Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Draper wind-up torch
A great alternative to messing about with batteries, the Draper wind-up gives a good strong beam and lives up to its 20-fold use-versus-wind time claim. Not too heavy, fits into pocket, and handle stows neatly. Minor criticism; wrist strap could be longer.
Published on 8 May 2009 by Peter Martin

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stays on for ages
Hi
I bought this Draper wind up torch, for 1 day it was great, then the on/off sitch broke and it wouldn't turn off. That said it did stay on for hours and hours, so much so we are giving it a second chance
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by Avril Bartlett


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Draper wind-up torch, 8 May 2009
By 
Peter Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
A great alternative to messing about with batteries, the Draper wind-up gives a good strong beam and lives up to its 20-fold use-versus-wind time claim. Not too heavy, fits into pocket, and handle stows neatly. Minor criticism; wrist strap could be longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little torch, 15 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
These torches need very little winding for a really good bright light. They are quite bright enough to read by. I really like the design, rather like a Star Trek phaser. The wind-up handle clips neatly away when not in use, and winding is nice and quiet. Why only 4 stars? The casing appears a little flimsy, I would not like to drop one on a hard service. If you can live with that, these torches are an excellent bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wind Up Torch, 2 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Green (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent for those times when you have no batteries,in the dark and with a flat tyre. Not especially sturdy but robust enough if you are careful. Reasonable price and quick service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEE THE LIGHT, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Captain Haddock (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
If you have ever been tempted to venture out in the dark, then this compact technological wonder is the one for you
Bought the Draper 42989 (not to be confused with model 49289) on the Tuesday and couldn't wait until darkness fell
By 22.48. max noir had arrived ..... just a few turns on the optimally geared winder, and I was ready to Brian Cox
with the best of them .... pressed the lamination button .... and WOW !!!! ... Stand back .... Goodness knows how many lumens
I had ... The cat jumped back . . . (yes . . exercise this space cowboy with extreme caution)
Just another 14 turns on the crank and I was ready to explore the orchard, with not a hint of reprehension often experienced
with lesser torches ... (I own 9 other torches none of which comes within a mulligan of the performance of the 42989)
Used it on 17 other occasions since then and can honestly say that if you want a torch to show off to your neighbours, then the
Draper is the one for you ..
Buy it now and get out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat and handy, but could be more robust, 15 April 2010
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
A wonderful idea, reasonably well executed. It fits the hand well, the light is good and always white, and it holds a charge well.

The great thing about this is that if it is left lying around, you need never ever wind it up yourself again - anyone who sees it cannot resist having a wind-up.

The bad thing about it is that the case did not survive a drop test - a small person visiting us forgot to use the wrist strap. Now it is held together by some glue, and luckily it is also still working.

It is good value when considering how much the bits inside it might cost us, and we never need to replace the batteries.

Four stars because IMHO it should be a bit tougher.

Also worth considering is the much brighter 5 LED Dynamo Torch, which is also USB chargeable, and for the car a 3 LED Waterproof Wind Up Torch, less bright but with a tougher case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best touch I have ever bought, 2 Jan 2010
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
We recently had a power cut for 16 hours, and my brother-in-law let us borrow the cheaper version of this touch, which was ok but not that bright.

That prompted me to buy this more expensive Draper one, I'm glad I did; it is really bright, have wound it up so far just once and have used it many times since and still not had to wind it up.

Buy one of these now! It is the most useful item to have for emergencies and other uses and you won't have to worry about batteries going flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Draper Wind Up Torch, 21 Jun 2010
By 
BC (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this as an emergency light for a holiday. Can confirm it lasts at least 20 minutes per charge and provides enough light to read a book when the mains go off.
Easier to use than I thought it would be and robust enough to last two weeks so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great price for a great product, 1 Mar 2009
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
bought three of these torches -- one for myself and one each for two grandsons -- they thought they were just great and so do i.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wind-Up Torch, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent little torch I have now purchased an additional one as I was so impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 15 May 2010
By 
C. Winter "The Boater" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch (Kitchen & Home)
Just what I wanted for use on my boat. Great value, great delivery response.
All round 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Draper 42989 3 LED Wind-up Torch
£10.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews