Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than the first one
This film is beautifully filmed and thoroughly captivating. The film picks up from the end of Hostel 1 with the only survivor being killed. The emphasis this time is on a group of girls and what happens to them. Where this film really excels is in the telling of the story of the men and women who pay to kill these girls. I loved the build up with the victim meeting the...
Published 15 months ago by Willow

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the original.
I wasn't a fan of the first Hostel, but Eli Roth's follow up is a much better film. The film is better paced and the story has more depth as it shows both the killers and victims and the events leading up to their meeting in the factory.
The female victims are seen enticed into a short break at a Slovakian spa and the killers are seen as ordinary wealthy businessmen...
Published on 4 July 2010 by Ernie


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the original., 4 July 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't a fan of the first Hostel, but Eli Roth's follow up is a much better film. The film is better paced and the story has more depth as it shows both the killers and victims and the events leading up to their meeting in the factory.
The female victims are seen enticed into a short break at a Slovakian spa and the killers are seen as ordinary wealthy businessmen bidding in a online auction for their victim.
Though it is a little less gory and violent than the first film the killing seems far more potent as films improved character depth makes you more involved with both the killers and their victims.
Overall, if you liked the first Hostel film then this is a no-brainer and even if you didn't rate the first movie then this is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as good as it should be, 28 Oct 2007
By 
Blue hunter (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked the first hostel film even though a lot did not,so i was in a way looking forward to the sequel.Well i was let down big style.I don't often pan films on amazon as i try and look for the good points to any film but this one hasn't really got any.Lets start with the basics,if you watched the first hostel film then you would expect some gory scenes in this one aswell,well lets just say that the amount of gory scenes could be counted on one hand and you would still have some fingers spare!(no pun intended).The storyline is similer to the first but just does not have the same impact as the first,you don't like the main stars of the film and are not really thinking will they get away or not,you just think the charactors are neither here nor there.I was relly let down by this film and i'm sorry if you were hoping for the same as i was before this film came out,but please don't let my opinion sway you too much,just see for yourself and see what you think,although renting it might be a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gratuitous Bilge, 24 Mar 2008
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Hostel was effective because of the idea, not the violence. The hopelessness of being prisoner in the Eastern European wilderness and suggestion that fellow human beings would pay to dismember innocent backpackers was engrossing to audiences. Hostel II just uses the exact same idea and raises the bar for unpleasant violence.

The problem with Hostel II is Roth's juvenile fascination with mutilating naked women isn't hidden behind a good idea anymore. Filmgoers are no longer shocked by the concept so Roth just tries to shock them with sickening violence. I understand that this is the ethos of the Grindhouse/exploitation movie but that doesn't mean you have to sacrifice good dialogue and story. With a mentor like Quentin Tarantino and the resources of Takashi Miike you'd think Roth would have been embarrassed to release this rubbish and I'm very surprised Tarantino would allow his name to be associated with the film. While Roth undoubtedly shares Tarantino's vast knowledge of movies he just can't seem to implement their ideas in an original way and his films tend to disintegrate into mindless violence. There are some good scenes, the online auction to see which visiting sicko gets to torture which girl is inventive and the blood bath is visually well shot but apart from that Hostel II is a nasty vacuous movie with no substance.

Like this? Try: Wrong Turn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than the first one, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is beautifully filmed and thoroughly captivating. The film picks up from the end of Hostel 1 with the only survivor being killed. The emphasis this time is on a group of girls and what happens to them. Where this film really excels is in the telling of the story of the men and women who pay to kill these girls. I loved the build up with the victim meeting the guy who was going to kill her. The way the girls were separated was seamlessly done. I absolutely loved (DON'T READ THIS IF YOU DON;T WANT TO KNOW THE TWIST) the way that the victim was able to take control and out bid her killer. This was brilliant because the director could have so easily have continued on along the same path as before, but instead Eli Roth built on the original and filled in all the questions that we were asking at the end of the first one, such as who are these people who pay to kill and why do they do it.
The actors were amazing and I loved the way Eli Roth brought in so many international actors. I strongly suggest watching the special features at the beginning as this proved very enlightening and made the movie more enjoyable. The only down fall and it is not worth losing a star over , was the main actors who the story revolved around, were also in Desperate Housewives, one was Susan's husband and the other was a stalker of Bree. Now while this will mean nothing to people who haven't watched desperate Housewives, I did keep expecting Susan and Bree to suddenly show up on screen. They were brilliant in their roles, just not very scary because of what else they had been in.
You will enjoy this film and you don't have to see the first one, it stands along and I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the squeamish, 28 July 2009
By 
Louise (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is really gory and it is no wonder there are so many unstable people in the world. The story line is better than Hostel and the special effects are amazing, but this is certainly not a film for the faint hearted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not for the squeamish., 13 Dec 2011
This review is from: Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Hostel: Part II does what Part I didn't: it actually concentrates on gore and horror. Where the first movie shows full frontal nudity for the majority of its run time, part two cuts most of that out and just gives gore fans what they want.

What's especially good is that it doesn't just start a completely different story without any mention of characters from the previous movie. It picks up right where the first film left off with Paxton, although it does swiftly finish off and we get introduced to the new characters within the first 10 minutes. Part II follows three female college students who enter a hostel in Slovakia and are effectively bought by external bidders to be tortured and killed, much like in Part I.

Hostel: Part II is essentially more of the same from Part I apart from this time, it's with women. It's gritty and creepy most of the time and because of the weak and vulnerable stereotype of women in film, you really find yourself being scared and anxious for the girls. Especially Lorna in her death scene. Ouch.

Considering this movie didn't make even close to as much as the first, it's a pretty enjoyable torture flick and the ending is far better. I would even dare to say that this is almost as good as the first. Definitely not for the squeamish though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This one made me feel dirty, 10 Oct 2009
This review is from: Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Let's face it, most people like to be scared from time to time. It's exciting, it gets the adrenaline pumping, and we can usually laugh about it afterwards. That's why we ride rollercoasters, drive fast cars and watch horror films.

The secret of a good horror film is the ability to walk that fine line between drama and laughter. Too many laughs and the tension they depend on evaporates; too much drama and they just become depressing and uncomfortable. Hostel 2 falls neatly into the latter category.

I could write a detailed plot synopsis like I usually do in my reviews, but what it boils down to is this - three young American women travel to Prague, get abducted and tortured to death in a variety of gory ways by men who have paid for the pleasure. That's it, really. There are no subtle plot twists, no symbolism, no allegory, nothing. It's just people getting various bits of themselves chopped off, all shown in loving detail. There's no such thing as implied violence here - it's shown in all its gory glory. You can almost imagine director Eli Roth jerking off during the literal blood bath scene.

I'm not really a fan of this brand of horror (I have similar feelings towards the later Saw movies) so I suppose this one was never going to get high marks from me. It's not because I'm particularly squemish (I think gore and nudity have a place in any good horror film) but honestly, I just don't find anything entertaining about this movie. It's pure torture porn, plain and simple. It's depressing, unrelentingly grim and mean spirited.

I was counting down the minutes until this one ended. It's only 90 minutes long, but man, even this short run time stretched my patience. Do yourself a favour and avoid it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that fails..., 15 Dec 2007
By 
M. Pritchard "SUNSPY" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This was like a bad main course after that fantastic starter!

The first Hostel film was excellent - a new twist on a great fear but this, this was a let down. The acting left a lot to be believed, the story was lightweight and lacking linkage... my expectations were just not met. Even the gore was poor!

Unless Mr Roth can come up with something better, leave the Hostel name well alone! I'd be interested to know what Tarantino did for this film, I'd be loathed to put my name to it...

Summary: if you liked Hostel 1, then you'll be disappointed with this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars sick film, 11 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched Hostel 1 and quite enjoyed it. It wasnt the best horror film in the world, but it was a bit different. However, Hostel 2 goes one step too far in horror gore. There are scenes in this film which were vile and utterly disturbing. I'm not sure how any human being could actually watch this film and enjoy it. The acting was poor and there wasnt much of a storyline. I'd give this film a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THAT scene!, 9 Jun 2008
By 
L. Mueller "Sliver_Bristol" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't like the first 'Hostel', neither did my friend, a fellow horror film enthusiast. All gore and no suspense makes for a bore - by the time we got to the infamous 'dangling eyeball' scene I had been so battered by fake body parts and gore galore I didn't flinch. The sequel is pretty much par for the course - it moves a lot better than the first one, in my opinion - and if it hadn't been for THAT scene which I will discuss below, it's pretty much your standard Friday-night pizza and beer post-post-modern horror movie
I'm 34 and over the years have tracked down and seen most of the notorious horror movies - all the uncut versions of the 80's video nasty scandal, for example, and not one scene in any of them has upset me as much as THAT scene in 'Hostel 2'. I totally defend Eli Roth's right to put it in there (I am fiercely anti-censorship) but I simply couldn't believe what I was seeing came from a mainstream, US horror movie. My friend, female, was also shocked, but quite happy to carry on watching when I suggested turning it off (and I have NEVER wanted to do that in the middle of a horror movie before, no matter how dullard or vile). When I went to bed that I kept seeing Heather Matarazzo hanging...no, sorry, not going there, I want to sleep tonight. I DID watch it through until the end, but the sight of a man's genitals being sliced off and fed to a dog was kid's stuff compared to THAT earlier scene!
So, at the end of the day I suppose I have to recommend 'Hostel 2'. It's powerful filmaking that makes you have react as strongly as I did. (Others, of course, will not be bothered by it at all and that's fine.) Maybe I'm just getting old, but I've just seen where I draw the line in depictions of movie violence. Make your own minds up, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hostel Part II - Unseen Edition [2007] [DVD]
2.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews