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A CURSE TOO FAR, 10 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Thing Of Ours [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
If constant swearing is writing a good script, this should get an Oscar. It was dire and I gave up on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4a3b6fc)

This product

This Thing Of Ours [2003] [DVD]
This Thing Of Ours [2003] [DVD] by Paul Vario (DVD - 2007)
11.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews