Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good
I've got an ASUS P5E-V motherboard and a Q6700 2.66GHz Quad Core processor. What you need next is loads of RAM. If you are going to use the 32 bit version of either XP or Vista then this is probably too much RAM for you. You may be better buying 3GB of RAM rather than the 4 on offer here. However if you have the 64 bit version of the OS then you can utilise the whole 4 GB...
Published on 17 Sep 2008 by Richard Kelly

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Corsair PC2-6400C5
Bought these to upgrade from 4GB to 8GB for win 7. Seemed to work okay but started having ad hoc programme crashes. Thought it was a Win 7 problem at first. After trying lots of different fixes, I swopped out this new RAM with other Corsair RAM units I had in a 2nd computer and was able to pin point the problem to one RAM card. Infuriating waste of time. Nevertheless, I...
Published on 3 April 2010 by alister


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 17 Sep 2008
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
I've got an ASUS P5E-V motherboard and a Q6700 2.66GHz Quad Core processor. What you need next is loads of RAM. If you are going to use the 32 bit version of either XP or Vista then this is probably too much RAM for you. You may be better buying 3GB of RAM rather than the 4 on offer here. However if you have the 64 bit version of the OS then you can utilise the whole 4 GB and if you buy 2 of these sets you can use the whole 8GB - at which point your machine will be really, really fast!

This RAM isn't the fastest - cas latency of 5-5-5-15 - but it is matched into guaranteed pairs. It is also clocked at 800MHz and whilst my processor has a 1066 MHz front side bus this ram does work with it. It also has nice heat syncs so it runs cool and has a lifetime guarantee. It fits nicely into the RAM slots on my motherboard and having heat syncs it meant that I didn't have to handle the chips (which you have to do with cheaper products usually).

I like it, you could spend more and get faster RAM, but to be honest if you buy enough of it then it doesn't really matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Feb 2009
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
Hi

Got this 4GB pack A couple of weeks back and installed onto my gigabyte motherboard with no problems. All Applications are running smooth and pretty fast, no lag or waiting while browsing, opening multiple applications and while gaming.

5 stars for me and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for good solid ram.

p.s. Shipping was quick with super saver so thumbs up to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Of The Range, 24 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
Absolutely top of the range for Windows and 4GB is recognized by XP 32bit as far as usage goes, it is only that it will show 3GB - but Windows is using the difference at this level.

First class kit and the cooling with it keeps it in first class condition. If you want the best, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corsair - PC2-6400 RAM, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
Simple to install in my GA-EPC35C-DS3R,no modifications to the bios were required. I'm not an overclocker so I can't say how well this RAM will work under those condictions. But for simple plug n play it was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good price, good performance, good value, 17 Mar 2009
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
i bought this RAM a while ago now and couldn't be happier. Watching Blu-ray and Video Editing 720p HD footage on dual screens and i havent yet pushed Vista over 3Gb. Even if its Playing Crysis on High/Very High settings (an all round demanding game on the system) and watching blu-ray on the second screen, this is easily enough RAM to handle it.

And as for performance, this computer is custom built compared to my HP Elite. The Elite has an Intel Core 2 Q9300 and a perfect 5.9 score in Vista, and this is running an AMD Phenom 8750, which is slower. Yet this computer starts much faster, if i were to guess its like 30 seconds. The machine generally feels very responsive, and was built on a budget.

I haven't overclocked the cpu/RAM yet, and i don't plan to in the forseeable future, but certainly this RAM will be overclockable to a certain extent. Unless you are serious about overclocking and have the necessary cooling to find the limits of tech, then this 6400 speed RAM is all you need.

Other manufacturers offer similar solutions, and in honesty you can't tell the difference between them unless your a hardcore overclocker, but certainly corsair is a good company and the RAM is fast, good quality and comes with heatsinks if you want to try overclocking. And if you don't, that will at least make the memory last.

Definitely gets my recommendation, much better to buy this 4Gb pack than to go for a higher speed 2Gb kit(about the same price).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Performance, 22 Jun 2009
By 
M. Jenkins (Cymru, Prydain Fawr(Wales, Great Britain =P)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
I upgraded from an identical 2GB set of these and it helps alot, I have Vista Home Premium 64bit and unless I play a very demanding or intense game(like Crysis or Company of Heroes) my system barely uses 1/3 of the memory.
This memory is great and after almost an entire day of my PC being used they were only just a little bit warm, the memory sticks come as pictured so look nice.

I can't comment on overclocking as I haven't overclocked anything yet but this IS performance memory so should easily and safely overclock quite nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product easy to install, 31 Jan 2009
By 
J. Black (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
Exactly what you would expect comes out of the box plug it in and it works straight away really speeds up game loading time if you are upgrading from 2GB to 6GB defiantly worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 26 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
It's memory, it's Corsair, what more can I say?
Performance is flawless. Installation easy. Install and forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RAM it in!, 10 Dec 2008
By 
D Deacon "pixist" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
Quick delivery from Amazon. Very good memory - does what you expect and a bit more. Many motherboards are moving on to faster memory DDR3 etc but there is still a lot of life left in the older DDR2 stuff. With a good CPU and GPU you can easily play the latest games. This stuff overclocks very well too with a good stable motherboard. I paid almost £200 two years ago for 2GB of DDR2, the price today for 4GB is a give away. My advice is to check out compatibility before buying - lots of info and advice on the manufacturer's site.

PS
I am told that my WinXP SP3 shows 3.5GB because the 'missing' 0.5GB is masked by my 0.5GB graphics card but it is available to windows. This explains the 3GB available for some - they have a 1GB graphics card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great price and great performance boost, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Steven (SE England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corsair - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) PC2-6400 DDRII-SDRAM PC Memory (Personal Computers)
Boosted my RAM up to 6GB so can now run a decent number of VMware machines.

If you are going for 4GB (Whichever brand/model) make sure you have an operating system kernel that can support it e.g. a 64bit OS, or one that supports PAE (Linux/expensive versions of windows 2003 server etc)

If not you will get about 3.2GB of addressable RAM in your typical 32bit operating system.

If you have no idea what I am on about buy 3GB Max, or 4GB and don't get mad when you can only use 3.2GB of RAM. Still good value what ever you decide to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews