Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, excellent customer service
The knitting mill is initially a bit tricky to set up (I had to retry a couple of times) but once you get the hang of it, works a treat and super fast. I would say once you start, keep going until you have reached the length of cord you need. I stopped half way and found it a bit tricky restarting again. But it definitely didn't put me off. I will never go back to...
Published on 17 April 2012 by Wimpers

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Try it for a week before you review it!
I was quite impressed with this little machine when I first got it. I didn't find it too fiddly to set up and it produced good results. However, after only a week (approx 1m of knitting), it's started to go wrong: dropping stitches making it impossible to start a piece, dropping stitches in the middle of a piece and the mechanism doesn't move as smoothly as it did...
Published 12 months ago by E. J. Braybrooke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, excellent customer service, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
The knitting mill is initially a bit tricky to set up (I had to retry a couple of times) but once you get the hang of it, works a treat and super fast. I would say once you start, keep going until you have reached the length of cord you need. I stopped half way and found it a bit tricky restarting again. But it definitely didn't put me off. I will never go back to knitting i-cord by hand again!!

After RoyalMail initially lost my order, I contacted the seller and they immediately sent me a replacement free of charge. I received it the next day. Excellent customer service and I was communicating with very friendly and efficient members of staff. I have subsequently placed more orders from this seller...all to a very satisfactory standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful tool, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
This is a very handy tool for making i-cord. It works well on fine yarn to double knitting. It can be a little finicky to start and it is important to keep the cord properly weighted whilst working the tool and this includes unhooking the weight and re-tying it close to the outlet from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying!, 5 Sep 2012
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
This little gadget is a joy! It takes a bit of practice and can be a little temperamental but once you get it right it is brilliant! I did a 50cm length of icord in about 2 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knitting machine, 3 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. S. Sumner (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
this machine is better than i thought it would be, although i have not used it alot i will be in the near future,as it takes out the hardship of doing it on a bobbin with 4 nails in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works a treat, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
I've given this gadget 5 stars because it works beautifully, BUT, it is fiddly to get going, you need to follow the instructions (however odd they look) carefully. It grows quickly so you do need to keep stoping and more the weight. When you want to pause for a while I suggest using an elastic band to hold the yarn tightly to the body of the mill - I found out the hard way when a loop came of the needle because the tension was relaxed too much. Now the only problem is to decide what to do with all those yards of knitted tubing.
One other thing, it is only meant for double knit and fine yarns, chunky, aran and quite a few of the fancy yarns won't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for making strong, neat cord, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Elizabeth S. Wells (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
Based on French Knitting, this useful little mill makes a good strong cord, which can be used for other craft purposes. Has to be used carefully, and with a good yarn, or it will foul up.

However, once I had worked out what weight of yarn worked best, I was very pleased with the result. As well as keeping an eye on the very necessary weight (supplied), which pulls the cord through the little machine, it is best, if a long cord is required, to wind the cord onto a card, or similar,as you go, so it can revolve while being made, or the straightening out of the resultant lenght, will be a job in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little maching, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
Once you get the hang of this mill (or like me finally read the instructions) it is really good and gives quick results. Not suitable for very fluffy wool as this gets caught. Really good effect with crochet cotton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knitting Mill, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
Fantastic product very adictive to use, whizzes through a ball of yarn in no time. Highly recomended for anyone looking to embelish thier knitting or do more creative crafts using the finished cord.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
Loads of fun had with this item. I got a bit stuck with starting off, but once the yarn takes properly, Fun, fun, fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent gadget, 29 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Mill (Kitchen & Home)
Despite some negative reviews, this little machine DOES work as it should as long as you use the correct yarn and follow the instructions. I have found that the main thing is to avoid fluffy yarn with stray fibres as this will get caught on the hooks and prevent the machine working smoothly. Considering the variety and cheapness of fine, non fuffy yarn available, you will not be stuck for choice. I have tried DK wool, mercerised cotton, embroidery silks, wools with metallic fibre running through - anything really so long as it is reasonably fine and non fluffy.

The only minor niggle is the weight which is attached to the wool by a hook, when you need to move the weight up, the hook pulls a loop in the cord.

It would be much easier if it were a weighted peg as in other makers versions of this machine. However, I have got round this by threading the weights hook through the hole in a bulldog clip and using the jaws to grip the wool. Then you can move the weight up when necessary,without hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitting Mill
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews