Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bench for occassional users and beginners
If you are a regular, seasoned and dedicated weight-lifter, using a bench for 30+ minutes per session, 3 sessions+ per week, then I would say that this bench isn't for you and that you should invest in an expensive piece of equipment.

But this is an entry-level bench and it's advertised as such. So if you're after a good-value foldaway benchfor occassional use...
Published on 25 Feb 2008 by a bright cold day in april

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality, sub standard product
Although not pricey at all, the product is pretty much substandard, the padding/foam is ridiculously nimble and will wear off in no time, it's very narrow to take on even an average physique. Would not recommend this item at all.
Published on 18 Dec 2007 by S. S. Noronha


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bench for occassional users and beginners, 25 Feb 2008
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
If you are a regular, seasoned and dedicated weight-lifter, using a bench for 30+ minutes per session, 3 sessions+ per week, then I would say that this bench isn't for you and that you should invest in an expensive piece of equipment.

But this is an entry-level bench and it's advertised as such. So if you're after a good-value foldaway benchfor occassional use then this is for you and it comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No problems with this bench, 26 Jan 2012
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
Although I see the woeful reviews from others on this bench I still decided to buy it, and no offence to all who have left those bad reviews but I found this bench to be absolutely fine. Those who say its wobbly are obviously not that great at assembling things. It is well worth the money and lets face it! It's cheap as hell!

I would recommend this bench to anyone I'm 6'1 and still find it okay! But it is down to opinion but I do think there are some over the top reviews on this bench

"You get what you pay for" in this case you get a good weight bench.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality, sub standard product, 18 Dec 2007
By 
S. S. Noronha (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
Although not pricey at all, the product is pretty much substandard, the padding/foam is ridiculously nimble and will wear off in no time, it's very narrow to take on even an average physique. Would not recommend this item at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non bias review, 3months after purchase., 25 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
So .... I was looking for a bench for a beginner and not really knowing what to expect. There are a few good reviews and a few very bad reviews for this product (and the model without the leg attachment).

3 months after purchasing this I have decided to write an up-to-date full review. I will give the good and bad points and a few other tips.

Lets get started. Delivery was very fast, only a couple of days. Assembly takes a bit of imagination I guess but overall was not difficult. The instructions aren't very simple but with a bit of concentration I think most people could do this without much struggling. It took me about 1hour to assemble alone.

Right, like the other (positive) reviews I will stress ... if you are more than a beginner this bench is not for you .. if you want to simply get the bench out once a day for a few barbell pullovers a bit of bench press and some incline pec fly then buy this bench right now and love it like I do.

Assemble your bench and be prepared to tighten the nuts from time to time. The bench itself is a little narrow but I've had no problems with comfort or the 'wobbling' effect that others have complained about .. and i weigh 100kg and am lifting 70kg at times. I'm very pleased with overall construction and rigidity of the bench. Even the lower portion of the bench, which is held on by 2screws only does not ever move or feel weak.

Next, in my honest opinion take the leg attachment, load up 25kg and if you think you can do more with a calf extension or quad extension then throw it away and don't bother. I'm not overly built like a tank, i weigh 100kg and mostly that's through eating a heck of a load of pizzas in the last 5years but, I can easy smash out 10quad exercises at 50kg. I thought I was smart doing away with the normal bar and using a dumbbell bar to hold the 50kg ... wrong. The tiny bolt that holds the leg attachment on held the weight, but the bench itself tried to fold in on itself, so big mistake.

Finally I guess i will be honest in saying I've modified this bench in a few ways now, mostly because I have tried to use it for things it is not meant for. I would not attempt to do prone incline curl or lying deltoid row on this bench because it is not designed for this sort of exercise. It really only seems suited for exercises performed laying on your back.

I will say now that this product can be made 100 times sturdier if you go to Screwfix and get a pack of 50mm washers with a 10mm hole to put on the bolts supplied because then you can tighten them up like there is no tomorrow and never have to worry about bending the square tubular frame (like I did), but again I only felt the need to do this because I have totally abused this bench for the last 3 months now.

Though its nothing to complain about, I improved the 'setting up' aspect of the bench dramatically by simply sawing off the ends of the bolts that lock the bench into its open position. By taking 5mm off each bolt i could tighten the knobs a lot easier and actually got the feeling that the bench really would go no where. Please don;t let this put you off buying this product ... as stated throughout I have totally abused this bench since day 1 and its still standing.

Buy this bench right now, this second if you intend to use it in the following ways ..

Do not exceed 200kg max load (user and weights)
Do not exceed 25kg on the leg attachment
Want a quick sturdy bench to simply lay on (back to the bench) and weight train on.

So basically you do exactly as it tells you and you should have no problems. I hope this has been helpful for someone out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember you get what you paid for, 28 Mar 2009
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
This bench isn't bad quality, it does the job.
As another reviewer said if you intend using a bench regularly for extended sessions you are going to have to pay more as simple as that.
But in my opinion, £39.99 gets you a bench that will do a job as long as its not four or five times a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hmmm, 27 April 2009
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
I'm an average 5ft 10 and think the bench is very narrow and short making it uncomfortable to lye down on it. The brackets that hold the weight is low and close together making it an effort to lye down - this is especially difficult when the bench is inclined. Looking at the picture again, your head is where the weight bar is. You can't adjust the height of the brackets making the three incline steps to two, which is pointless.

Also, the bench balances on the central beam meaning it wobbles slightly which creates balance issues when lifting weight - not good for the compensating back muscles.

The instructions are mental

and, be prepared to have problems with the delivery

and where does the weight bench 'fold'

my advice, spend extra money on something that your going to want to feel secure in that can be adjusted to your body habitus.

V-Fit Herculean Folding Weight Bench with Leg Unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. A. D. Robinson "Ant" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
There are no problems at all with this product. Ideal for beginners and people who only do light exercise. Its very practical and folds with real ease. It can fit nicely anywhere around the house. A must have for those with nagging partners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars decent product for the money, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
I had to re-drill a hole because it was slightly out of line. I find the back rest is slightly too thin, not very supportive. But it looks great and it is perfect for someone starting out or getting back into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TRAINING BENCH, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
THIS IS A GOOD TRAINING BENCH IT KEEPS ME FIT I AM PLEASED WITH IT AND FOR THE MONEY GOOD BYE YES GOOD PRODUCT I WOULD RECOMEND IT TO ANYONE REGARDS PTRAYNOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V-Fit STB-09-1 Herculean Folding Weight Training Bench (Sports)
For what its worth this bench gives me what i need. Practicality!
It easy to store and durable with any weight.
The only downer is the assembly! Good Product!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews