Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars61
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I almost didn't watch this movie due to the bad reviews here on Amazon. I'm so glad I did watch it.

This movie is about an investigative reporter, played by Berry, and high profile advertising executive, played by Willis. The plot is very well paced with no lagging moments and was seamlessly acted by the cast.

This is not the usual, predictable woman in jeopardy type movie. Predictability would have made it a complete yawn fest. Instead, the plot takes off relentlessly and culminates in a twist that will blow your mind. Also, there is more than one secret being kept. I can't say more as it might ruin the experience for future viewers.

Grab yourself a copy of this brilliant thriller.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
It is difficult to speak about this film without spoiling any kind of pleasure because the suspense of this thriller is all contained in the several last minute revelations. Let say that The logic of the story is as simple as simple can be. A child who sees a crime will be traumatized for life and will become either a blackmailer or a criminal, according to the degree of involvement in the initial crime. Then the best cover up for your perversions is to become a journalist that will discover and publicize the little secrets of the powerful. And if the powerful you are targeting have no little secrets, then just build some for them and you may even send them to prison in your place, if you are swift enough. In other words there is only mud and manure in this world and those who carry most of it are those who expose others, and at times without any basis at all, just out of spite and jealousy, or fear and vengeance. The film is rather well done though it is not in any way outstanding.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, University Paris 8 Saint Denis, University Paris 12 Créteil, CEGID
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Before watching this film, we figured it was weird that we hadn't seen a psycho-thriller starring Halle Berry and Bruce Willis at the cinema; nor could we even recall the title. Bizarre, given that Giovanni Ribisi is another fave actor, and Gary Dourdan (from CSI) even makes a brief appearance.
Then, for the first half, we couldn't figure out what such a good cast was doing in such a stinker of a film...

The key character, Halle Berry's hotshot reporter came over like a silly hysterical wee girlie, not a hard-bitten Putlizer-prize winning journalist for a top New York daily. It was all just so silly; her shrieking reaction to getting a story spiked (and not having the evidence bagged long before confronting a dodgy senator); her squeaking 'I quit!' flounce out of one of the best jobs in the world, and her hamfisted, clumsy and wince-inducing undercover investigation into a business tycoon who may just have murdered her best friend.
For a while there, we came close to turning it off as Berry's performence was weirdly off-kilter.
And then things started getting interesting again. Her ex-boyfriend became a suspect in the murder. Then maybe it was the wife of the businessman. Then possibly her own researcher who turned out to have several skanky skeletons in his cupboard.
And by the end of the film we were totally engrossed, and thoroughly rewarded by the 90-degree turns that the plot took to reach its surprisingly conclusion.

Willis and Ribisi were excellent throughout. If only the early stages could have been a little less hyped and rather more considered, this could've been a really gripping thriller. Instead, it's an entertaining B-movie, definitely less than the sum of its cast.
7/10
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
"Perfect Stranger" is awesome for anyone who loves murder mysteries or thrillers. It had some really great twists and for me a totally unexpected ending! Halle Berry is brilliant in it and Bruce willis isn't too bad either. Defo worth a watch!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 May 2012
A film like most avoided due to bad reviews.

Some are unjust, in the fact the film is not quite the worst either main lead has done in the past (Colour of night or cat women spring to mind).

Both Bruce Willis and Halle Berry actually do quite well, given the fact that the plot spirals out of control on numerous occasions, with typical thriller red herrings thrown in for the sake of it, and some clunky script moments.

By far the best performance is the always reliable support of Giovanni Ribisi, who kind of steals the show as Halle's Geeky, alcohol fuelled sidekick trying to track down/entrap the killer of her friend, and of whom both suspect Willis of involvement.

The ending is one you are either going to love or hate as it goes for a 'twist' that is far fetched or quite clever depending on your mood or ability to forgive Hollywood attempting a another 'shock' twist.

James Foley, director of the classic Glengarry Glen Ross, directs with style, the lighting of the city is excellent as are the camera shots, but boredom does creep in quite quickly, as the film has little action, little violence , lots of talk and as it was advertised in trailers as some kind of erotic thriller, little sex.

A so, so thriller that could have been made for TV if not for the star power involved, however it does fill a couple of hours with some entertainment value, and worse has been produced by all concerned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
Good plot well acted, lovely scenery. Halle Berry as always acted well and looked even better. The ending was surprising and perhaps a little far fetched but did not detract from what was a gripping film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 June 2014
Halle Berry has long since been one of my favourite actresses. I hadn't heard of 'Perfect Stranger' until I stumbled across it, and whilst it isn't what I've regard as a five star thriller, it's great fun to watch from beginning to end.

Halle stars as investigative journalist Rowena Price who, despite her baggage which we subsequently learn about, is all to keen to dish the dirt on her subjects. After quitting her job when her latest big scoop is shelved, Rowena finds herself investigating the suspicious murder of her childhood friend. With the help of former work colleague and oddball friend Miles Haley (Giovanni Ribisi), she goes undercover to befriend wealthy advertising executive Harrison Hill (Bruce Willis), a secret lover of her dead friend, and find the evidence that will confirm her suspicions that he is the girl's murderer.

'Perfect Stranger' bombed in the US, and was only seen by UK audiences on DVD, but don't let it's lack of success prevent you from watching what is an easy to follow, and decent thriller. Halle Berry once again turns out another excellent performance, and is well supported by a good cast. The story is interesting, and ends with an unsuspecting twist. A squeal could have been made, but given it's far from warm reception in 2007, it is unlikely that a follow up will surface.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 November 2015
In this 2007 detective thriller Rowena Price [Halle Berry] is a nasty driven reporter who goes after a senator but has her story pulled. When a friend of hers whose trying to blackmail a top advertising executive is horribly mutilated she opens her own investigation with her ex work colleague. But who’s playing who?
One of the problems is that Price is not a nice character so I couldn’t feel real sympathy as she’ll do anything to get her story and she even says its about the story, not justice for her ‘friend’ and uses everyone around her. Harrison Hill [Bruce Willis] -her target guy, is just as nasty, so there’s no emotional connection with the characters [lose a *]. Getting past the characters, there are some good twists and it is well written, well acted and filmed.
The single disc opens to a main menu offering play, audio set up [English audio descriptive, 5.1 in English, Italian and German.], subtitles in English, Italian, Spanish, Dutch and Hindi [scene selection, special features [making of, 4 trailers] and trailers [the same ones in special features!]. Lots of gratuitous swearing make this a 15 and with a few surprises and a good ability at laying false leads it is entertaining and deserving of a **** score.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
I am one of these people who go out and pretty much buy every Bruce Willis film there is!
When I saw the trailer for this film back in 07, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it.

There seem to be many reviews about of people slating this film, if you don't like thillers then don't buy it, (I was actually nearly put off by the reviews, but then read the decent ones and got it anyway - because of my love for Bruce) if you do and love a film that makes you think deep all the way through and then gives you an amazing ending, they I suggest you get it!

The film is based around three characters who, throughout, you learn more and more about, finding out thrilling secrets and plots, then to top it off, you get one massive clever twist at the end.

A clever film which entales three actors who do a fantastic job with their characters!

Don't read ANY spoilers, go into this film and enjoy whats to come!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2007
Perfect Stranger was one of those psychological thrillers that was interesting to watch but never scary - the only time I was on the edge of my seat was when I was getting up to make a cup of tea half way through!
Giovanni Ribisi played a nice but nutty guy on the sitcom Freinds and was pretty good at playing the nasty and nutty guy on this film.I hadn't seen Halley Berry before but she was okay in her role as the investigative journalist.Bruce Willis was acting in a role that just didn't allow him to display his natural aggression enough.Once you've seen him in a Die Hard movie it's hard to stomach the idea that he only beats up one man in
Perfect Stranger.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)